We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing 4-hour 4-wheel tour of the Donana National Park”

Parque Nacional de Donana
Book In Advance
More Info
$193.35*
and up
Seville Hot-Air Balloon Ride
Ranked #3 of 57 things to do in Huelva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Certified guided tours into the Donana National Park. You will visit all the ecosistems: beach, moving dunes, marshlands,mediterranean forest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing 4-hour 4-wheel tour of the Donana National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The tour was run by the Cooperativa Andaluza Marismas del Rocio (http://www.donanavisitas.es/) and took us through all the ecosystems in the park. A bit bumpy in places but our first stop was in the middle of the sand dunes - an almost alien landscape. Fascinating animal tracks in the sand..still trying to work out what made them.
Next stop was by the river - one word of advice. There were LOTS of hungry mosquitos so be prepared!
Unfortunately our guide only spoke Spanish so we missed what sounded like a great running commentary on the trip.
We saw red deer, fallow deer and even wild boar on the beach. We all enjoyed the trip immensely, despite the mosquito bites! There is also a good café on site where we had some good cafés con leche.
Afterwards take the time to visit Rocio - one of the most surreal towns I've ever seen. The streets are covered in sand and the whole place looks like a set for a spaghetti western.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank AJJS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    172
    68
    28
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Horseback riding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

My group did a horseback riding tour through the park and down to the beach. The workers were professional and we enjoyed talking with them as well as horsing around ... heh, get it? Horsing around? :)
Anyway, I would definitely recommend this tour even for people who are inexperienced. It's very important not to be skittish because horses pick up on that and get skittish themselves, but if you're able to be calm and just enjoy the ride, I can promise that you will!! Go in the late afternoon/evening for sunset views and cooler weather!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tour with Sociedad Cooperativa Andaluza Marismas del Rocío from Acebuche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The tour (3.5-4h) was very enjoyable & interesting. Our guide was Gonzalo who did it in Spanish & very good English. He was very knowledgeable and had a good sense of humour. We saw lots of animals: deer and game with fawns, wild boar with piglets, wild horses and foals, as well as wild cows apart from many types of birds. There were also several wild boar on the beach at low tide, looking for food, which we didn't expect. Please note that it is a bit of a bumpy ride in the dunes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank CKEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Birding Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Of our 7 day holiday around Seville we spent 2 days in the park. This is a magnificent area for bird watching, heard so much about it prior to going and it certainly lived up to its reputation. Our bird count numbered over 80 species and several that we could not ID. Even if your a none birder a visit is worthwhile as there is so much to see in a variety of settings. Great information centres and great coffee and food. Did not see the Lynx but what the heck, we had a great time. If in the area don't miss out--just go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Perek24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Well organised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The chance of seeing Iberian lynx is slim. I was unlucky but met 2 ladies who had seen one ...just the luck of the draw. You have to go on an escorted tour but the tour driver and leader were knowledgeable about flora fauna and birds.. A very good information centre where we were able to buy a drink and eat our picnics at tables whilst viewing birds on a lagoon directly outside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional de Donana also viewed

El Rocio, Province of Huelva
Huelva, Province of Huelva
 
Huelva, Province of Huelva
Huelva, Province of Huelva
 

Been to Parque Nacional de Donana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing