We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delight for my family”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Granada, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Dennis M
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delight for my family”
Reviewed November 25, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family travelled to Granada this year to share a town I love with my wife, children and parents. Rather than being spread across different hotel rooms, on different floors and disconnected, my wife had the idea of renting a house instead. I'm happy I listened. Not only did we have plenty of private space in the house, but great shared rooms, a full kitchen and wonderful outdoor space on the patio with lemon trees, pomegranate and olive trees (and beutiful vistas of the snow capped Sierra Nevadas). All the quiet we could want, but right in the heart of the city (a quick walk to tourist destinations, great bars and restaurants)

Having lived in Spain earlier in my life, I really wanted my family to have the experience of what it's like to live in a Spanish home - and this delivered that experience. (My kids have asked of we can move in).

And I would be remiss not to mention our host, Jorge. Not only was the house immaculate, he provided a walking tour of the area, great suggestions for locals only tapas places, helped us get tickets to the always sold out Alhambra, recmmenended luthiers for the guitarists in the family, and gave a history lesson of his family's multi-generational home and wool business. He was also incredibly communicative during the booking process and beyond - a perfect host and gentleman.

So if you are on the fence about this - don't make the mistake of missing out on this oasis in Granada and the experience of a Granadino.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2016
Thank you very much for your comment and score, it has been a pleasure to meet you and to share a few days with your family, greetings to all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah L
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Carmen de la Lana for two nights and would highly recommend the property and its location. Jorge, the owner, is extremely friendly and helpful. Nice welcome pack on arrival and he took the time to walk us around on a small city tour, which included showing us how we could collect our pre booked Alhambra Palace tickets without having to queue at the Palace on the day. Carmen de la Lana is spacious and clean. It's not a modern property, but it had everything we needed. I'm sure that if there was something it didn't have then Jorge would have been more than happy to help. It's quiet location in the old town is great. Only a short walk to a small supermarket and less than ten minute walk to bars and restaurants. The Alhambra Palace is an uphill walk that takes around 15-20 minutes but taxis are cheap if needed. The terrace area is very pretty with good views and has parking for a small car. Wifi is good.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roitai
Jerusalem
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great host !”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

TA previous positive review's had said it all.
We loved the accommodation !
After the 3 originaly booked days , we toyed with the idea of extending our stay with Jorge , our wonderful host, alas , he already committed the premises to other guests.
Make sure you sample the pomegranate and lemon that grow in the front porch and walk 7-8 min. to sample the fresh sea food at the near by tapas place called "diamanté ".
Thanks you Jorge for your kind hospitality; our 9 years old son is inquiring when is our next visit to Carmen de la lana , Granada.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy B
Ben Wheeler, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise!”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were only in Granada 2 days and nights. This place is beautiful and has a family history dating to early 1600.

As a family of 5 adults we have enjoyed a week in France and we're going to visit family in far southern Spain and wanted to see The Alhambra. We loved this apartment and wish we could have stayed longer. From the moment you enter the gates to the when you leave you will feel at home. The owner is so kind and welcoming! Communication was smooth although we didn't speak Spanish. He had a welcome gift waiting for us - a bottle of wine, coffee and milk, fresh fruit and biscuits. We really enjoyed getting to know Jorge and hearing stories of his family. He lives upstairs and keeps to himself unless you want to visit with him. He took my husband on a short walk to a local meat and cheese market then to the grocery store as well as a sight seeing tour. It's evident how much pride Jorge has for his beautiful city.
The bedrooms are large. The kitchen is well equipped. There are 2 bedrooms with sleeping couch and trundle in the living area which was fine since most of the time we were there we were we were outside on the fabulous patio. There are numerous sitting areas there with breathtaking mountain and city views.

We highly recommend this apartment. It is unique, clean and a piece of Granada history.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2016
Ha sido un placer conoceros y compartir un tiempo con vosotros,
Muchas gracias por la puntuación y comentario
Saludos afectuosos. Jorge Luque
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Jorge welcomed us to his home that has been in his family for centuries. Jorge also gave us a tour of his home city which was very kind and informative. Great house close to everything and with a lovely courtyard to hang out in.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_simontay...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in Granada”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment was a great find and our stay here was totally enjoyable and relaxing. Jorge was a very welcoming and generous host. The communication during the entire booking process was excellent and very prompt. The self contained apartment is within the ground floor of a larger house, very homely and very spacious with beautiful views over Granada and to the mountains beyond. A little piece of Granada history in itself. Everything needed for a relaxing and comfortable stay has been thought of, including toiletries, cooking condiments and equipment etc. There is a large patio and driveway in an enclosed and gated garden for anyone taking a car. The apartment is within easy walking distance (20 minutes) of the Alhambra, 10 minute stroll to the nearest supermarket and Granada centre only 5-10 minutes walk. Jorge provided a very much appreciated welcome of fresh fruit, milk, a bottle of wine and fresh lemonade from the lemon tree in the garden. He even provided a quick guided tour of the town centre so we could get our bearings, recommending some great attractions and restaurants. We couldn't recommend this apartment, or Jorge as a host highly enough! Thank you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhopperJr
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Fantastic Landlord!”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is part of a house behind gates within walking distance of everything in Grenada. Everything was in working order. It was neat and clean and the landlord even changed sheets/towels during our stay. Lovely neighborhood bakery and convenience store down the street. Lemon/orange tree in courtyard and room for car. This landlord, Jorge, was fantastic because we showed up a day early (our error) and he used his network to get us a wonderful rental apt at Mirador Nicolas, with the most sought after view in Grenada! He did not make us feel bad at all. He brought lemonade one day and a plate of jamon another. He installed a washer while we were there, which worked out great. Airdry works fine in Grenada. My kids and I cannot be more enthusiastic about this location and this landlord!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Kindness of landlord
Liked least: Insufficient padding in seats/sofa
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing