We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Venecia
Ranked #14 of 93 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, great value”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We came by car, and were grateful for the hotelier's help getting to the hotel car park and through the pedestrian only barrier. You need to talk to the hotel to organize this. Spent two nights — perfect for Alhambra and Alabaicín. Great value, and you have the heart of old Granada at your doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altufyevo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veneciahostal, Manager at Apartamentos Venecia, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay in our hostel. We are delighted to welcome people from around the world who appreciate this place and especially our crown jewel, the Alhambra. We hope to see you on your next visit to Granada. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    42
    14
    6
    14
See reviews for
29
59
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We spent three comfortable nights here. A warm welcome awaited us on our arrival. There had been a confusion over our booking and so we were placed in a one-bedroomed apartment further up the Calle Gomerez, with a view of the Alhambra itself from the veranda. The position of the hotel is excellent, very close to the centre, with good places to eat close at hand, and within walking distance of most of Granada's attractions and historic sites. Lorca fans will be in paradise. The only carp would be about the early-morning noise from cars and motor-bikes setting off under our window, and the fact that this hotel, like so very many round the world, doesn't realise some people like to read in bed and so has dismal lighting. Central, clean, cheap, comfortable. Give it a go.

Room Tip: Ask for the annexe building further up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DingiswayoStAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

An excellent stay with friendly and helpful staff. Breakast choice good and as everyone says everywhere is clean. Ideal for transfer from airport via metro and bus 19 that drops one 100 metres from hotel. Close to all the attractions some walkable. Advise buying a tourist transport card either online for 10% less or at helful Tourist offices. Enjoyed capuccino and cake at Grand capuccion cafe enar cathedral. Casa Roberta restaurant is place to eat though pricey.

Room Tip: 8B has balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buksang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed here 1 night, didn't have reservations ahead of time. The owners were very friendly and helpful; they speak a little English but communication is most fruitful in Spanish or German. Rooms were clean and spacious. Our room had a sink; showers and toilets were down the hall. Fairly quiet location, and the hostal itself was quiet as well. Decor is very unique and fun.

The main entrance to the Alhambra is just up the road; lots of shops right nearby, and it's an easy walk to other sights, restaurant areas, etc.

No breakfast; not sure if WiFi was available. We were able to leave our luggage at the hostal the day we checked out, before catching a bus later in the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I come back regurlaly to Hostal Venecia since 1996, as Granada is one of my favorite cities in the world. My friend recommended this small, wonderful gem to me all these years ago, as he stayed there for several weeks and loved it. I was pleasantly surprised how clean it was - for a very small price. I rememer to be woken up in the morning by beautiful lady, owner of the Guest House. She brought herbal tea with honey in my room!
Since then I vsited this lovely place many times, alone, and with my husband, and each time I am treated as a good friend - owners are charming and very kind. We speak German, as they know it very well. They work day and night very hard to make their guests feel comfortable, and I appreciate all their hard work - the place is spotless, and tastefully decorated. I alwasy take photos there, it is so full of charm.
The price per room for centre of Granada, near my beloved Alhambra palace with amazing Generalife Gardens, is very small. Just once when I visited Granada, Hostal Venecia was full, and a friend booked me and 2 of my girlfriends into a new build hotel on the outskirts of Granada. It is there in this faceless, heartess building I appreciated Hostal Venecia even more - it has a heart, and a soul. This April on my trip to Granada I felt again at home in Hostal Venecia. I definately will be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalya777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The first time I went to Granada, I was lucky enough to stay at Hostal Venecia (in 2008)--it was a wonderful experience then and each time I've been there since...I'm shocked at a lot of the negative reviews. I stayed in the single room then. It's small but charming. Most recently in October & early November, I stayed in the dorm--that got new bedding for the winter but other than that looks just like it did before: clean and simple. I love the fact that it hasn't changed much over the years... Senora Carmen is still bustling around, cleaning and making sure you get that ginger 'infusion' and Sergio is still the same sweet man (though can put out a surly vibe) he has always been.

I've stayed with them 4 times in the last couple years and I've always been well cared for. They keep the showers and rooms clean, there's an iron if you want to borrow it, books left behind/swapped out by travelers, heaters for the winter, and Carmen will always smile and call you guapa. I've never had any issue with fraudulent credit card charges... but yes, treat it as a cash only place. (It's less than 20 euros a night so it's not that big a deal to plan ahead for that).

Oh and the location is absolutely great--right at plaza nueva, close to the teterias and its a straight shot up the street to the Alhambra... there's an internet cafe a street (or two) over and the buses for sacremonte etc stop right at plaza nueva if you don't want to walk.

I really could go on and on, but I'll stop here. I hadn't reviewed them sooner since I don't tend to post reviews (and yes, I didn't really want the place to get too full and get bumped out of my spot next time ;) ) but, I couldn't really stand to see all the negative reviews...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SakinaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valencia, spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My experience of Hostal Venecia is similar to other reviews - I rang ahead to reserve a room & the owner was most meticulous about taking my credit card number.....

During the course of my stay I happened to check my bank account & noticed a debit from Hostal Venecia ( a debit that had occurred without my consent & without any communication of doing so). On checking out I noticed that the amount already charged by Hostal Venecia was not deducted from my final bill. When I pointed this out Sergio (the owner) got very angry, very rude; he shouted at me, snatched my passport from me & slammed the money down on the counter. He told me that it was a bank charge for checking the authenticity of the credit card. However, I have travelled extensively across the world & NEVER encountered this charge before. Nor have I experienced such nastiness!

Sergio is clearly in the wrong job!

Don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeyValencia_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
954 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,215 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#18 of 122 in Granada
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
976 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Venecia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Venecia

Property: Apartamentos Venecia
Address: Pc de La Miga 3, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Venecia 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Granada, at the foot of the Alhambra, the most visited monument in the whole country, a short walk from Plaza Nueva, the Cathedral, the Albaizin, Alcaiceria and other interesting sites of Granada, is the Venice apartments. Clean, quiet, great staff and reasonable prices are the services provided by this family property, which has over 15 years serving customers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Apartamentos Venecia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing