We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff - very helpful - a lot of advice - very clean”
Review of Pension Alcazaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Alcazaba
Ranked #70 of 95 Granada B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hostal Alcazaba was very clean, comfortable and well located at the center of Granada. The staff were very helpful without being pushy. Once we arrived in the evening while my husband went to bring some food. The owner wanted to leave, which would mean that no one could open when my husband would ring the bell. So we would have to go down and open as we had the keys (which we would not have minded). The owner himselp proposed to take the key and meet my husband on his way, so that we would not have to go down and open the door. That was really a nice and attentive idea and he insisted on doing so, although I did not want him to do it as I thought it was too copliated in case they did not meet and he would have to come back to the hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KELD_sseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

Hostal Alcazaba is a small, family owned pension in the centre of Granada - it is just off Gran Via, which is the main street leading to the centre of the town. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private en-suite room, which priced at 13 euros per person per night is very reasonable but upon arrival we were offered a room with air conditioning for 6 euros extra, which was definitely worth it considering it was over 40 degrees! It is quiet, secure, clean and close to bars/restaurants and a Carrefour. A great place to stay in Granada!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictoriaThreadgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

The pension is simple, but what can you wait for a pension?
The main advantage is the central location, next to the buses going to the old city and the Alhambra.
The host is kind and friendly.
One problem though, we did not have hot water for one morning.

Would recommend it for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renatites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Good clean simple hotel with friendly English speaking owner who made some excellent recommendations on food/attractions etc.. Close to attractions, though Granada is really not a very big city. It can get a bit noisy at night on the street but otherwise it is a nice simple hotel to spend the night.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank starstorm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

To anyone who wishes to find a cheap and CLEAN hostel in Seville, I DEFINITELY recommend Hotel ALCAZABA, which is really a pension, but is extremely clean, strategic in location (central) and enjoys a very friendly staff. The host speaks spanish and english.
It is located in a street called San Juan de Dios in Granada center, parallel to Gran Via (main central street).
I'd recommend it to everyone!
---
RZK

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank RZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

This is a great hostal, I am really surprised to be the first to review it. It's location is awesome, close to bus stops, within walking distance of everything. Not right in the center, but close enough. The street itself has lots of shops and places to get a snack. A little noisy, but I found that to be the case in all of Spain. The owner is really nice and helpful. The place's website is just in Spanish and French, but the owner speaks English. There is an elevator. The room was nice and although the bathroom had a bit of a strange layout. The air-conditioning work fine. We had our own keys to get in and out of the building, which is not always the case, but extremely practical if you like to be out late. One of the best hostals we stayed at. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Atlantida
Pension Atlantida
#107 of 122 in Granada
81 reviews
Abadia Hotel Granada
#66 of 122 in Granada
384 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#26 of 122 in Granada
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 95 in Granada
688 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Granada Inn Backpackers
Granada Inn Backpackers
#8 of 144 in Granada
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Alcazaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Alcazaba

Address: Calle San Juan de Dios 38, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $34 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Alcazaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing