We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Staff - very helpful - a lot of advice - very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Alcazaba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Alcazaba
Ranked #70 of 95 Granada B&B and Inns
Düsseldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff - very helpful - a lot of advice - very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hostal Alcazaba was very clean, comfortable and well located at the center of Granada. The staff were very helpful without being pushy. Once we arrived in the evening while my husband went to bring some food. The owner wanted to leave, which would mean that no one could open when my husband would ring the bell. So we would have to go down and open as we had the keys (which we would not have minded). The owner himselp proposed to take the key and meet my husband on his way, so that we would not have to go down and open the door. That was really a nice and attentive idea and he insisted on doing so, although I did not want him to do it as I thought it was too copliated in case they did not meet and he would have to come back to the hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KELD_sseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
7
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Hostal Alcazaba is a small, family owned pension in the centre of Granada - it is just off Gran Via, which is the main street leading to the centre of the town. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private en-suite room, which priced at 13 euros per person per night is very reasonable but upon arrival we were offered a room with air conditioning for 6 euros extra, which was definitely worth it considering it was over 40 degrees! It is quiet, secure, clean and close to bars/restaurants and a Carrefour. A great place to stay in Granada!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaThreadgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

The pension is simple, but what can you wait for a pension?
The main advantage is the central location, next to the buses going to the old city and the Alhambra.
The host is kind and friendly.
One problem though, we did not have hot water for one morning.

Would recommend it for budget travellers.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renatites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

Good clean simple hotel with friendly English speaking owner who made some excellent recommendations on food/attractions etc.. Close to attractions, though Granada is really not a very big city. It can get a bit noisy at night on the street but otherwise it is a nice simple hotel to spend the night.

  • Liked — Friendly and very helpful owner
  • Disliked — Noise in the streets at night
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank starstorm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

To anyone who wishes to find a cheap and CLEAN hostel in Seville, I DEFINITELY recommend Hotel ALCAZABA, which is really a pension, but is extremely clean, strategic in location (central) and enjoys a very friendly staff. The host speaks spanish and english.
It is located in a street called San Juan de Dios in Granada center, parallel to Gran Via (main central street).
I'd recommend it to everyone!
---
RZK

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank RZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

This is a great hostal, I am really surprised to be the first to review it. It's location is awesome, close to bus stops, within walking distance of everything. Not right in the center, but close enough. The street itself has lots of shops and places to get a snack. A little noisy, but I found that to be the case in all of Spain. The owner is really nice and helpful. The place's website is just in Spanish and French, but the owner speaks English. There is an elevator. The room was nice and although the bathroom had a bit of a strange layout. The air-conditioning work fine. We had our own keys to get in and out of the building, which is not always the case, but extremely practical if you like to be out late. One of the best hostals we stayed at. Definitely recommended!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Residencia Ziri
Residencia Ziri
#36 of 95 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Almona
Hotel Almona
#35 of 95 in Granada
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#16 of 95 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Apartamentos Venecia
#15 of 95 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Albaicín
Hostal Londres
Hostal Londres
#22 of 95 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Alcazaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Alcazaba

Property: Pension Alcazaba
Address: Calle San Juan de Dios 38, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Alcazaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing