We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feb 1-3 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #31 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Feb 1-3 2013”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel was really nice, with the staff friendly and helpful. We got there at midnight, lost.. The staff were patient and guided me to the hotel. The location was very convenient given it was close to the Alhambra and Sierra Nevada. Would definitely stay there again. Very much worth the money; inexpensive yet very modern. The beds were a bit hard compared to what I'm used to, but the overall room was very warm, spacious, and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    640
    194
    37
    10
See reviews for
360
690
36
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Second visit to this hotel and it is great value. It is great for mixed party of skiers and non skiers; convenient for the slopes and a short bus ride into Granada for sight seeing etc. The restaurant was pretty empty and lacked a bit of atmosphere but the food was adequate. Lovely city with friendly people. Tours groups do tend to stay there in the winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JammyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here on the basis of good reviews here. Stayed in Granada specifically for skiing in Sierra Nevada, and would definitely do this again. The accommodation in Sierra looks very expensive for what you get. This hotel was right on the foot of the mountains so ideal if you have a car, 30 min to get to Sierra. We went on a very busy weekend in January, left at 7.50 on sat and 8.20 on sunday, and had no problems with parking etc in Sierra.
I had read this before but didnt understand until we did it, but it is SO easy to miss the turnoff for the hotel. At the end of themotorway, after coming through the tunnel, KEEP LEFT. The split in the road comes on very fast after the tunnel, and its difficult to get back at after you miss it (If you dont know where you are going). We also missed the turnoff on the way back from Sierra Nevada (D'oh!).
The hotel itself was really nice, rooms are good clean quality, especially for what I paid (Less than €100 for 2 weekend nights for 2 ppl). REception was very slow though though. We also paid for the Arabic baths, which to be honest, are not really worth it. You are basically paying for stuff which is usually free in a lot of hotels - basically consists of a hot bath, a cold bath, a jacuzzi and a steam room. Woman working there had no english (just saying, not complaining!), which I find strange for a hotel for tourists.Got a deal for €14 each (normally €22), but really not worth it.
Had dinner there one of the nights - adequate, but wouldnt be rushing back there. Service was slow, food was only alright. Costs €7-8 in a taxi to middle of GRanada, had a fabulous meal the second night in town.
Overall, well worth it, would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eimearsull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently spent nearly a week here. The hotel is located at the end of a motorway, which is not as bad as it sounds but also explains its popularity with coach tours.

The location is no bother if you have a car. Parking in Granada can be problematic so jumping on the 33 bus or waking the rather pleasant 3.5km into the city was no hassle. At this time the hotel was not offering a shuttle bus service.

The staff were busy but friendly, willing to help whenever necessary.

We found the room heating was just a shade to weak for our comfort, but most would probably find it acceptable.

We had one meal at the restaurant, which was a mistake. Future travelers would most likely benefit from eating elsewhere. The food was overcooked and overpriced and when it came to settle the bill we were given another table's account.

The bar is a nice place to relax, with its open spaces. This is also where you will find the best WIFI internet connectivity. The signal in the rooms on the second floor was too weak to be of any use.

Breakfast is a buffet affair and is generally OK, we found the breads to be a little stale and the coffee far too sour.

Top Tip 1: arrive around 8:30 for breakfast. Things get busy from 9.30 onwards so you may have to wait a while to be seated.

The Arabic baths in the basement are fine, but be sure to look out for guest specials as the 21 Eur per person normal charge is not good value for money. We scored a 30 eur/couple deal which seemed more realistic.

Top Tip 2: as this hotel is not close to the Alhambra castle, you will need to catch a bus or drive - there is ample parking. We found that once at the site, if you are prepared to wait for 30 mins you can save yourself the additional 5 eur/person booking fee that the online service charges. Not sure if this strategy applies well in high season though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. You will get more space and more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank o0GlobeTrotter0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Accessible by car and regular city-centre bus this hotel provides great value. If you're vegetarian the only concern would be the limited vegetarian options (and understanding) in the restaurant but this was not a problem for us. Clean rooms, smart decor throughout and great staff. Use it with confidence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great hotel just outside the city centre. Really handy being ont he bus route to the centre or a 20 minute walk away. We ate in the bar, the food was delicious, the breakfast buffet had a good selection. I would not hesitate staying here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank UKF1Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

we were happy to stay at the macia real....although we had to get the bus into the city centre each day we didnt mind.....room was nice and clean..breakfast was good...staff were helpful. however if its quick access to food and activity this hotel will not suit you..it is isolated about 3k from the city centre.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarrakechGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Saray Hotel
#33 of 122 in Granada
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abades Nevada Palace
#70 of 122 in Granada
725 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#30 of 122 in Granada
2,164 reviews
Andalucia Center Hotel
#49 of 122 in Granada
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Property: Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing