We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Bocanegra
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Suecia(Granada)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Azahar Hostal(Granada)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Alhambra Palace Hotel(Granada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Molinos(Granada)
View Hotel
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
18
30
32
16
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
30
32
16
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble roomhostelspaincentrecityalhambrabus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 125 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed there 1 night.

The location is ok, at a walking distance to the city center. There is a supermaket (Supercor) in the "Paseo de La Bomba" .

The room had a bunk bed, but it was comfortable. It was a bit small and the decoration simple. There was one large bathroom in the floor, with many toilets and showers. The toilets are extremely small, where a large person would have some troubles fitting. There is also a kitchen, with a table, stove, fridge, etc.

There is a common room in the ground floor.

In general the hostal is clean.

Staff was nice.

Payed 22€ for a double room.

Would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hostal is not recommended unless you want to freeze in your sleep (no heater), you want to find vomit not been cleaned up all over the place, you want a restroom in which you do not fit, a room that does not look like any of the pictures and in which you hear If a fruit flie is fliying in the room next room,or finding that they treat you badly If you invite any friends over for a cup of tea.
My advice is to look for a place that it is more honest on what they say they offer, we were so disappointed. Hope my advice is useful and helps you not to make the same mistake we did.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stood at this inn for three nights cause we had paid for it, but we would have left it on the first one!! See those fancy rooms showing up on their website? Well those are FAR AWAY from the real thing! We booked one of those and we got the crappiest room ever!! Our room was an old half-dismantled bathroom, with most of the pipes and the rests of an old shower still lying around. The walls are thinner than paper and it is really cold in there! Also the bathrooms are tiny. In conclussion: I DON'T RECOMEND IT AT ALL! not even for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzalo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

OK, so Posada Bocanegra won't suit everyone, but if you match the following criteria, it's worth a try:
- do you need a cheap, no-frills place to stay in Granada within easy reach of the centre and the Alhambra?
- are you past the partying stage but not yet at the 'comforts of home' stage?
- are you prepared to compromise? It's cheap for a reason! The owners are trying to improve things on a very tight budget. Make sure you think "hostel" not "hotel".

To explain - I stayed there for a week in April 2013 - I wanted a cheap place to stay near the Alhambra so I could make several visits to photograph it. It's easy walking distance unless you are seriously unfit or lazy (if either of these is true, or you have some other need (like heavy photo gear), jump on the #13 bus from the stop round the corner - it'll take you almost to the parking lots at the Alhambra and it's a gentle three minute downhill stroll from there - €1.20 in April 2013)

The staff do indeed seem hard to get hold of, until I discovered that one of the doorbells didn't really work (there are two); that the manager has to hold down two jobs and so can only really guarantee being at the hostal after 2pm; and that the cleaner was HUGELY pregnant and so they were under pressure. Once you get to know them, they are wonderfully friendly (as is often the case in Spain), and are trying to improve the quality of the hostel as fast as they can.

So, here's my honest appraisal - the rooms are small but clean and perfectly adequate for a short stay if you're not expecting 5* luxury. The downstairs doubles have en-suites (small and simple, but the showers have plenty of hot water) and there is a disabled-friendly room (with an en-suite wet room with wheelchair access - although the entrance corridor to the hostel is narrow and not flat (steps and changes in level - but that applies to the whole of Granada!). Some of the downstairs rooms are dark, but about half are bright and airy - given current occupancy rates you should have no trouble asking for and getting one of these.

Upstairs, the rooms have bunks - again, they're small and basic and the walls are thin, so if the place is full (unlikely) you might want to ask to be in a room next to an empty dorm. There's a small, basic but functional kitchen at one end, next to the showers/toilets - if you are unlucky and get a noisy nocturnal group in, you might be better off in a dorm at the opposite end of the corridor - but in my experience no-one really used the kitchen much. Again, to me this is the risk you take in a hostel - I only experienced one vaguely noisy night, and my earplugs meant I slept like a baby.

Each room/dorm has a mirror, a chair, a small desk, sockets/outlets, and either shelving, a cupboard or enough space to stash backpacks/cases. They are not rooms to 'hang out' in - hence the price.

The showers and toilets are too cramped unless you are a hobbit - the owners know this, but they didn't build the place and until they can refurbish it, they're stuck with them. There is plenty of hot water and pressure, and they are clean. If you don't keep the shower curtain inside the shower, yes, you will flood the floor. If you are in fact a hobbit, you will not be able to reach the red tap that turns the water on. Use the Ring, maybe?

Towels and bed-linen are old and tired, but clean. The manager bleaches towels between uses (I saw), so even if they look shabby, I can vouch for their lack of germs. If you have your 'hostel head' on - bring a towel! And while you're at it, a sheet sleeping bag - you'll get a fresh bedsheet and a faded heavy blanket, but if you want to reassure yourself, why not? If you're staying several nights (and there is enough to do in Granada to warrant that), ask for a fresh towel/linen and you will no doubt get given some.

There is free wifi, but it's flaky - to be fair, in my experience most wifi in Spain is flaky. It's good enough to check email and get your other social fixes though. I found a few free wifi hotspots around town too (use your wifi-finding apps on that smart phone of yours!)

There is a communal PC in the lounge area downstairs, along with a pool table and seating. If you're part of a group, it's probably the best place to hang out while you plan your day or wait for late risers - if you're on your own, try the kitchen upstairs (which has a small dining area next to it) instead and practice your Spanish.

There is a washing-machine and dryer, but they are apparently temperamental and you need to ask the manager to use them - I went 'old school' and hand-washed stuff - it dried in no time on the little balcony outside my room, and I spent the couple of euros I saved on cheap liquor - oh yeah, Tarantino eat your heart out!

Speak Spanish - you're in Spain! The manager actually speaks extremely good English, but it's polite to at least try. And if you ask, you will get information - it's just not volunteered, bed and breakfast crazy-eager-owner-style.

There's a 7/11 style shop/supermarket/'Spar' two minutes round the corner that sells everything you'll need for a short stay - tasty fresh warm bread is to the back on the left - open from first thing till late.

Parking - if you're coming by car, the wide flight of steps along to the left of the hostel entrance lead down to a dead-end street where you can park for free - just obey the signs and you won't get towed, and it's a short walk back to the front door. Granada's one-way system is a pain, so ditch the car as soon as you can is my advice.

In summary - you're not going to have eye-watering views of the Sierra Nevada from your quaint Moorish balcony, nor will you be in the heart of the Albayzin - but you're paying one tenth of the rate and you're still only a short walk from all that historic awesomeness. Spend what you save on an extra visit to the Alhambra, or stay three nights instead of one. I found Granada a friendly and interesting enough city to reward the extra time, and the longer I stayed, the more I realized how friendly the staff at Bocanegra actually are.

Plus, if you're veggie - walk along Calle Molinos (which will take you Plaza Nuevo where the tourists paying full whack are) and you'll pass a REALLY good falafel joint - perfect to stoke you for your city exploration.

Room Tip: Upstairs, rooms furthest from the kitchen/bathrooms are quietest. Downstairs, the rooms with ensuites vary in light levels and space - if you're booking online/by phone, mention that you would prefer a bright/light room. if it's busy and/or you don't get allocated a good ensuite, and you bear a night without your s/o snuggled alongside, you might actually prefer being upstairs in bunks - ask to see both and decide.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maxwell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

First of all. It´s one of the most outside hostel´s in Granada. OK, by walking you are in the old-town in around 5-10 minutes. But when you come to granada to make party, chose another hostel.
we arrived on a friday round about 2 p.m. at the hostel and have to wait over one hour (!!) that we can do the check in. next thing, you can´t pay with credit card. the room was quite ok. three bed room for two was ok, but i actually sleept much more comfortable.
but what was really bad, there isn´t anybody in the hostel, in the lobby and around. no people sitting around to talk. no wi-fi. just boring.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basti_2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada J, Gerente at Hostal Bocanegra, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho que hayan tenido esta experiencia en nuestro hostal y a día de hoy hemos subsanado esos defectos de la casa y además disponemos de wifi gratuito en todo el hostal.
Esperamos verles en otra ocasión y disfruten de Granada en su mejor momento.
Un saludo
Atentamente

Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews