We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for a short break”
Review of Hotel Las Almenas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Almenas
Ranked #45 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good option for a short break”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the start of our road trip around Andalucia. It is in a good location in the city. Main attractions are within walking distance and the Alhambra is only a short bus or taxi trip away (you could walk up the hill if you were feeling energetic). The male receptionist was very helpful and gave us great advice during our short stay.
The only down sides were that there was no kettle in the room and we had to wait half an hour to check out as there was no one on reception during check-out time!
Otherwise it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend this budget-friendly hotel for a short stay in Granada.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxstar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    192
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
61
302
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Overall the hotel was a good value for the money, clean, central. We were not overwhelmed by the "helpfulness of the staff" as described by many other reviewers, although they were pleasant enough. One thing that is not mentioned is that if you are out late, you may need to phone the hotel to get back in- upon returning late we found the hotel nearly shuttered.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2011

This hotel was really great. The staff was extremely helpful and arranged an authentic Flamenco show for us. The location was very convenient - only a short walk to the bus and many places to eat, drink, and shop nearby. Everything was super clean. The price for this level of room was unbelievable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourbings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

You absolutely cannot go wrong staying here. This is a gem of a place - exceptionally comfortable, elegant and beautifully appointed with design details echoing the mudejar plasterworks of the Alhambra, perfectly located and unbelievable value. I would have expected it to cost a good 30% more than it did (of course if it had we never would have stayed there).

Not knowing Granada it had initially seemed to make more sense to try and stay in the older part, so I was a little nervouse about the location of Las Almenas, however as soon as we arrived and explored the city a bit we realised that this is the best locatiion to be. There are shops, restaurants and cafes all around, and since Granada is compact - it is only a 10 or 15 minute walk to the really touristy section, or a fast bus ride. The Alhambra is on top of a large hill several kilometers away, so don't base your trip on being close to it as you will be far from everything else and be stuck walking up or down a steep hill.

The owner Don Jose should win an award as hotelier of the year for Spain or Europe. What a dedicated individual - he clearly takes great pleasure in making sure that guests enjoy their time in Granada. Like it or not accomodation can make or break a trip, and this place will always stand out for us as that amazing hotel on our trip to Spain (second ever trip to Europe).

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrimcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Lovely hotel, setting and impecable service.. Jose and his family were fabulous....

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mceaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Just booked out this morning and the stay was excellent! The rooms are lovely and super-clean with lots of space. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the street. A bit too noisy with the patio doors open during the day but plenty quiet enough to sleep. Decent location not far from the Grand Via and close to all the interesting stuff in town. Plus only about 6.50 Euros by taxi from the train station. And the host is wonderful, so far I've heard him speak at least 3 languages.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanfromvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I was a bit suspicious of the reviews of this hotel when I saw the photos. In fact this is a really nice hotel, the room was spacious, clean, modern, quiet. It's right in the centre of Granada. The staff are very helpful and very practical in giving suggestions about what to do in Granada and how to get about there. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishguydub25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Dauro Granada
#38 of 122 in Granada
660 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#54 of 122 in Granada
325 reviews
Hotel Sacromonte
#56 of 122 in Granada
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,112 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#29 of 122 in Granada
504 reviews
Hotel Reina Mora
#83 of 122 in Granada
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Almenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Almenas

Property: Hotel Las Almenas
Address: Acera Darro 82 | Nueva De La Virgen 2 - 6, Esq. Acera Del Darro., 18005 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Almenas 3*
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing