We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #37 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel makes a good impression on the outside and in main lobby area. However, after you enter the room and visit pool/bar area you will soon realize that the potential has not been realized. The place lacks warmth, lacks character and soul. Pool is claustrophobic, not enough area to lay around, no indication where one can get a towel, bartender from nearby bar doesn't come around to see if you want to order, plastic chairs everywhere. Rooms while modern could do without ugly old carpeting, A/C switches off and does not kick back in until room is way too hot or until you touch the thermostat dial. Front desk staff does not seem interested in recommending you places to visit or eat simply recommending their own place.

WiFi while free is a joke. Speed is mostly very slow with moments of ok speed.

Location is great for those who want to visit Alahambra and bus nr.33 will take you to center of Granada in 15 mins. Stop is just 2-3 mins around corner.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaroG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed for family wedding prebooking but were given a standard room without balcony.
These are extra but the balcony is in shade for much of the day. The standard rooms although adequate are only just big enough for a couple. The reception needs sharpening up... I was ignored on arrival while staff chatted and I saw this repeated. The pool is adequate but can be v crowded. The 21 person limit is not followed. However the hotel position is excellent, breakfast large and enjoyable. Their internet access is v poor, but they say they hope to improve it. Their price makes it excellent value despite the shortcomings. Late night weddings are v noisy and go on until 5am. Balcony rooms are on the quieter side of the hotel

Room Tip: The balconies make the rooms better, and provide privacy, but the view is poor
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProspectGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The rooms were very clean and also large. Breakfast is served in the pleasant and comfortable dining room and offers a reasonable choice..
There are several problems on the down side. The air conditioning hardly copes although it was slightly better when we moved down to the fourth floor from the sixth. There are only two drawers in the room so if you stay for more than a few nights you have to use your suitcases as well. The hangars are the Chinese puzzle type which proclaim you are presumed to be a thief. The plumbing cannot cope with a slow trickle for a shower and a long time to run a bath. The location is hopeless. To visit the Alhambra, walk into town or find a restaurant you need a taxi each time.

Room Tip: It gets cooler as you get lower.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We arrived, using bus 33 which stops opposite the hotel. We found the reception staff a little curt but their English was better than our Spanish! A very modern, airy, clean and quiet hotel. The pool was perfect for re-charging our batteries from the busy morning sightseeing before heading out to explore the city in the evening. The bar staff were very friendly and their service excellent. The breakfast buffet was superb, great value and good quality food. An array of hot &cold dishes, fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices, breads, pastries, cold meat, cheeses..........never seemingly running out!

We took the No 13 bus (which stops slightly up the hill from the hotel) straight to Alhambra and arrived in good time for our 8.30am booked slot.

In the evening the last bus (No33) can get you back to the hotel by 11.30 but if you miss it the taxi is very resonable. Great tapas sampled in the city centre. A must is to walk up to sacremento in the evening (much cooler then), it takes about an 1 hour, at a meandering pace, to reach it from the Cathedral. Then wander back, via a gaze of the Alhambra at sunset, sampling various tapas at the numerous bars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manthatcan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

At first this hotel looked pretty nice. This hotel is located in the outskirts of Granada with easy access car or bus to downtown and the Alhambra.

Hotel looks pretty new but not well cared for it seems. When we arrived on july 18th around 18:00 the Hotel only had one reception staff to great us. No concierge to answer our questions (the clerk at the reception was too busy to answer out question) And no bell boy for the luggage.

On that same night, the reception clerk did not want to give us towels for pool cause said it closed at 8pm “it was a quarter two” but we just wanted a quick dip so went anyways and used our room towels after 20h10 pool was still open with people in it and brochure in room said pool closed at 22h.

The brochure says that the hotel has an indoor pool also but this one is part of the Arab bath’s and you must pay.

Unfortunately the first day of our visit the Arab baths where close because they had mechanical failure and not sure when it would open again.

OUR ROOM (211): When we check in our room with terrace it has a dirty toilet bowl, stained toilet paper role with brown substance and broken shower head. Our terrace also had a few cigarette buts scattered on the floor.

Staff did not have time too answer all our questions we need to come back when he is less busy (very lousy answers). Every question we asked seemed painful for him.

The next day we complained to the manager of all this and they did upgrade us (we did not ask) to a suite because they wanted to inspect our old room. We accepted. Also that day (Tuesday) the hotel now had a concierge, 2 clerks at front desk and a bell boy. I guess Monday’s are single staff day. They also offered us a fruit plate with a bottle of water. Starting Tuesday AM the service and rook got better. BEWARE that the JUNIOR suite terraces on the TOP floors are EXTREMLY LIT at night. (Impossible to watch the sky). The normal room with terrace are perfectly fine (no big lights) and in our opinion are a way better option that the suite.

Conclusion nice recent hotel with easy access quite but lacks a little caring and staff. I really don’t understand their 4 star rating cause in my book a 4 star hotel has bell boys for luggage, concierge to answer questions etc. Here only one person at front desk.

WIFI worked VERY sporadically. When we asked what was the problem they said they have issues with the supplier. SO DON’T EXPECT WIFI unless they fixed it.

We will most likely not go to this property when we return to Granada in may 2012.

Room Tip: Room with terrace (Not junior suite).
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SensDuVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This very modern and sophisticated hotel is extremely easy to get to if driving to Granada. The motorway into Granada ends at the circle at which the hotel is situated. The Alhambra is close by and a bus runs regularly into town and picks up outside. There is ample parking in the lot underneath the hotel.. The front desk staff were very welcoming and most helpful with all our inquiries and always a pleasant smile. A large airy lobby and tastefully decorated lounge areas with a large comfortable tv area on the second floor where a group was watching sports. We did not visit the bar but the cocktail list looked like the bartender knows what he is doing. Tapas are available. Our room was very clean and very comfortable with a really well designed and well equipped modern bathroom. Breakfast the next morning was so amazing that even now I am salivating to remember the spread of foods. Standard breakfast fare of eggs meats etc. was just a very small part of it. Lots of fresh fruit like figs and tiny delicate apricots. A nice selection of cheeses and jambon including a soft baked cheeses dish like a savory flan that was delicious. The bread and pastry table was separate and made me sigh.. Great self service and easy to use espresso machine produced a rich brew. I admit I ate about six plates of food but then I was not hungry until dinner.
We reserved a guided tour of the Alhambra that picked us up at the hotel and dropped us back in the afternoon where we were ready to hit the road with no hassle. The tour was worth every penny.
We did use public transportation the day before to tour the city and sample the tapas. The tapas of Granada must be experienced and the bus unfortunately stopped running a little too early as most places don't open until 8. We did manage to get to quite a few in the three hours before our coach turned into a pumpkin. Our favourite was right at the foot of the Alhambra,near the muslin quarter. Bodegas, c/ Elvira 61 where Mohammed and Rashid dazzled us with their seafood tapas.
I was very happy with my stay here, and apart from having to drag myself away from the lively tapas scene to catch the bus I had no complaints. Of course had we really wished to party on we could have taken a taxi. The convenience of this hotel to anyone on a road trip is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyAga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very modern hotel about a ten minute bus ride from the Cathedral and city centre.

Rooms were quite large, very modern and comfortable with blissfully quiet aircon.  Only downside was wifi on the third floor was very patchy and mostly non existent.

Pool area was very nice and shaded in the afternoon so a great place to escape the summer heat.  All public spaces were very pleasant and modern.

It's a big hotel which seems to take coach tours so at times reception was quite busy.  However we found staff to be very pleasant and spoke reasonably good English.

Location was convenient for the very short drive up the hill to the Alhambra, and the number 33 bus to town leaves just 100 metres to the left of the hotel and costs just €1.20 for the ten minute ride to town.

We parked one night in the paid parking garage (much more spacious than many of the places we have parked) and also found parking in nearby streets on another night.

All in all a good option for Granada.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twofortheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Abades Nevada Palace
#73 of 122 in Granada
749 reviews
Zaidín - Vergeles
Saray Hotel
Saray Hotel
#36 of 122 in Granada
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Carmen Granada
#42 of 122 in Granada
1,406 reviews
Andalucia Center Hotel
#48 of 122 in Granada
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $50 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing