We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Puerta Catedral Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Puerta Catedral
Ranked #13 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical Puerta Catedral Apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband I decided to have a weekend getaway while travelling in Portugal to visit family. We stayed in Seville for one night and fortunate to sleep at Puerta Catedral apartment which is absolutely MAGICAL!.

The suite was spacious, clean and offered views of the awe-inspiring Cathedral.

We also had the opportunity after so much sight seeing to have lunch at the deli. Everything was delicious.

Enjoyed the whole experience.

Loved it! and only hope to return someday!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamGeorge70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    57
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
118
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at the Puerta Catedral Studios located on Calle Hernando Colon for 4 nights in June 2012. The studio apartment building is just a few meters from the immense Seville Cathedral and nearby Alcazar. The studio we had--#3--faced the street and was on the 3rd floor. The only real negative to the studio apartments is that there is no elevator, so you have to carry your luggage up the 3 flights of stairs. Otherwise, the location is about the best you can find to be close to most of the attractions in the old city (Santa Cruz area) of Seville, along with access to the Plaza Espana via tram if u don't want to walk there and to the river esplanade, etc.

The studios come complete with a well furnished kitchen, including all the necessary pots and pans, dishes, glasses--including some really nice wine glasses--dish towels, and washing machine that has a drying cycle that helps dry out your clothes, although doesn't necessarily operate like a regular dryer. Coffee, tea, sugar, etc., are provided along with laundry and dishwashing soap. There is a european style dish drainer/storage rack in the cabinet above the sink that helps keep the counter top free of clutter, and a good size refrigertor with a nice size top freezer compartment complete with an ice tray. The bathroom is equipped with nice towels and toiletries plus a hair dryer and good lighting. The shower is fairly large by european standards. There is a nice wardrobe/closet outfitted with an in-room safe, two side tables next to the bed and a little dining table/bookcase unit. There are napkins, an electric juicer, espresso and regular coffee makers, toaster, microwave, a two burner ceramic cooktop and nice, deep stainless steel sink. The bed was very comfortable and the entire place was immaculate. The air conditioning works very well and does not make any perceptible noise. The french doors that open onto the street below are outfitted with double pane glass, so keep out most of the noise and there are solid wood panels that keep the room as dark as one would like.

There is a little market next to the entrance of the studios and a wine/cheese/etc., shop across the street, so you can get a bottle of wine, sherry, cheese, fruit, bread, etc., without having to walk very far. The Puerta Catedral office is located at Calle Alemanes, directly across from the cathedral. There is a great New York style pizza by the slice place--Slice of New York--next to the office on the corner of Calle Hernando Colon and Alemanes that also makes great fruit smoothies. The owner is a former New Yorker. He and his staff all speak English and are very friendly and helpful.

A terrace located in the building that houses the Puerta Catedral apartments that face Alemanes is for use by both the apartment and studio renters. Nice place to enjoy a bottle of wine and some cheese and crackers, etc., as it has a perfect view of the cathedral directly across the street. The view is spectacular in the evening.

The staff in the reception office on Alemanes are very, very helpful, professional and friendly. They speak excellent English and make you feel very welcome. All in all, a perfect place to spend a few days or longer in the beautiful and interesting city of Seville.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank metalmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at the Duplex Penthouse at Puerta Catedral 1, and were quite happy with the accommodations. The location was ideal for sightseeing, which gave us more time to relax on the two terraces of the apartment. The pictures on Trip Advisor are accurate. I do not understand the comments about the difficulty of getting to the apartments since they are in the hub of the city across from the cathedral. Indeed, there is a taxi stand right outside the building. While we faced the street, we did not hear any noise at night as long as the window was closed.

The furniture was typical of rental apartments, nothing fancy but certainly suitable.

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with another couple, splitting the cost. As such, it was cheaper than staying in a hotel room.

The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. They answered our many questions both patiently and informatively.

The only glitch was that we were there in mid-May and experienced a hot spell. The air conditioner did not work. The staff was very pro-active in making sure that some one came out to repair the air conditioner. These things happen, so I cannot consider this a criticism. The key was that the staff was attentive to solving the problem.

Room Tip: If you enjoy relaxing on a terrace, the duplex penthouse is ideal. In full view of the Cathedral, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here in Feb and also stayed at the penthouse 3 story apartment like the previous reviewer. Seriously, you would be hard-pressed to find any other residence in Sevilla with better views. They were just breathtaking; we were literally accross the street from the Giralda and the Cathedral. The aprtment is three private floors with a private elevator (no dragging luggage up stairs) to the apartments's 1st floor where you find the sleeping quarters with two large bedrooms and two large and beautifully-appointed baths. Next up a private staircase is the entertainment area with living room, kitchen, dining room and a private terrace with seating for 6 overlooking the cathedral. Finally, up yet another private staircase is your private rooftop deck. I have stayed at a lot of nice properties in my life, but this one will stay with me forever.

The staff couldn't have been nicer and were always ready to make a dining or sightseeing suggestion. The check-in for all their apartments is on the ground floor of the penhouse building and it also doubles as a gourmet shop so it was very convenient and had a nice selection of cheese, wine and charcutterie items.

The apartment was very nicely decorated and very clean. If you want extra towels or need anything, you just call down and it's there in 1 minute.

About two doors down is a little tapas bar with excellent cafe con leche and tortilla espanola and it opens at 8am for the early risers. They can also put together a "take away" assortment of tapas if you prefer to use your own terrace for a little Spanish feast, but don't feel like cooking. Casa Robles around the corner continues to serve savory Spanish dishes and continues to be one of my faves

You cannot beat the location, the views and the ambience of Puerta Catedral. I will be back and in the interim, I will dream of our stay there.

Thank you to Pilar, Alejandro, Mario nand the rest of their team for truly a magical experience from booking to check-out.

Alicia B. Feb 17-20

Room Tip: If you can afford to splurge a litle or a traveling with another couple, definitely opt for the Dupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We recently stayed in one of their studio apartments and we had a great visit to Seville. The location is excellent. Everything is closer than you think. The Cathedral is right down the street and while you do hear the church bells, they were not a problem for us.

As stated on their website, the studio building does not have an elevator, so you will need to carry your luggage up to your apartment. Our apartment was an interior unit, so we did not have any street noise, but it did have great natural light. During our 6 night visit, we did have 2 nights with a noisy neighbor, but after they left everything was quite. The kitchen was well equipped and had a stove top espresso maker so that I could enjoy my morning coffee. There is a small convenience market down the street, but the super mercados are across town.

A few doors down is Bodeguita Los Socios. A great little local spot for some simple tapas and beer. Simple, inexpensive and tasty. We had 3 tapas and 3 drinks for 13 euro.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Being able to speak English with the staff was a benefit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kydubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, in a 2nd floor 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the cathedral. The apartment was comfortable and clean and had amazing views from living room and one bedroom of cathedral and street life below. The best thing about it though was the large roof terrace which had comfortable sofas and seats and a fantastic view of the Giralda and rest of cathedral. We especially liked it in the evening when we could watch the bats lit by the cathedral floodlights, and there was also a pair of perigrine falcons swooping over the turrets. The apartment is in an ideal position for exploring all key sites of Seville. Being so central it gets some street noise, but the Irish bar mentioned in some other reviews has now closed down. Apparently there are plans for a restaurant to take over later this year. Staff of apartments are really friendly and helpful. There is a wonderful bread and pastry shop within a minute's walk and a supermarket five minutes away. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed in the apartments around the corner, (just half a block away - II) Apartment 4. Great value!! It didn't have a view from the apartment but the deck did and it was great having it just across the hall. We received a key for the main patio at the main building and it was very comfortable and had a breathtaking view of the cathedral just across the street. Insuite laundry was very handy and the suite was modern, clean, and had everything we needed. There were many stairs but we didn't mind and they carried our bags up for us. The modern restaurant/cafe next door was convenient and very good. The little shop that's at the main building (where you check-in) had some delicious snacks and we stopped there for a lunchtime snack as well. Very pleased!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casadelren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Alminar Hotel
Alminar Hotel
#20 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#31 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Puerta Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Puerta Catedral

Property: Apartamentos Puerta Catedral
Address: Calle Alemanes 7 y 15, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Puerta Catedral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious apartments and studios are surrounded by the amazing architecture of historic Seville. They are set in the shadow of the city’s colossal cathedral and famous Giralda tower. Each stylish Puerta Catedral apartment blends modern lighting and decor with charming features such as old wood beams and antique-style furnishings. Other luxury details may include marble or parquet floors, and French windows opening onto scenic balconies. Also included are marble bathrooms and modern fitted kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Apartamentos Puerta Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Puerta Catedral Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing