We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay in Hostal Venecia if you want to enjoy your holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Venecia
Ranked #14 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT stay in Hostal Venecia if you want to enjoy your holiday!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Almost 2 years ago I stayed in an annex from the owner of Venecia for 1 night, when I wanted to pay up after one night the small, dark and dingy room suddenly was € 4,- more expensive than quoted on the previous night. The owner got very angry when I asked him how this happened and it took me a while to actually pay the € 20,- that had been quoted instead of the € 24,- ending up on my bill for some reason. He told me to leave immediately.

Recently, this April, I went to Granada with my boyfriend, we intended to stay 3 nights and since the place had looked so nice 2 years ago I decided it might have been miscommunication and gave it another chance. Wrong decision:

When on day 2 we wanted to our room before heading for the Alhambra around 3 pm in the afternoon we found our room empty!!! 5 beds had been made. We were together using two single beds in a room that also contained a bunkbed and an extra matrass. This time all of them were made and the matrass had been moved from underneath the bunk to the middle of the room.

When we shouted for help at the closed reception, we had to wait a while, because the owner was also, as it turned out fighting with a French couple to whom the same had happened. They also found their room empty and their suitcases locked up in reception, just like all our stuff that was lying around in the room and by the sink in the room!!! Again it took ages to get our stuff, get my passport back from the owner (I think he's taking them because he knows he's dodgy and is afraid people may take off angry without settling the bill or something.. ) and actually pay for the 2 past nights. After all. We were just going to change our shoes in order to go the Alhambra that afternoon! Needless to say the owner again didn't listen, told us it was our own fault and we weren't having it. We just wanted to go, book another place and never see, smell or hear this guy again! I am convinced that the owner saw an opportunity to make more money out of the room by having 5 guests in it rather than just the 2 of us and decided to take his chances. I have done a lot of travelling, both in Spain, but also in various countries around the world and have never seen anything like this. This man is a disgrace for the Spanish, for the wonderful friendly hospitality around.

Luckily we found a new and nicer room with for only € 35,- (instead of the € 30 we paid for a room in Venecia with shared toilet -without seats- and shared bathroom with luke warm water at best) two doors down from Venecia in the very friendly, and unlike Venecia very professional hostal Austria 2 doors further down on the same road see: http://www.hostalaustria.com/

Also if you're not sure where to stay, the tourist office is less than a 5 min walk away from hostal Venecia, they give away free maps of Granada, with not just interesting things such ad viewing points, but also where one can find affordable 1 and 2 star hostals.

Safe yourself the hassle, enjoy your holiday and rather be safe than sorry, Do not go to hostal Venicia in Granada. Granada has plenty of accommodation on offer, affordable in the city centre and chances are that most of them are better than Venecia. Which isn't much competition anyway.

Enjoy your stay in Granada by NOT staying in hostal Venecia!!!

Here's 3 bad experiences in one review about hostal Venecia. Two of which my own, one of which we observed happening to other people. Don't take any chances if you intend to enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicatravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veneciahostal, Gerente at Apartamentos Venecia, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Google Translation
Aunque nos ha sido difícil entender la explicación de esta señorita, creemos que se trata de un mal entendido por su parte y quizás una dificultad, por el idioma, para explicarle la situación por nuestra parte. Los acontecimientos que relata son una visión personal un poco distorsionada de la realidad y por ello queremos exponer los hechos tal como ocurrieron y que luego cada cual saque sus conclusiones.

En primer lugar, esta señorita y su acompañante llegaron al hostal y pidieron alojamiento para 2 doches, aunque dijeron que quizás podrían quedarse una tercera noches más, pero este extremo no se confirmó en ningún momento. Al pedir habitación doble con camas individuales se les ofreció una habitación, que normalmente ocupan 5 personas, con baño en el pasillo y que dispone de dos camas individuales además de una litera y una cama supletoria que se coloca posteriormente. Aceptaron las condiciones y estuvieron dos días. Al tercer día, que supuestamente deberían dejar la habitación porque no habían confirmado su estancia, se marcharon a la Alhambra y no volvieron antes de la 12, que es cuando hay que dejar libre la habitación. La habitación había que preparla para una reserva de 5 personas y entregarla a partir de las 14:00. Cuando alguna vez ocurre esta circunstancia y los clientes no han recogido sus pertenencias, se les recogen con sumo cuidado y se guardan sus maletas en un lugar seguro. Nunca hemos perdido nada de los clientes ni nadie se ha quejado porque les faltara algo.

La otra opción hubiera sido dejar la habitación como estaba, rechazar la reserva que llegaba y esperar a que esta señorita y su acompañante volvieran. Al volver podrían haber dicho que no querían quedarse y nosotros les habríamos reclamado el pago de la estancia por no haberla dejado libre antes de las 12:00. Tendríamos entonces las quejas de 2 clientes insatisfechos, el primero por reclamarle el pago de una estancia que no querían ocupar y el segundo por haberle dejado sin alojamiento.

Por nuestro hostal pasan a lo largo del año miles de personas. En estos últimos 12 años hemos vivido experiencias de todo tipo, especialmente buenas, y algunas veces tenemos que tomar decisiones que implican cierto riesgo porque no ha habido claridad por parte de los clientes. Nosotros intentamos evitar estas situaciones pero lo que no podemos es asumir la responsabilidad que, por tratarse de personas adultas, todos debemos asumir por nuestros actos. Si no hay claridad en la forma de actuar esto puede dar lugar a una sucesión de conflictos encadenados y a consecuencias imprevisibles.

Nos parece muy injusta la crítica recibida por parte de esta señorita, especialmente porque la situación se generó por su falta de claridad a la hora de determinar los días que iban a alojarse. Afortunadamente esto no ocurre todos los días y, por nuestra parte, intentamos poner todos los medios para que, aunque no sea responsabilidad nuestra, evitar que se generen este tipo de situaciones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    14
    5
    14
See reviews for
29
58
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I spent 2 nights with 5 friends during a motorbike tour. The good news is that the hotel is located downtown in a walking distance from the main historical attractions of Granada, including L'Alhambra, and the wifi connection is free and working well. The owner claimed to provide parking area in a garage but actually he gave us his own car cubicle in a public garage and charged 20€ with all the bikes squished in the little parking area of his car.
Rooms are clean but no private bathroom, even for the single ones. We had to negotiate the price for half an hour or more and at the end we had to pay 25€/person/night for a triple bed room and 35€/person/night for the two of us in a single room, plus parking.
Overall the feedbacks we read before of booking the rooms gave us an overevaluated view of the hotel. I do not suggest the hotel if travelling with kids or old people.

Camillo, Italy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veneciahostal, Gerente at Apartamentos Venecia, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Google Translation
En nuestro trabajo estamos acostumbrados a recibir más alabanzas que críticas negativas, pero aceptamos también estas últimas porque nos ayudan a mejorar día a día. Lo que no creo que ayude para nada es cuando la crítica es injusta, sin sentido y con ánimo simplemente de descargar una frustración. Nos visitaron un grupo de amigos que venían con diez motos y les ofrecimos lo mejor que teníamos y a unos precios inmejorables, que nada tienen que ver con lo que menciona este señor en esta crítica. ¿Qué establecimiento cobra 25 ó 35 € por persona y noche en una habitación doble o triple sin baño propio?. Yo creo que esto en el centro de Granada en ningún sitio. Tenemos variedad de tipo de habitaciones, con baño propio o con baños en pasillo, desde habitaciones dobles hasta apartamentos. Ni en el caso más lujoso en la fiesta más alta de la temporada, que podría ser un apartamento con baño privado, cocina, tv y terraza en Semana Santa, el precio por persona/noche, llega a esa cantidad. Son pues totalmente falsos los datos sobre precios que este señor menciona en su crítica. Se les pidió lo mínimo, teniendo en cuenta que eran un grupo de 10 persona y se les ofrecieron alternativas distintas. Ellos lo estudiaron y lo debatieron durante al menos media hora y luego decidieron quedarse en distintos tipos de habitaciones, por lo que pagaron conforme al tipo de habitación y número de personas que las ocuparon.

En cuanto a las motos. Disponemos de varias plazas de parking que tenemos alquiladas en un parking privado para poder ofrecérselas a nuestros clientes al precio más bajo de parking de toda Granada (10 € la noche por plaza). Les ofrecimos la solución más económica que podrían encontrar en toda Granada para 10 motos, ocupando 2 plazas de parking y pagando tan sólo 20 € por noche. Esto es un servicio especial que a nosotros normalmente nos cuesta dinero todos los meses y que el 99% de clientes agradece porque les permite tener sus coches al lado del alojamiento y en un sitio muy seguro y vigilado. Curiosamente este señor "le da la vuelta a la tortilla" y ve negro donde el color es blanco nuclear.

Por último, remata la jugada de la crítica diciendo que no recomienda nuestro alojamiento a padres con niños ni a personas mayores. Pues lo siento señor pero precisamente son las personas que más nos visitan y las que más satisfechas se marchan de nuestro alojamiento. Afortunadamente su gusto no coincide con el mayor número de clientes que nos visitan y además repiten. Le pedimos, por favor, que sea honesto con sigo mismo y haga críticas acordes a la realidad en todos los alojamientos que visite en el futuro. Un saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hostal Venecia!

We used to come for a night out in Granada occasionally when we were living on the coast and stayed in various hotels in this beautiful city; during our last trip we discovered Hostal Venecia and it will definitely be the place we come back to on our next holidays here. Its location is very central, as close as you can get to Plaza Nueva, Calle Elvira, a short walk to the Alhambra, Albayzin, shops, cafés, bakeries, tapas, etc. Sergio and his family were so helpful for recommendations, to get places or simply to get in or out of the very convenient, cheap and safe car park garage (up the hill near the hostal, and much cheaper than other carparks in Granada, but with limited spots on a first come/first served basis). Do follow Sergio's instructions to get to the hostal by car (ask by email) as a GPS/Satnav in Granada is always wrong...!

Our room was very clean and rather large, in traditional and rustic Spanish style, which personally we find warm and welcoming. A great budget room. We had a sink, large mirror and even a hairdryer in our room, a large quiet ceiling fan, and a bright door/window overlooking the street. There are a few bars around (very convenient!) and Calle Elvira 1 minute away but we had no problems sleeping at all. The shared bathroom was very clean and functional. Many renovations have been made recently and were still underway in another section of the hostal.

Although my Spanish is still rather basic, I managed to speak with Sergio and his family about the essentials without any problems and they made an effort (in French and English!) When we needed to put the car back in the garage late in the evening after a long day out (nobody was in the office so late, which is very understandable for a family-run place), we simply rang on the hostal mobile and Sergio came right away to give us the garage key. This might sound a bit odd for some foreigners expecting a 24/7 desk with a bell but that's just how things are done in many Spanish places. They were always so friendly!

We booked through Expedia, reserved with our credit card and paid cash upon departure (cash seems to be standard in many hostals in Spain, in case you didn't know), and we had no problems whatsoever.

Overall, I highly recommend Hostal Venecia if you want a true taste of Andalucia. We'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karine979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

A reasonable B &B .....

Pros: Very central.....15 mins walk through a park to Alhambra and 10 mins walk to albayzin. Clean shared toilets. Very nice old man running the show (only speaks Spanish though), good tapas bars close by

Cons: we had noisy people in the next room and had difficulty sleeping that night. Otherwise nice and quiet

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veneciahostal, Manager at Apartamentos Venecia, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
First, we thank despositada confidence in our establishment. Normally we watch that there is harmony and tranquility in our hostel to avoid noise nuisance might cause some customers to others. We feel that this time we knew not of this detail. Thanks again for your stay and if you so desire, we are waiting on your next visit to Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We came by car, and were grateful for the hotelier's help getting to the hotel car park and through the pedestrian only barrier. You need to talk to the hotel to organize this. Spent two nights — perfect for Alhambra and Alabaicín. Great value, and you have the heart of old Granada at your doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altufyevo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veneciahostal, Manager at Apartamentos Venecia, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay in our hostel. We are delighted to welcome people from around the world who appreciate this place and especially our crown jewel, the Alhambra. We hope to see you on your next visit to Granada. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We spent three comfortable nights here. A warm welcome awaited us on our arrival. There had been a confusion over our booking and so we were placed in a one-bedroomed apartment further up the Calle Gomerez, with a view of the Alhambra itself from the veranda. The position of the hotel is excellent, very close to the centre, with good places to eat close at hand, and within walking distance of most of Granada's attractions and historic sites. Lorca fans will be in paradise. The only carp would be about the early-morning noise from cars and motor-bikes setting off under our window, and the fact that this hotel, like so very many round the world, doesn't realise some people like to read in bed and so has dismal lighting. Central, clean, cheap, comfortable. Give it a go.

Room Tip: Ask for the annexe building further up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DingiswayoStAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

An excellent stay with friendly and helpful staff. Breakast choice good and as everyone says everywhere is clean. Ideal for transfer from airport via metro and bus 19 that drops one 100 metres from hotel. Close to all the attractions some walkable. Advise buying a tourist transport card either online for 10% less or at helful Tourist offices. Enjoyed capuccino and cake at Grand capuccion cafe enar cathedral. Casa Roberta restaurant is place to eat though pricey.

Room Tip: 8B has balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buksang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
941 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,192 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#19 of 122 in Granada
921 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
958 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#4 of 122 in Granada
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Venecia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Venecia

Property: Apartamentos Venecia
Address: Pc de La Miga 3, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Venecia 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Granada, at the foot of the Alhambra, the most visited monument in the whole country, a short walk from Plaza Nueva, the Cathedral, the Albaizin, Alcaiceria and other interesting sites of Granada, is the Venice apartments. Clean, quiet, great staff and reasonable prices are the services provided by this family property, which has over 15 years serving customers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Apartamentos Venecia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing