We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable central apartment with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Puerta Catedral
Ranked #16 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, in a 2nd floor 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the cathedral. The apartment was comfortable and clean and had amazing views from living room and one bedroom of cathedral and street life below. The best thing about it though was the large roof terrace which had comfortable sofas and seats and a fantastic view of the Giralda and rest of cathedral. We especially liked it in the evening when we could watch the bats lit by the cathedral floodlights, and there was also a pair of perigrine falcons swooping over the turrets. The apartment is in an ideal position for exploring all key sites of Seville. Being so central it gets some street noise, but the Irish bar mentioned in some other reviews has now closed down. Apparently there are plans for a restaurant to take over later this year. Staff of apartments are really friendly and helpful. There is a wonderful bread and pastry shop within a minute's walk and a supermarket five minutes away. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 220 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed in the apartments around the corner, (just half a block away - II) Apartment 4. Great value!! It didn't have a view from the apartment but the deck did and it was great having it just across the hall. We received a key for the main patio at the main building and it was very comfortable and had a breathtaking view of the cathedral just across the street. Insuite laundry was very handy and the suite was modern, clean, and had everything we needed. There were many stairs but we didn't mind and they carried our bags up for us. The modern restaurant/cafe next door was convenient and very good. The little shop that's at the main building (where you check-in) had some delicious snacks and we stopped there for a lunchtime snack as well. Very pleased!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casadelren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed in the 3 floor penthouse apartment, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths on first level, living room, kitchen, dining and terrace on 2nd floor and private roof terrace on 3rd. And a private elevator to boot! Cannot beat the view of the catherdral, though it does take getting used to when all of the bells start ringing around 5:30pm for a few minutes. Apartment furnished very nicely and high end, kitchen had all the amenities, small refrigerator, dishwasher, washing machine, stove top and microwave oven.

The staff was wonderful and very attentive and having a small shop on the first floor was convenient (though a little pricey) for that bottle of wine (or two) at the end of the day.

Very convenient to most major sites, catherdral across the street, Alcazar around the corner, Plaza Espana easy walking distance.

It was the perfect place to unwind on one of the terraces after a day of sightseeing. I would definitely stay here again but would not recommend trying to drive in this part of Seville. We took a cab from the train station, less than 10 Euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room/apartment with a cathedral view, if you want to really live in style, reserve the pen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mijastom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Be careful not all the rooms have a cathedral view. And almost every street in Seville is a one way. The directions we were provided proved useless and when we stopped and asked a cab driver how to get to the hotel, he responded with "it's too complicated, better walk".

So, if you intend to go to the Puerta Catedral Apartments here is my advice
1) do not take very much luggage because it was impossible to drive to the hotel - you will be dragging it down the cobble streets
2) park your car at one of the parking lots on the outskirts of the old downtown areas (the nearest one is beside the bullring)
3) do not expect any assistance from the hotel in getting there or back or finding you room
4) be prepared to pay a premium for anything you purchase from the main office (or better yet purchase your supplies from the small shops nearby)
5) ask for the room with the views because we ended up on a side street with a view of nothing.

If we had not spent 2 hours driving around downtown trying to get to the hotel, if any of the maps they sell in Seville had the one way markers on them, or if the directions provided by the hotel actually said, "Park and walk here it will save you hours of time" I think we would have had a much better experience.

Now for the good part - it is next to everything. You can walk every where (once you get there). You are surrounded by restaurants, small shops, and great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the view... otherwise you don't get any windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christophermoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

A perfect place to stay with rooms with catedral views
Very hot for our 4 day stay 40c so the air condition appartment was wonderful it was a good size and very high spec finnish with kichenette.
Good location every-thing was only a short walk
It was Corpus Christi on the day we arrived so we were able to watch the parades from our window. Would definitely stay hear again

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The location of this appartments is as good as it can be! Extremely clean an big!
Bathroom is excelent and would be perfect if the shower was a bit better!

We wen't to the Arab Baths, which is a good experience. The massage is not fantastic but also not as bad some claim. The pools are very nice.

The tapas restaurants in Seville are everywhere and most are very good. look for the one's with more people and if they are standing rather than sitting you have just hit it right!

The only down side are the Catedral bells that ring everyday very early in the morning for a very long time!! Any hotel in the center will have the same problem.

EME Catedral hotel roof top bar is a must but please be prepared to pay a premium!!!

I Highly recomend a hiring a municipality bike, they are cheap and work very well!

Room Tip: We had Suite 2 at the main building which was perfect, there is anottehr building ion Calle Allemane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKCNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights on our way around Spain. Beautiful apartment with a balcony view over the cathedral and right in the heart of town. Busy street but that was no problem, cathedral bells took a bit of getting used to (we were there Sunday morning) but a small price to pay for the location. Staff were great, apartment modern and with good facilities. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGunz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
Puerta Catedral Suites
Puerta Catedral Suites
#19 of 164 in Seville
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Suites Sevilla Plaza
Suites Sevilla Plaza
#5 of 164 in Seville
341 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Toc Hostel Sevilla
Toc Hostel Sevilla
#6 of 164 in Seville
273 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Casa de Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Puerta Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Puerta Catedral

Address: Calle Alemanes 7 y 15, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Price Range: $71 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Puerta Catedral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious apartments and studios are surrounded by the amazing architecture of historic Seville. They are set in the shadow of the city’s colossal cathedral and famous Giralda tower. Each stylish Puerta Catedral apartment blends modern lighting and decor with charming features such as old wood beams and antique-style furnishings. Other luxury details may include marble or parquet floors, and French windows opening onto scenic balconies. Also included are marble bathrooms and modern fitted kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Puerta Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Puerta Catedral Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing