We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Hostal”
Review of Hostal Bocanegra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Bocanegra
Ranked #106 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Lisboa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cheap Hostal”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed there 1 night.

The location is ok, at a walking distance to the city center. There is a supermaket (Supercor) in the "Paseo de La Bomba" .

The room had a bunk bed, but it was comfortable. It was a bit small and the decoration simple. There was one large bathroom in the floor, with many toilets and showers. The toilets are extremely small, where a large person would have some troubles fitting. There is also a kitchen, with a table, stove, fridge, etc.

There is a common room in the ground floor.

In general the hostal is clean.

Staff was nice.

Payed 22€ for a double room.

Would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    31
    14
    22
See reviews for
8
46
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hostal is not recommended unless you want to freeze in your sleep (no heater), you want to find vomit not been cleaned up all over the place, you want a restroom in which you do not fit, a room that does not look like any of the pictures and in which you hear If a fruit flie is fliying in the room next room,or finding that they treat you badly If you invite any friends over for a cup of tea.
My advice is to look for a place that it is more honest on what they say they offer, we were so disappointed. Hope my advice is useful and helps you not to make the same mistake we did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Granada hotels

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stood at this inn for three nights cause we had paid for it, but we would have left it on the first one!! See those fancy rooms showing up on their website? Well those are FAR AWAY from the real thing! We booked one of those and we got the crappiest room ever!! Our room was an old half-dismantled bathroom, with most of the pipes and the rests of an old shower still lying around. The walls are thinner than paper and it is really cold in there! Also the bathrooms are tiny. In conclussion: I DON'T RECOMEND IT AT ALL! not even for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzalo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiar, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

OK, so Posada Bocanegra won't suit everyone, but if you match the following criteria, it's worth a try:
- do you need a cheap, no-frills place to stay in Granada within easy reach of the centre and the Alhambra?
- are you past the partying stage but not yet at the 'comforts of home' stage?
- are you prepared to compromise? It's cheap for a reason! The owners are trying to improve things on a very tight budget. Make sure you think "hostel" not "hotel".

To explain - I stayed there for a week in April 2013 - I wanted a cheap place to stay near the Alhambra so I could make several visits to photograph it. It's easy walking distance unless you are seriously unfit or lazy (if either of these is true, or you have some other need (like heavy photo gear), jump on the #13 bus from the stop round the corner - it'll take you almost to the parking lots at the Alhambra and it's a gentle three minute downhill stroll from there - €1.20 in April 2013)

The staff do indeed seem hard to get hold of, until I discovered that one of the doorbells didn't really work (there are two); that the manager has to hold down two jobs and so can only really guarantee being at the hostal after 2pm; and that the cleaner was HUGELY pregnant and so they were under pressure. Once you get to know them, they are wonderfully friendly (as is often the case in Spain), and are trying to improve the quality of the hostel as fast as they can.

So, here's my honest appraisal - the rooms are small but clean and perfectly adequate for a short stay if you're not expecting 5* luxury. The downstairs doubles have en-suites (small and simple, but the showers have plenty of hot water) and there is a disabled-friendly room (with an en-suite wet room with wheelchair access - although the entrance corridor to the hostel is narrow and not flat (steps and changes in level - but that applies to the whole of Granada!). Some of the downstairs rooms are dark, but about half are bright and airy - given current occupancy rates you should have no trouble asking for and getting one of these.

Upstairs, the rooms have bunks - again, they're small and basic and the walls are thin, so if the place is full (unlikely) you might want to ask to be in a room next to an empty dorm. There's a small, basic but functional kitchen at one end, next to the showers/toilets - if you are unlucky and get a noisy nocturnal group in, you might be better off in a dorm at the opposite end of the corridor - but in my experience no-one really used the kitchen much. Again, to me this is the risk you take in a hostel - I only experienced one vaguely noisy night, and my earplugs meant I slept like a baby.

Each room/dorm has a mirror, a chair, a small desk, sockets/outlets, and either shelving, a cupboard or enough space to stash backpacks/cases. They are not rooms to 'hang out' in - hence the price.

The showers and toilets are too cramped unless you are a hobbit - the owners know this, but they didn't build the place and until they can refurbish it, they're stuck with them. There is plenty of hot water and pressure, and they are clean. If you don't keep the shower curtain inside the shower, yes, you will flood the floor. If you are in fact a hobbit, you will not be able to reach the red tap that turns the water on. Use the Ring, maybe?

Towels and bed-linen are old and tired, but clean. The manager bleaches towels between uses (I saw), so even if they look shabby, I can vouch for their lack of germs. If you have your 'hostel head' on - bring a towel! And while you're at it, a sheet sleeping bag - you'll get a fresh bedsheet and a faded heavy blanket, but if you want to reassure yourself, why not? If you're staying several nights (and there is enough to do in Granada to warrant that), ask for a fresh towel/linen and you will no doubt get given some.

There is free wifi, but it's flaky - to be fair, in my experience most wifi in Spain is flaky. It's good enough to check email and get your other social fixes though. I found a few free wifi hotspots around town too (use your wifi-finding apps on that smart phone of yours!)

There is a communal PC in the lounge area downstairs, along with a pool table and seating. If you're part of a group, it's probably the best place to hang out while you plan your day or wait for late risers - if you're on your own, try the kitchen upstairs (which has a small dining area next to it) instead and practice your Spanish.

There is a washing-machine and dryer, but they are apparently temperamental and you need to ask the manager to use them - I went 'old school' and hand-washed stuff - it dried in no time on the little balcony outside my room, and I spent the couple of euros I saved on cheap liquor - oh yeah, Tarantino eat your heart out!

Speak Spanish - you're in Spain! The manager actually speaks extremely good English, but it's polite to at least try. And if you ask, you will get information - it's just not volunteered, bed and breakfast crazy-eager-owner-style.

There's a 7/11 style shop/supermarket/'Spar' two minutes round the corner that sells everything you'll need for a short stay - tasty fresh warm bread is to the back on the left - open from first thing till late.

Parking - if you're coming by car, the wide flight of steps along to the left of the hostel entrance lead down to a dead-end street where you can park for free - just obey the signs and you won't get towed, and it's a short walk back to the front door. Granada's one-way system is a pain, so ditch the car as soon as you can is my advice.

In summary - you're not going to have eye-watering views of the Sierra Nevada from your quaint Moorish balcony, nor will you be in the heart of the Albayzin - but you're paying one tenth of the rate and you're still only a short walk from all that historic awesomeness. Spend what you save on an extra visit to the Alhambra, or stay three nights instead of one. I found Granada a friendly and interesting enough city to reward the extra time, and the longer I stayed, the more I realized how friendly the staff at Bocanegra actually are.

Plus, if you're veggie - walk along Calle Molinos (which will take you Plaza Nuevo where the tourists paying full whack are) and you'll pass a REALLY good falafel joint - perfect to stoke you for your city exploration.

Room Tip: Upstairs, rooms furthest from the kitchen/bathrooms are quietest. Downstairs, the rooms with ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maxwell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg
Level Contributor
141 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

First of all. It´s one of the most outside hostel´s in Granada. OK, by walking you are in the old-town in around 5-10 minutes. But when you come to granada to make party, chose another hostel.
we arrived on a friday round about 2 p.m. at the hostel and have to wait over one hour (!!) that we can do the check in. next thing, you can´t pay with credit card. the room was quite ok. three bed room for two was ok, but i actually sleept much more comfortable.
but what was really bad, there isn´t anybody in the hostel, in the lobby and around. no people sitting around to talk. no wi-fi. just boring.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basti_2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada J, Gerente at Hostal Bocanegra, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Google Translation
Lamentamos mucho que hayan tenido esta experiencia en nuestro hostal y a día de hoy hemos subsanado esos defectos de la casa y además disponemos de wifi gratuito en todo el hostal.
Esperamos verles en otra ocasión y disfruten de Granada en su mejor momento.
Un saludo
Atentamente

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

My stay here began with the door locked at the hostel and no-one around. It was late at night and I was female and alone. It wasnt a great welcome to Spain. Yes the showers flood the ensuites and in turn the bedroom no matter what you do. The only mirror was in the bathroom which didnt have any natural light and was decorated in dark colours. The beds were covered in scratchy woolly blankets which were horrible and the hostel which I had seen advertised as being in the best part of town isnt - its not as central as they would have you believe. However, there is free internet and a book swap facility. Breakfast is included and the owner is sweet but I still wouldnt advise anyone to stay.

  • Liked — free internet
  • Disliked — most of it
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank posy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2007

A great student hostel. My fiancé and I stayed there 4 times this spring (2007). We're both 21. All we wanted was a cheap double bed to ourselves and hot water in the showers. Very cheap with breakfast included. The location is pretty good too. No towels or complimentary soap or shampoo, none of which we needed. It's run by one very nice guy who actually pronounced my name (Steve) incredibly well for a Spaniard. I recommend this hostel to anyone looking a for a great cheap place to sleep.

  • Liked — the value
  • Disliked — only one computer for internet acces, no wireless
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iccamba23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Atlantida
Pension Atlantida
#98 of 122 in Granada
69 reviews
Albero
#4 of 122 in Granada
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marinetto
#49 of 93 in Granada
12 reviews
Albaicín
Hostal El Cascabel
Hostal El Cascabel
#59 of 93 in Granada
13 reviews
The Martin House
#58 of 93 in Granada
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Bocanegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Bocanegra

Property: Hostal Bocanegra
Address: Cuesta Escoriaza 10, 18008 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Bocanegra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing