We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low staff and dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

At first this hotel looked pretty nice. This hotel is located in the outskirts of Granada with easy access car or bus to downtown and the Alhambra.

Hotel looks pretty new but not well cared for it seems. When we arrived on july 18th around 18:00 the Hotel only had one reception staff to great us. No concierge to answer our questions (the clerk at the reception was too busy to answer out question) And no bell boy for the luggage.

On that same night, the reception clerk did not want to give us towels for pool cause said it closed at 8pm “it was a quarter two” but we just wanted a quick dip so went anyways and used our room towels after 20h10 pool was still open with people in it and brochure in room said pool closed at 22h.

The brochure says that the hotel has an indoor pool also but this one is part of the Arab bath’s and you must pay.

Unfortunately the first day of our visit the Arab baths where close because they had mechanical failure and not sure when it would open again.

OUR ROOM (211): When we check in our room with terrace it has a dirty toilet bowl, stained toilet paper role with brown substance and broken shower head. Our terrace also had a few cigarette buts scattered on the floor.

Staff did not have time too answer all our questions we need to come back when he is less busy (very lousy answers). Every question we asked seemed painful for him.

The next day we complained to the manager of all this and they did upgrade us (we did not ask) to a suite because they wanted to inspect our old room. We accepted. Also that day (Tuesday) the hotel now had a concierge, 2 clerks at front desk and a bell boy. I guess Monday’s are single staff day. They also offered us a fruit plate with a bottle of water. Starting Tuesday AM the service and rook got better. BEWARE that the JUNIOR suite terraces on the TOP floors are EXTREMLY LIT at night. (Impossible to watch the sky). The normal room with terrace are perfectly fine (no big lights) and in our opinion are a way better option that the suite.

Conclusion nice recent hotel with easy access quite but lacks a little caring and staff. I really don’t understand their 4 star rating cause in my book a 4 star hotel has bell boys for luggage, concierge to answer questions etc. Here only one person at front desk.

WIFI worked VERY sporadically. When we asked what was the problem they said they have issues with the supplier. SO DON’T EXPECT WIFI unless they fixed it.

We will most likely not go to this property when we return to Granada in may 2012.

Room Tip: Room with terrace (Not junior suite).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SensDuVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

This very modern and sophisticated hotel is extremely easy to get to if driving to Granada. The motorway into Granada ends at the circle at which the hotel is situated. The Alhambra is close by and a bus runs regularly into town and picks up outside. There is ample parking in the lot underneath the hotel.. The front desk staff were very welcoming and most helpful with all our inquiries and always a pleasant smile. A large airy lobby and tastefully decorated lounge areas with a large comfortable tv area on the second floor where a group was watching sports. We did not visit the bar but the cocktail list looked like the bartender knows what he is doing. Tapas are available. Our room was very clean and very comfortable with a really well designed and well equipped modern bathroom. Breakfast the next morning was so amazing that even now I am salivating to remember the spread of foods. Standard breakfast fare of eggs meats etc. was just a very small part of it. Lots of fresh fruit like figs and tiny delicate apricots. A nice selection of cheeses and jambon including a soft baked cheeses dish like a savory flan that was delicious. The bread and pastry table was separate and made me sigh.. Great self service and easy to use espresso machine produced a rich brew. I admit I ate about six plates of food but then I was not hungry until dinner.
We reserved a guided tour of the Alhambra that picked us up at the hotel and dropped us back in the afternoon where we were ready to hit the road with no hassle. The tour was worth every penny.
We did use public transportation the day before to tour the city and sample the tapas. The tapas of Granada must be experienced and the bus unfortunately stopped running a little too early as most places don't open until 8. We did manage to get to quite a few in the three hours before our coach turned into a pumpkin. Our favourite was right at the foot of the Alhambra,near the muslin quarter. Bodegas, c/ Elvira 61 where Mohammed and Rashid dazzled us with their seafood tapas.
I was very happy with my stay here, and apart from having to drag myself away from the lively tapas scene to catch the bus I had no complaints. Of course had we really wished to party on we could have taken a taxi. The convenience of this hotel to anyone on a road trip is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyAga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very modern hotel about a ten minute bus ride from the Cathedral and city centre.

Rooms were quite large, very modern and comfortable with blissfully quiet aircon.  Only downside was wifi on the third floor was very patchy and mostly non existent.

Pool area was very nice and shaded in the afternoon so a great place to escape the summer heat.  All public spaces were very pleasant and modern.

It's a big hotel which seems to take coach tours so at times reception was quite busy.  However we found staff to be very pleasant and spoke reasonably good English.

Location was convenient for the very short drive up the hill to the Alhambra, and the number 33 bus to town leaves just 100 metres to the left of the hotel and costs just €1.20 for the ten minute ride to town.

We parked one night in the paid parking garage (much more spacious than many of the places we have parked) and also found parking in nearby streets on another night.

All in all a good option for Granada.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twofortheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I don't understand the point of this hotel. It's way out of town (a decent bus ride to the Cathedral), but despite its name, it's not close to the Alhambra (you'll want to take the bus; the distance is maybe not so far, but it's up a steep hill--if you're fit and it's not summer you could walk, I guess, but it's a long hike).

As a hotel, it's all shiny and new, big minimalist spaces, excellent condition, well appointed spacious rooms. It suffers from what seem to be common failings in hotels in Spain (compared, say, to Italy); not especially good language knowledge by front desk staff, the hotel as a whole feels under-staffed, and meal times are inflexible. It observes the Spanish eating hours, which are much later than most people's; this is natural (it's in Spain, duh), except that it's aiming for an international market, and there's nowhere near-by to get a quick feed if your schedule means you can't fit into local patterns. There's a bar where you're supposed to be ably to get snacks, but we had varying luck with trying that. The restaurant food we found mostly pretty good, except for the night we got some really elderly turbot.

If you find you're booked in here on a tour, or if you really need somewhere to park the car out of Granada, there's nothing wrong with it. But if you want to see the city, there are other choices actually in town (some run by the same chain) which will put you much closer to the city, and are no further away from the Alhambra. In the Macia Real, you're a long way from anywhere, and unlike an American hotel in the same class, you are NOT in a little self-contained, all-sufficient hotel-womb.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Front desk service pretty average - understaffed and a bit cranky and restaurant just OK however overall service, rooms, comfort, pool, wifi and location very good. I didn't really feel I was in a business hotel - a little away fro Granada centre and Alhambra but quite like the peace and quiet and city and palace easy to get to (we walked everywhere). Just remembered, coffee is also bad ... But even if you have a caffeine addiction would still recommend it (particularly in very hot weather) but be prepared to tolerate slow and a bit of carelessness (or perhaps attitude) from some of the front desk service.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Business type hotel - rather busy reception area (took us 15 minutes to check in).
Only inside breakfast possible - excellent buffet though
Garage to be paid (9 eur/night)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvodbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had a long and exhausting trip and some trouble with the search of the hotel, one of the reasons was that we were looking for "Hotel Macia Real", but the sign outside says "Real de la Alhambra". Furthermore, our navigation system did not know the street or the hotel at all.

Finally, the search was worth it and I had a great sleep!! The hotel is not luxury, but clean and soooo comfortable! The building is modern and spacious. The location is ideal for a visit to the Alhambra and the city. Luckily, we were able to spontaneously book another night. The staff is friendly, the bar and food is very good. If you do not need to stay directly in the city centre, I can very well recommend this place!

Room Tip: There is a roundabout directly in the front of the hotel, it is not very disturbing, but you could a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanninana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Andalucia Center Hotel
#54 of 122 in Granada
483 reviews
Zaidín - Vergeles
Saray Hotel
Saray Hotel
#39 of 122 in Granada
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abades Nevada Palace
#74 of 122 in Granada
758 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#26 of 122 in Granada
805 reviews
Hotel Cerro Del Sol
#65 of 122 in Granada
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $65 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing