We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed and gracious hosts”
Review of Hostal Lima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Lima
Ranked #8 of 94 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived at the hostal and Carmen warmly greeted us with a map of the attractions in the city and how to get there easily. Our room was immaculately clean and well appointed (hair dryer, shampoo, soap, TV, etc.). Breakfast is served just steps away at Hostal Lima 2 and was PLENTY to eat. Assorted breads, fruit, cereals, ham, cheese and breakfast pastry. Manolo, who seems to have limitless energy, took our order for our drink (coffee, cappuccino, chocolate milk, freshly squeezed OJ, I'm sure it was more but I can't think of it) and invited us to serve ourselves. It was great :) Manolo's mom cooks a few times a week and he offers guests the option of dining. At no time did we feel pressured to do so. We chose to try it and are so glad that we did. She made a delicious dinner of salmorejo, paella (loaded with shell fish) and an absolutely wonderful tarta de queso for dessert. Carmen and Manolo couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating. We stayed at Hostal Lima 1 with the smaller simpler rooms and found it completely comfortable. For those looking for a little more room and luxury, I believe the Hostal Lima 2 (just steps away) offers those accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 520 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We found Granada to be such a romantic city. The whole experience of Granada was doubled by our accomodation in Hostal Lima, a true gem in the heart of the city. The distinction of the hotel is given both by its design but the most important by the passion of its owners. Manolo is quite an extraordinary host, he gave us a lot of personal recommandations of what to see and where to eat, and introduced us to the andaluzian lifetsyle.
The Hotel is located perfectly, on a quiet street, a couple of minutes walking distance to the Cathedral and the center. We arrived by car and Manolo guided us to a public parking nearby where we left our car.
The hotel is decorated in andaluzian style, its design is spectacular and it feels somehow you are in a museum, but an intimate one. The rooms are cosy and again with a specific design.
The breakfast was another glorious experience, since Manolo again was extremely attentive with all the guests; the food was delicous also.
The highlight of our staying was however a dinner cooked by Manolo's mother. If he tells you about this dinner when you check-in, do not hesitate to choose to attend it since is a greatly romantic dinner in the cosy small breakfast room of the hotel, transformed into an exquisite romantic site. The food consisted in tipical andaluzian dishes: salmorejo + seafood paella (unbelievably good) + desert and other surprises.
The hospitability of our hosts was something to be remembered and the place became a reference point for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is the best in town.... We stayed here two nights in April of 2012. We loved it and will stay here again next time we are in Granada. Manolo and his family are extremely nice people. They make you feel right at home. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated with old world items. Had a nice balcony overlooking the narrow charming street.. In the morning, they provided a wonderful breakfast, yummy homemade goodies that Manolo's mom makes daily. The fresh squeeze orange juice is heavenly. I felt like Manolo was an uncle far away from home. By the way, the people in Granada are the nicest in all Spain.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billkilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have stayed at the hostel Lima on various occasions after we first stumbled upon it three years ago.
We are always so impressed with this place that we continue to return as much as possible. When skiing in Granada we also chose to stay here instead of in the resort.
Location- excellent, right in the centre but also tucked away in a quiet location. All sites of interest/the town is a short stroll away
Hospitality- Great!! The couple who own it are just amazing and extremely friendly. They even give us a hug when we visit now!
Rooms- There is a good mixture, you can either be extravagant or basic. All in all extremely clean and well equipped. The beds are just soooo comfy! You will sleep for ages!
Breakfast when offered only in summer- Is very good
Parking- is very easy and located around the corner, you can drop bags right at the door and the guy will accompany you to the parking which is offered at a lower rate for guests

All in all, great for solo, couples, families. This place is a real hidden and very affordable hotel in Granada. The couple who own it will assist you in booking trips and seeing the whole of what Granada has to offer, they also speak multiple languages.

Room Tip: Stayed in many rooms, all have been good. If on a budget ask for the small single rooms (they are ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crowley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is simply amazing. The people are friendly and helpful and speak so many different languages! The hotel was clean and the bed was the most comfortable I had in all of Spain. The hotel is in a quiet location, just off of a pretty plaza, but is within a 10 minute walk of every major site (except the Alhambra, of course!)
In addition, Hostal Lima offers a fantastic breakfast that is open for good hours for tourists who sightsee early, and those who do the Spanish way and stay out very late!
This hotel is very well-tended and is more than worth the money. Excellent choice for Granada.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTulsaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My friend and I visited Hostal Lima for 2 nights in July. We were very impressed and cannot fail to recommend this hostal to anyone - couples, families, solo travellers.
The host was very friendly - an efficient and hospitable check in. Immediately, we were presented with a map and directed to all the key sites. We were even offered free lessons with 10 minutes!!!!
The room was immaculate. The decor of the hotel is very traditionally Spanish and our room was too. The room and the bathroom were spotless - cannot criticise the cleanliness at all. We had towels, air conditioning, warm water, comfortable beds - just perfect.
Granada itself is beautiful - cobbled streets, beautiful architecture, lots to see and do. The Alhambra palace is very special and the cathedral is well worth a visit too. Make sure you spend some time wandering and sitting, just soaking up the charming ambience.
(Another tip: If you're young-ish and fancy a boozy, partying night, visit 'Mae West' - a club within 10 minutes walk. We had a hilarious night and actually rolled in at 8am, passing holiday goers on the way out to do some sight seeing!!!)
A highly recommended hotel!!!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

June 2012. Saw a segment on Getaway show of Granada and decided had to go. Started looking up accommodation options and read some great revues about Hostel Lima. I wasnt after a backpackers and Hostel Lima isnt, its a boutique hotel (2 hotels - we were 2 doors down at Hostel Lima 2) and it was very charming, and comfortable. Manolo was our main host and was very helpful and hospitable, with a little bit of flamboyance thrown in for good measure. The room was a standard room (they all have names) but very spacious with air con/huge flat screen TV mounted on the far wall and very comfy bed with nice coverings and plenty of pillows. The staff came in every day and changed the linen which surprised us and the bathroom was large and nicely done, very spacious and clean. You can pay to have breakfast downstairs in the dining room for euro6 per person which I found was really good value with a range of breads, cheeses and ham and iberian cured ham and more. They would also do a table service and ask if you would like espresso coffee/tea/freshly squeezed juice (included in the cost). You can also pay to have a lovely dinner of paella on certain nights that Manolo's Mama comes in and cooks up a storm. (My partner doesnt eat seafood so they kindly made us a chicken and vegetable option). Overall we loved our 4 nights here, the hosts were very attentive but with the perfect mix of letting us do our thing and not being disturbed. I would definately recommend these lovely family run establishments to anyone. Location excellent and Granada has it all - lovely laneways and architecture and incredibly relaxed and scenic - at no point did we feel unsafe or harrassed by anyone at any time of the day or night which was a great feeling! It was about 7-10mins walk to the base road of the Alhambra and some very nice plazas surrounding the small street the hotel was on. Only slight criticism would be there is no safe in the room, but we found that was common in the places we stayed in France and Spain. Definately stay at this establishment!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzdragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
B&B Hotel Granada
#26 of 122 in Granada
805 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,294 reviews
Albero
#3 of 122 in Granada
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,228 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 94 in Granada
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lima

Address: Calle Laurel de Las Tablas 17, 18002 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $45 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Lima Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing