We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not change a thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Isabel la Real
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Would not change a thing”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Review for hotel Santa Isabel la real
The hotel Santa Isabel la Real is a lovely small hotel built around an interior courtyard. It is clean. Our room was on the top floor and had a charming view which included the Alhambra. It was a light, bright room with AC, and even with bare feet the floor felt clean. The area around the hotel is a maze of stairs and alleys. There are tapas bars close-by (ours was very forgettable.) We found the location perfect for walking and exploring, but you are not happy with uneven cobblestone streets and stairs, this may not be for you. It was very simple to walk from a fabulous restaurant back to the hotel.
As in most cases, it is the staff at H Santa Isabel la Real is what makes this place go from very good to excellent. They were friendly, polite, professional, and very happy to be of assistance. They were able to get tickets for us to the Alhambra and even hired a private tour guide for us. The guide was EXCELLENT.. Breakfast was also just great.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor which had a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    201
    37
    5
    1
See reviews for
135
617
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This location is good for getting around. Be sure to walk just up the hill to view the Alhambra lit up at night. The breakfast was very good and generous. The rooms clean and comfortable, a bit outdated. Good advice and arrangements for taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoMoreTuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

A lovely little family run hotel. Make sure and use the road map that the hotel gives you. It will make finding this hotel a lot easier. We didn't use the map preferring to use our satnav. And what a big mistake that was! We were taken down the narrowest of streets.. so narrow we had to fold in the wing mirrors. Not a pleasant experience. We loved our stay though once we found the hotel . We chose to stay in the Albayzin which I think is a delightful part of Granada. We loved the old cobbled streets but comfortable footwear is a must. We had a superior room which was delightful. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. The area is very hilly but don't be put off this area because of this. The bendy bus stops close to the hotel and operates a day ticket for 6 euros which allows you to jump on and off the bus for the entire day. It takes you into the centre of Granada and also takes you to the Alhambra Palace. Very good value for money. We loved this hotel and would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Santa Isabel la Real Hotel is delightful. We loved our stay here, arriving by taxi from the Renfe Train station with ease. Our twin room was No 10 and we had lovely rooftop views. The decor was gorgeous and the evening breeze crossed the room with wonderful relief from the 40 degree heat. the air conditioner was quiet and cooling if needed too. Breakfast included was excellent. the staff were extremely helpful and tolerated our lack of Spanish speech with patience and good humour. The Hotel is walking distance to everything, although it sits high on the hill of the Albayzin, so be prepared to wonder up and down cobbled lanes that you lose yourself in. If walking gets too much, a mini bus stops outside the Hotel every 7 minutes and will deliver you to and from the bottom of the hill. We bought the Granada Tourist Card which gave us free bus trips as well as entry to numerous attractions. Our hotel bought this for us before we arrived and we paid them on arrival. The only downside was that the mini bar was expensive and given the heat in Granada,at least 1 bottle of chilled water per person could be given as a courtesy daily courtesy. No tea and coffee available in room. However we really loved our stay in Santa Isabel la Real Granada!

Room Tip: Room 10 was spacious and had lovely bathroom. Cross breezes were excellent of an evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

What an adventure. The map the hotel gives you looks fine but we couldn't find our way. More probably our fault than theirs but it meant we had to rely on the car's satnav. Big mistake. Huge. The satnav took us down the narrowest streets I have ever driven through. At times I had to fold the wing mirrors as they were touching the walls either side - not for the faint hearted. So think twice if travelling by car before turning into a narrow street.

On eventually reaching the hotel (the car parking is easy to find) we entered an oasis of calm. It was wonderful - cool and relaxing. The reception staff were welcoming and helped with luggage. All the rooms look inwards to a central courtyard where the only sound was water running over a few stones. Perfect.

The room was clean and spacious with a perfectly adequate bathroom. There is a safe and wifi is available throughout the hotel. Breakfast was excellent. The only downside is that you have to understand that this is an old building built before sound proofing was invented. My wife believes this all added to the atmosphere and ambience. At 1am with a noisy couple above us I have a slightly different view but I still enjoyed the overall experience.

There is plenty of choice for eating just a few metres away in the local square which was bustling with locals and tourists all evening but never to the extent that it was uncomfortable. The walk to the city centre is all downhill through cobbled streets but is easily accessible using the C1 microbus which runs regularly on a loop and stops just metres from the hotel. The fare is a flat rate euros 1.20 per person.

The number of rooms is small so book early is my advice. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Having been to Granada a number of times we wanted to spend more time around the Albayzin and this little hotel was a fantastic choice. The staff are very helpful and the hotel is very pretty. The room we had was excellent - larger than we expected and facing the road (which worried me but actually was not a problem). The room had all the facilities you would expect with a quality bed and the a/c was perfect. As everyone has previously said breakfast was excellent and we were always offered the choice of cooked eggs (fried, scrambled ect). We also used their car parking facilities which we would recommend to anyone coming by car. The bus stop is almost outside the hotel but you do miss the opportunity of seeing the local area if you use it. Just can't fault the place.

Room Tip: Cannot fault our room - number 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel situated in a lovely hillside neighborhood of Granada. Can't imagine a better location in Granada. The hillside is dotted with charming restaurants and and a fantastic ice cream store. There is an excellent public square nearby for viewing the Alhambra, which is especially majestic at nightfall. For 1.20 Euros, you can catch a shuttle bus outside the hotel that makes frequent runs into the city center and runs late into the night. And did I mention the accommodating staff and excellent breakfast? Don't miss out - book now!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brownstones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
986 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
777 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#6 of 122 in Granada
1,705 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 122 in Granada
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Isabel la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Isabel la Real

Property: Santa Isabel la Real
Address: Calle Santa Isabel La Real 17 y 19, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Isabel la Real 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a restored house from the XVI century. It is situated on the main street of the historical neighbourhood of the Albaizyn ( Granada), five minutes walking distance from the city centre. It is surrounded by gardens and different monuments such us the Monastery of Santa Isabel la Real, the palace of Dar-Al Horra and the San Miguel Bajo church. The hotel is also very near the beautiful views from San Nicolas, San Cristobal and la Lona. There is an enclosed parking lot and a bus stop near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Santa Isabel la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel La Real Hotel Granada
Santa Isabel La Real Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing