We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent and a real bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Isabel la Real
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in late October and we booked through booking.com at Euros 105 per night.

The hotel is formed from a renovated old convent built around a central open courtyard and is located in the heart of the Albayzin [ the old Moorish area] . Its elevated position provides excellent views across the low lying city towards the Alhambra - which looks even better when lit up at night .
Our ground floor room was spotlessly clean, of good size, with comfortable beds, effective air conditioning and a simple but tasteful decor featuring some very impressive wood carvings.
The deal included breakfast at the hotel which was particularly good with a wide choice of tasty things to eat - their home-made marmalade was just too nice to resist .

The area around the hotel has several bar/ restaurants that offer good food at reasonable prices. The local bus [ number 31 ] stops right outside the hotel and you can be in the city centre i.e. the stop outside the Cathedral in about 10 minutes. As the bus runs on a loop it takes about 20 minutes to get back to the hotel. The bus to the Alhambra is from the same stop outside the Cathedral - from memory, it is a number 30, but do check.

The hotel is staffed by the most helpful people we have encountered in many years of travelling - nothing was of too much trouble to them and they happily resolved the problems we were having in getting tickets to the Alhambra and getting bookings for the train and the long distance coach for the next two legs of our tour, They even offered to do our laundry for free. There is a large sitting room provided for guests which has lots of interesting antiques and a choice of two very enjoyable free home-made liquors - now when was the last time a hotel gave you that ?

We would heartily recommend visiting Granada, it is that special and if you do ,you should seriously consider staying at this hotel - you won't be disappointed.
. .

Room Tip: The rooms higher up will give the best views. There is a lift, If like me you don't "do&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenfingersfishes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 971 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Suspect we found this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and were certainly not disappointed. The sensitively converted old building was perfectly located - whether you wanted to walk around the Albayzin area, walk to the Alhambra, walk to the cathedral (note, you can walk everywhere if you don't mine a few steps!). Staff were friendly and courteous at all times. Our room (10) was spacious and comfortable - one of the best beds I have slept in for sometime. Breakfast was fine. We had free car parking.

Room Tip: No idea what other rooms are like - but 10 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleySandDaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I booked the room with view to Alhambra, its a fantastic view over the castle and Granada city. The hotel is situated in Albaicin almost by Mirador de San Nicolas, and can be a little hard to find.

The room was very clean and beautiful decorated and had what I expected, the bed was nice and big and I slept good. All hotel is small with just a few rooms and the breakfast is in the basement and is typical Spanish.

The hotel is very romantic and I highly recommend a stay here some nights if you visit Granada!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleALJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We loved the 16th century hotel in the heart of old town Granada. The staff was exceptional and attentive. They spoke English (thankfully) and made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed.

One night we actually ordered pizza and weren't sure how the pizza delivery person would access the hotel so we asked at the front desk. She offered to make the call a for us and when the pizza was delivered she called our room.

Breakfast every morning was great and we quite enjoyed having many of the main attraction nearby. Those that were not could be accessed on foot or via the bus stop right outside the hotel's front door.

Room was cleaned daily and those liquid lotions, gels and what not were replenished when the current supply went low.

Navigation I would say was somewhat challenging; the sometimes very narrow zig zag cobble stone street were quite fun themselves. We used our iPad on the free WiFi at the hotel and Google maps to help us get around on foot. Once we learned the lay of the land it was really not a big deal. We travel because we want a little adventure, right?

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel, the staff are excellent and it is very comfortable. Walk out the door and catch the number 31 bus down the hill, an experience in itself. You could not do better for location in the old city of Granada. Lots of good cafés and bars around. We shall return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenslanders_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A lot of reviews talk about how difficult it is to find the location. It's the old part of town and was not designed for cars. I used Google street maps to become familiar with the location and printed images of parts of the streets which made the navigation easy. We used the available parking as otherwise street parking would be impossible.

The hotel atmosphere was idea. The rooms spacious and well decorated. The breakfast was excellent and offered many options. We liked the 'lemonade' drink and even got some to take away for our walks down to the river.

The staff is very helpful, provided maps (must have) and arranged a Flamenco show nearby via the local bus. You can walk down to the river (town center) or take the bus. It's a steep walk up, so the bus is the way to go if it's dark out as it would be easy to get lost. The overlook of the Alhambra is only about 100 meters away and worth visiting around sunset. There are bars there as well if you want to have a drink while viewing.

Room Tip: Top floor on the street side had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous. The staff are very friendly, and we thought the breakfast was great (although we are early risers so we had a full array of choices that other reviewers may not have had).

However, we think other travellers should know that it's noisy even if you *aren't* on the ground floor. Here's why: the rooms are situated around an internal courtyard. If other guests make noise in this courtyard, you can hear it. The stereotype of Spanish people is that they keep late hours and they love to talk and this was certainly our experience! One late evening we were "treated" to 15 min of a loud conversation between two guests who turned out to be staying in the same room. Heaven knows what they were talking about but, please, save it for behind closed doors!

I don't think that people need to tiptoe around hotels (OK, actually, I do ... but I will allow for the occasional lapse), so perhaps this is just a plea to everyone to be considerate of others when in parts of the hotel that face onto guest rooms.

In any case, we would probably stay here again because the other attributes were so positive. I would love it if the staff made it a habit to tell guests, at check-in, about how noisy the courtyard can be.

Room Tip: It seems as though ground-floor rooms are not very nice at all. We were on the first floor and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValueValueValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
814 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,812 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Isabel la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Isabel la Real

Address: Calle Santa Isabel La Real 17 y 19, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $83 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Isabel la Real 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a restored house from the XVI century. It is situated on the main street of the historical neighbourhood of the Albaizyn ( Granada), five minutes walking distance from the city centre. It is surrounded by gardens and different monuments such us the Monastery of Santa Isabel la Real, the palace of Dar-Al Horra and the San Miguel Bajo church. The hotel is also very near the beautiful views from San Nicolas, San Cristobal and la Lona. There is an enclosed parking lot and a bus stop near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Santa Isabel la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel La Real Hotel Granada
Santa Isabel La Real Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing