We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location, in the center of city (near with Cathedral)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Posada Del Toro
Ranked #31 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best location, in the center of city (near with Cathedral)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Best location, in the center of city (near with Cathedral), 3 stops from train station by bus. Easy to find, 10 mins by walking to Alhambra entrance. Good breakfast. Clean rooms, without noise from the street. WiFi works good only in lobby and staircase, but speed of WiFi is fast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mira12dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    186
    28
    12
    9
See reviews for
50
221
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

A great little hotel right in the heart of Granada. Calle Elvira is a very narrow old street with bars, restaurants and little shops open late into the night. People moaning about location and noise have not done their research I'm afraid. You cannot stay right in the middle of town and then blame the hotel for the noise!! We stayed in the suite on the top floor (Room 400) and it was fabulous. Very quiet even on a Saturday night. It has a bedroom, bathroom, lounge and 2 balconies with views of on one side the Sierra Nevada and Alhambra and on the other the Cathedral. SImply wonderful. And we only paid 77 euros a night for 2 of us with breakfast. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and everything from booking, checking in and checking out was very smooth. Breakfast is fine, it's advertised as continental breakfast and that's what you get. Coffee and tea, orange juice, toast, cereal, pastries, yoghurt, fruit. And you can have as much as you like. Yes it's simple but it's not advertised as anything else (again, people need to reserach what's on offer before complaining it's not what they wanted!). As a location for exploring Granada it's fantastic. You can reach everything including the Alhambra on foot. Easy walking to numerous great bars and restaurants. The bar directly opposite comes highly recommended especially for later drinking after tapas (which you can get pretty much anywhere). Chocolate and churros in Plaza Bib Rambla a must too. Parking is a bit of a problem but this is the same everywhere in central Granada - and again is not the hotel's fault! Don't even try to drive to the hotel as the road is so narrow you can't park outside even to drop off and check in. Find a car park (we used Parking Trex at Plaza del Campo about 10 minutes walk away it cost 16.50 euros a day get your ticket stamped by the hotel for a discount). Most of the roads in central Granada are closed to cars (but not taxis and buses) and patrolled by camera. Give your hire car registration to the hotel and they will enter it on the system to make sure you won't get a ticket for driving through the centre of town (which if you are like us you did inadvertently trying to follow the sat nav!) There is a big car park up at the Alhambra which is easier to get to from outside town if you follow the Alhambra signs but I wouldn't recommend walking down the very steep hill with luggage - but a taxi is only about 5 euros and the buses even less. I think the cost is similar per day. Lots of roads in the centre are so incredibly narrow I'd be afraid to go down them on a motorbike let alone a hire car - I strongly suggest taking out the extra insurance to cover scrapes and dents and check every scratch on your hire car and make sure it's noted before you sign for it!

Room Tip: THe top suite (400) or rooms facing on to the internal courtyard are quieter than those facing on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sallylou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We checked in for a two-day booking, were not impressed with the location or first impressions and reception, had a look at the room (on the street side) - groan - paid for one night & checked out 30 minutes later and found a much much better place - also a 3 star hotel - for about the same price. Range of what a 3-star hotel seems to be extremely variable. May be suitable for the budget-conscious younger travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ElizaTMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Ask for a quiet room (not facing the Elvira street) and you will enjoy your stay.
The location is very good you can go to all the main attraction by foot and it has a 24h reception with very nice / friendly staff.
I put a rate of 4 because my aim was to visit Granada and not stay in the hotel and do nothing; if you are there just to relax in the hotel then I would warn you that the rooms are not perfect as there are multiple tiny defects (a perfectionist might not 100% like it)

Room Tip: Rooms which do NOT face Elvira street ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great little hotel with a 24 hr reception right in the heart of all the attractions.
Breakfast is adequate and you can go up for more as much as you like. The rooms are large and clean, the bathrooms are also spacious, clean and have great showers.
Ask for a higher floor if you are staying over a weekend but in the week the street seems not to be noisy.
Carparking close by near the cathedral approx 24€ for 24 hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusancheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I am vigilant about reading Tripadvisor reviews before booking a hotel I've never stayed in, and I must have read the reviews for some other property and gotten my signals crossed, because the Posada del Toro was a terrible choice. It is an old property, built in 1886, and it is located very close to the Plaza Nueva and within walking distance of the Alhambra. However the rooms facing Calle Elvira, which are the bulk of them, are unbelievably noisy all night long ... and we were there on a Tuesday night! After the shouting and yelling and partying finally stopped around 4AM, the garbage wagons took over, sounding as if they were digesting metal dumpsters and small cars; grinding & howling and making such a racket that we gave up.

The bathroom was also a disaster with a strange shower set-up which my husband referred to as a "torture chamber." He had to enter a circular stall, close the doors, then turn on the water which was initially cold, before becoming very hot; and the water came out of the top of the device such that whether or not one wanted a shampoo, one got one. As soon as we could, we left this place. The young woman working the front desk, Ima, was the only bright spot ... she was very helpful in printing out our boarding passes and understanding when we cut our visit short. i am sorry for her that my review has to be so negative; the quality of the hotel was certainly not her fault--in fact, she seemed terribly overworked.

One indication of this is that when we went out and returnedin the early evening, the door to the hotel was closed, and we rang the bell and had to wait a considerable time for someone to come to the door.

The Wifi did not work, and the breakfast was about the worst I have ever encountered in a hotel--stale biscuits and bread, all wrapped & machine made; the coffee machine made such bad coffee that even a 7-11 would disdain it.

I would have to advise travelers to avoid this hotel unless they wish to stay out all night partying. There are many other options at a better price. We paid 65 euros for our room.

Room Tip: If you must book here and wish to sleep at night, request a room facing the interior patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gailchiarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

After trawling through many hotel websites and finding the rooms very expensive, or really downmarket, it was great to find this small hotel at 55 euros a night with breakfast. The reception is manned 24 hours a day and the staff were helpful when we asked for help with booking Alhambra tickets and booking a taxi (although they did try to get commission on this which I rejected as we had given them the name of the taxi firm and were only asking for them to send an email). Breakfast is ok in a basic, bland, standard sort of a way (pre-packaged individual pastries, yoghurts, toast, jam, some fruit, lousy tea/coffee/juice) but they were very accommodating when we requested (in advance) gluten free bread.
The room was lovely - a comfortable bed with enough pillows (often Spanish hotels only give one) and a beautiful bathroom with lovely tiles and a great shower. Our room also had a shared balcony over the courtyard.
It's a two minute walk to Plaza Nueva, and about 15 mins to the Alhambra up a lovely street. Bodega Castanueva is just round the corner and does good tapas and great sweet moscatel.

Room Tip: 301 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#40 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#20 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Hotel Macia Plaza
#37 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#27 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Del Toro

Property: Hotel Posada Del Toro
Address: Calle Elvira 25, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Elvira street in lower Albaizín and in the heart of Granada, stands majestically at the Hotel Posada del ToroBuilt in 2006, it is recognizable for its wood coffered ceilings, its spectacular stained glass windows and the paved patio as Granada style.In our restaurant La Posada, you will be able to taste delicious dishes typical from Granada, with the best traditional cuisine of the region.As a special detail with our guests, we offer free breakfast to our clients when booking a room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Posada Del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Pilar Del Toro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing