We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-located good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Del Toro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada Del Toro to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Del Toro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Elvira 25, 18010 Granada, Spain (Albaicín)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Albany NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A well-located good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We used booking.com to find this jewel of a boutique hotel located in the heart of historic Granada. We parked our car at discount garage a 15 walk away and left it there for the three days we were in town and didn't miss it a bit. We walked all around town including up to the amazing Al Hambara. While the breakfast was a bit lame, the rooms were wonderfully updated included the bathrooms. Was a little noisy on the weekend but nothing horrible.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kent
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked online, wanted something close to the centre as I am limited with lots of walking. Arrived in Granada in our hire car, and found ourselves going round in circles as there was a huge amount of road works going on. Once we had the right road Elvira, we like another reviewer, thought we were going somewhere not to our liking as there were people sitting on the grubby streets. BUT we could not be more wrong, it was wonderful. The young man on the desk gave us info about where to park as I have disabled badge.Inside it is a superb little hotel. Very clean, well decorated in the typical style of Granada. We had a fab room with lovely view of the street below, amazing bathroom, huge bed, everything we needed. Granada is a bustling city so do expect to hear the life going on below in the streets at night, it was not awful, it added to the atmosphere. We ate in the hotel that lunch time, we had menu del dia, for 10 euro, three courses, in the centre of Granada, fantastic. Breakfast was quite good, would have liked bit more choice, but it was adequate, staff were great. You are so close to such a lot in this hotel, buses to everywhere are at the rear of hotel, e bikes are in the square, Alhambra is no distance by bus. We were also near to the Moroccan quarter, amazing!!! Calle Elvira is renowned for its Tapa bars, go and enjoy a cana and tapa!!!! We would most certainly stay again, we loved it.

Room Tip: Our room looked pout over the street and at night you could hear Granada having fun but not so loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldwick
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Unless you are familiar with the centre of Granada finding this hotel can be a test. But persevere and you will be rewarded with a hotel of charm and character. Very Andulasian with its dark wood and stained glass you are made welcome from the first moment - nothing is too much trouble even when our "super duper" all singing and dancing shower didn't work - all rooms have them - and we were immediately moved to another equally charming room, no fuss, no bother.You are at the heart of everything that is Granada - even the caves are only a 10 minute walk away - so much so that if you are disappointed with the typical continental breakfast, which I am personally, there are cafes aplenty within a stones throw of the hotel. The restaurant food is excellent if a little pricey, the staff are very kind and your room will be cleaned thoroughly every day....we will return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homerLone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The first thing that strikes you as your taxi races through the narrow winding streets of Granada to the hotel, is- o my God where is this hotel? did we make a big blunder? Could'nt be more misleading. The location is great. Right in the midst of happening Calle de Elvira. Its the heart of Granada. Restaurants, pubs, shopping, etc etc. Lots of singing and culture to be enjoyed on the streets. Its also quite close to Alhambra.
The hotel itself is great value for money and the Andalusian patio which serves breakfast etc is bewitching. The staff is really very helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank najmasanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. The hotel has great location, right in the center of Granada, the cathedral is available within couple minutes and Alhambra is reachable by walk (20mins) or bus.
We stayed in the suite, which had amazing views over both the Alhambra and the old town.
Staff was very helpful and provided us directions to the nearest parking house prior to arrival. Breakfast was simple, but good and we really enjoyed eating it in the charming patio.
I would definitely recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: The suite is worth the money, being still a lot cheaper than standard accommodation in nearby hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xstea11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
563 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed two nights at Hotel Posada del Toro in the epicenter of the city, sitting right next to numerous bars, cafes, restaurants, outdoor seating, and very walkable to all the main sights, with a 20’ walk up hill to Alhambra or 5 minutes to bus #30 which goes directly to Alhambra’s ticket office. We stayed in the middle of a heat wave 37C/104F and were glad we had A/C which worked very well, considering that it’s only on when you are in the room and have the card in the electrical slot. This setup while great for conserving energy was somewhat problematic as the doors lock only with the key and at night it’s difficult to close/lock your door in the dark, then you can place the card which is attached to the key into the electricity for lights! We were on the 6th floor facing the very busy street, where the noise level and activity until 5:30am can be amazing; however the double set of doors did a very good job of keeping the noise barely audible. However it didn’t prevent us from hearing the couple’s next door enjoyable afternoon activities.

Reception and check in was fast, efficient and very friendly. Everyone at reception was helpful, friendly and spoke English. (we were amazed by how many Spanish people in the hospitality business were HOSTILE! but not here!) The room was clean, spacious by European standards, with a flat screen TV, mini bar, two small balconies, a view out of the corner of the top of Alhambra, large bathroom with two sinks and a “hydro-shower”. …watch out when you turn it on with the shower doors open, water spares everywhere! Beds/pillows were comfortable. Wi-Fi worked well and was free. Breakfast was a disappointment; much more like a USA continental breakfast; bread, some packaged pastries, machine made coffee, yogurt and apples…pretty mediocre and the only real complaint. Overall a very good stay, except breakfast needs some improving. Really nice staff; enjoy it...

We took a taxi to/from the hotel/train station and it ran 6-10 euros. We walked everywhere including the Capilla Real/Cathedral, Plaza Nueva (2 minutes) and the amazing Basilica de San Juan de Dios-don’t miss this!!! The bus to Alhambra was 5 minutes away. Excellent location! It’s an easy uphill walk to Plaza St Nicolas to watch the sunset on Alhambra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Loved, loved, loved the Posada! With its colourful wood ceilings, stained glass windows and Andalucian patio, it´s a stone´s throw from *everything*. We were given rooms on an upper gallery which overlooks the inside atrium, so it was especially quiet. Staff were helpful & breakfast was fine (although I´m not a fan of coffee machines which purport to make every style of coffee). Stupidly waited until our last night to actually have a drink in the patio, but were rewarded with amazing tapas.

Am planning on redesigning my bathroom based on the one in our room. Seriously.

Would 100% go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#19 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#5 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#20 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#39 of 124 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Gar Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Del Toro

Address: C/ Elvira 25, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Elvira street in lower Albaizín and in the heart of Granada, stands majestically at the Hotel Posada del ToroBuilt in 2006, it is recognizable for its wood coffered ceilings, its spectacular stained glass windows and the paved patio as Granada style.In our restaurant La Posada, you will be able to taste delicious dishes typical from Granada, with the best traditional cuisine of the region.As a special detail with our guests, we offer free breakfast to our clients when booking a room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Posada Del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Pilar Del Toro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing