We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Meridiano Hostel Granada
Ranked #67 of 96 Granada B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. We had a private double room (shared bathroom). The room itself was clean, with cupboard space and aircon. Shared bathrooms were adequate, if a bit small. Wi-fi was available, but did not work in our room, so we had to access it in the common room. I heard that it works in the dorms though. Location was good, really close to the bus stop for the Alhambra. Unlike what it says on Hostelbookers reception is 24h, and we found somebody there at all times. I've read a number of reviews saying the staff were never available, but we didn't have this problem. In fact, the guy who checked us in (Rasmus sp?), was really friendly and helpful, which made the whole stay better. Overall, this was our cheapest double room in Spain, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    13
    12
    10
See reviews for
6
18
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

we where last year in hostal meridiano it was verry nice and verry clean. our stay there was lovley and the ouwner where very friendly and helpfull. now we travel again to spain and to granada but hostal meridiano is not the same it is now so different. they are helpfull too but it is not clean and you have to share the room´s with many other people and it is loud.sorry, but i don´t recomended more this hostal

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mague37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Granada hotels

Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights but wanted to leave Granada after 2. The room was very clean as was the bathroom (not shared). The price was good as was the location. The problem was they only give you one key and we are two people who often split up which caused many logistical nightmares. The staff are never around....not even in the building. The live off of the first floor and to reach them you have to buzz from downstairs...I often felt like I was bothering them or annoying them. We wanted to check out on the Sunday but no one was around...we couldn't leave for Malaga when we wanted!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicwaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

I initially decided to visit Granada for 3 days but then extended it to a week, then to 2 and eventually it became nearly one month! The entire time, I stayed at Hostal Meridiano and possibly my affordable and accessible accommodations had something to do with my extended stay in this fabulous city! The pension is run by a very friendly, helpful and hospitable family. The building is extremely clean and all amenities are available to guests, from quiet quarters, to clean bathrooms, to internet, to a central location. As a guest at pension Meridiano, one has privacy and independence to come and go at will in a secure building in the very center of town. A two minute walk leads to piazzas with outdoor cafes and restaurants. A five minute walk brings you to the central cathedral and the main street of Granada. A ten minute walk brings you to the heart of the ancient Moorish town and in a half hour you can be at the gates of the Alhambra! I had a tastefully furnished, modest single room with bed, desk, bookshelf, wardrobe, fan, sink and mirror. There were two bathrooms down the corridor but although these were shared with other guests, they were always sparkling clean and available! Pension Meridiano is a great place to call home while in Granada and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Granada.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albaicinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2008

I arrived in Hostal Meridiano for a three night stay in november 2007. The hostal is situated in the city center, although the street is very calm and quiet. The house is very beautiful and very Andalusian, but the problem is that, differently from other hostals in Granada, this one has three floors and no lift, so if you have lots of bags (like I did, cos I was travelling trough Spain), it can be a nightmare. Also, there is the problem of the staff: they are never in the reception area! When I arrived, it was pretty cold and I had to stay in the front door waiting for at least 1 hour for them to open to me. This happens all the time, and sometimes you want to have a sleep or watch quietly the tv, and you cant, because there are people on the front door ringing the bell. Also, because they are never there, if you want to ask them any information about the city, or the buses, It's impossible, you have to be on you own. And when the staff finally arrive, it's always in a hurry, no more than 5 minutes to check you in and receive the money. The shared bathroom was very clean and there is a cleaning lady for the rooms. They also have free internet acess in two shared computers and even though my notebook detected wi-fi under their name, they say they don't have one!

POSITIVE ASPECTS: nice location, typical Andalusian house, price, very clean shared bathroom and rooms.

NEGATIVE ASPECTS: STAFF, STAFF, STAFF!!! No staff all day.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailaoraenloquecida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

This pension was extremely well priced. I paid 18 euros a night, for a single with shared bath, in mid-June. The room was not air conditioned (although I understand that some of the more expensive rooms do have air conditioning). It was on a very quiet street, I heard no traffic noise. However, sound from the other rooms in the place really echoed on the tile floors- a little worse noise than most places in spain I encountered. The shared bathroom (actually, there were two bathrooms for about 8 rooms to share) was kept quite clean. The location was fine for me, a block or two walk to cafes/restaurants, about 8 blocks NW of the cathedral (I wouldn't say it's good walking distance to the Alhambra, you could walk it, but I'd recommend taking a bus). One problem was that I arrived at the hostal at lunch time (2 pm) and noone answered the door for about 2 hours, so I was stuck on the street with my luggage for a while. Once I got in, though, the staff was nice. I'd recommend this place if you are on a budget.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Noise in the hallways
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lovriena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2007

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights in August 2006. This was
a very good hostel. We paid 32 euros per night. It was well decorated, clean, friendly staff (women speaks English) in an excellent location. It has AC and TV. No kitchen and it is extra for laundry. Bathrooms renovated and free Internet access. Beautiful relaxing stay. Very enjoyable. This is more like an hotel except some
rooms share bathrooms. Little café down the street for breakfast (5 euros). I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Liked — Charming
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Reina Cristina Hotel
Reina Cristina Hotel
#76 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Alhambra Zoom
Alhambra Zoom
#65 of 138 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Zurita
Pension Zurita
#17 of 96 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Barbieri Granada Hostel
Barbieri Granada Hostel
#76 of 138 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Pension Castil
#15 of 96 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Home Granada
Home Granada
#39 of 138 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Meridiano Hostel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Meridiano Hostel Granada

Property: Funky Meridiano Hostel Granada
Address: Calle Angulo 9, 18002 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Funky Meridiano Hostel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing