We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Great location if you are in town to visit Alhambra ... Clean hotel and everyone is friendly

Parking is easy if you are driving

Alhambra is a short drive or walk away

Its a bit of a distance to get to the centre of town however. And driving around Granada is trickyyy ... Especially with restricted roads


Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hammer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room with a large terrace not realising it overlooks a busy road junction and the back of a hill, no worthwhile view available. Rooms are small but nicely decorated. The bus service even on easter Sunday was excellent, the receptionist didn't explain very well, 3 times where it was, but actually you walk for 2 minutes to the left and there is a bus stop. No 33 takes you right through town for 1.20 euros and the taxi back at 2am was only 7,20 euros. The location isn't really a problem. Good sleep quality, no sound from other rooms, wasn't busy though. Unfortunately the breakfast buffet is terrible, at first sight it has all you could wish for, but having spent almost 3 years living in Andalucía, it is a surprise to find such terrible coffee, orange juice, jamón, churros, very poor quality. DO NOT RECOMMEND!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank samgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I spent two nights in this hotel. It is suitable for families and if you are traveling by car. Staff are helful and honest. Thus us the only hotel in spain that I take breakfast, as staff at reception gave me a good price for the kids, on the other hand in other hotel in Cordoba, receptionist asked me to pay full breakfast adult price for the kids. Room in the hotel are clean and comfortable. kids and family liked this hotel. Family opinion, this hotel is the best one in this trip where we stayed in five hotels. Car parking is not an issue. There are two choices, either to park in the paid secure hotel park or on the street for free, I choose the second options and saved about 20 euro. Bus stop is on the door step of the hotel to the left less than two minutes walk. You can travel to Granada centre on bus number 33 for 1 euro and 20 cente for an adult and kids are free. Alhambra palace is 5 minutes by car. I paid 11 euro for 5 hours car parkin in the Alhambra palace. Please do not miss visiting Alcaiseria old market and Albycin quarter. I think Granada is the best of Alandulcia cities, one can live in the old past, history is well preserved, people are more welcoming and tolerant.

Only negative issue, is not kettle and tea facilities in the room.
This is the same in other hotel in spain.

Room Tip: My room was in the 5th floor, it is like a small apartment with two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tawfik_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Okay, the hotel is not in the city centre but if you cant use a map when you book a hotel then you are a useless human being. We knew where it was and knew a bus would get us into town and that was what we wanted.

- The buses are 1.20 Euros into town and the same again to the Alhambra. Both take 5-10 minutes at most and are clean and modern. Seriously, no drama at all.

- The reception staff were professional when checking us in and explained where the bus stop was (40m from hotel entrance). That was all we needed them for.

- The room (2nd floor) was comfortable, the bathroom very clean and modern although a bit cramped but water temperature was consistent. TV reception a bit poor in our room. I found the free wifi to work perfectly in all areas of the hotel and it was quick enough to watch youtube etc.

- The breakfast was vast. Lots of breads, cereals, fruits. The cooked breakfast was a bit.....spanish. There was also a good selection of juices, fruit, teas and coffee all good. They even had fresh churros, pancakes and waffles. Service was attentive, cutlery replaced in seconds etc.

- The hotel is so easy to find, just off the motorway. The parking is cheap compared to others in the city. Its going to cost money because there isnt much parking in the city.

- The bar was not overpriced and the barman friendly.

Others seem to have complained about the air con, but we found our room to be a bit cold and put the heating on and in 30 minutes it was warmed up perfectly.

I'd stay there again, and for the money paid I think it was very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theonelikefranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just creeps in at a 4*, rooms a tad on the small side.
It's location for the Alhambra and also the Sierra Nevada mountain range is perfect.
Not having to drive into the centre of Granada with the narrow streets was good. The restaurant / bar to the left of the hotel, right next to the No 33 (into the centre) bus stop, was fantastic, great food and service

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was really disappointed with this hotel. Except for the lobby, this hotel is completely overrated and should never ever be a 4-star hotel. Staff (though not unfriendly) were sloppy and uncaring. We were in Granada in the winter (beginning of January) and the temperature would reach around 14ºC during the day. The room was HOT since the sun was shining on the window all day long. Really, really hot and uncomfortable. We called the front desk and asked for help in turning the heat off and they said that there was no individual temperature control. That´s absolutely unacceptable for a so called 4-star hotel. They sent someone to the room to unlock the window which, for safety reasons, would only open a little bit. The window was huge and very low and it was very disturbing to have it completely open. In addition to a real risk of fall, I did not pay high price to have bugs coming into my apartment because we couldn´t turn the AC on.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

A nice hotel outside of the city center. We had a nice, clean room on the ground floor towards the back with a private patio area which was great for a relaxing lunch. Even though the hotel is outside of town, there is a bus stop right in front that gets you into the center quickly and taxis are not expensive either. There are not any restaurants or shops close by, seems to be a residential and business area. With the lack of local eating places, we ate at the hotel and found the food to be very good, we especially enjoyed the Paella (make sure you order it in advance, takes 40 minutes to prepare). The breakfast buffet was very nice with the typical selections. We splurged on the Arabic Baths located in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. They have all the various temperature pools and the crushed ice rub, quite invigorating. We also booked the full 1 hour massage which was outstanding as well. The nice part of doing this at the hotel was that afterwards we just went up to the room and relaxed before dinner

Room Tip: We liked our room with the outside terrace, great for lunches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LomitaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Andalucia Center Hotel
#53 of 122 in Granada
486 reviews
Zaidín - Vergeles
Saray Hotel
Saray Hotel
#39 of 122 in Granada
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Granada
#26 of 122 in Granada
808 reviews
Abades Nevada Palace
#74 of 122 in Granada
764 reviews
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#49 of 122 in Granada
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $68 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing