We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and excellent boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Isabel la Real
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great location and excellent boutique hotel”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for two days in March at Santa Isabel Hotel and it was an outstanding experience. We arrived and were given a nice glass of wine and then shown to our room. The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms and building are in great shape. Each comes with a computer with free internet access and breakfast was brought to our room every morning. The breakfast was outstanding, especially the orange juice. The hotel is located within walking distance of everything in the old city. The staff were very helpful and gave excellent advice and recommendations. When arriving from the train station, we took a taxi and it is the best thing to do, as you will have great difficulty finding it and driving in the very narrow streets is stressfull. The hotel does offer parking, but I would stick with the bus system and the trains. Grenada is a lovely city and this hotel was a great choice to start our tour of southern Spain. There are great views of the Alhambra close by and the night photos we took were spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaHumblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    201
    37
    5
    1
See reviews for
132
610
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a little beauty , very original excelent service located on top of Granada but very easy walk to the centre of town
The only thing is try to get a room on the first floor or higher
Our room was on the ground floor and this can be a bit noisy
It would be good if the safe was attached on the wall and not sitting loose on a book shelf
However we would go straight back if we have the opportunity
And the girls who are running the reception are fantastic in their assistance

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hudsonQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Santa Isabel la Real. This is a very charming hotel supported by an excellent staff. Our room on the third floor had a spectacular vew of the Alhambra.
The room and most areas of the hotel included many nice touches that won't be found in larger box hotels. The breakfast selection wasn't large but it was good quality.

One previous reviewer mentioned the location wasn't close to key attractions in the city. Although there's some truth to that there is small city bus (number 37) that stops less than 30 feet from the front door and can whisk you to the Gran Via (cathedral) and Paza Nueva in 10 minutes. The cost is 1.20 euro per person.
St. Nicholas Church (plaza), which is less than a five minute walk, boasts some of the best views of the Alhambra. The neighborhood is delightful to take strolls and find plenty of restaurants.

One unfortunate item that should be noted is the noise level from the street may disturb those who are light sleepers. Although the street next to the hotel s small it seems to be used by many locals in cars and on foot. Overall I would give this hotel high marks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuixoteDulcinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Me and my wife spent 5 days in this wonderful little hotel in the mid of February. The room was quite large and clean. The staf is very helpful and they make you feel like you are in home. They serve a very quality homemade breakfast. The only minus is that they don't have a restaurant in the hotel but overall was a really great experience! We surely will come back again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Mor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in a deluxe room located on the third floor of this small intimate hotel which afforded wonderful views of the Alhambra on the opposite hill. The room was simply delightful with lovely little features such as carved wooden doors, window shutters, an exposed wooden ceiling, tiled flooring and a cosy bed. The snow covered Sierra Nevada behind the Alhambra seemed to add a chill to the March air but the room remained warm and comfortable and is equipped with air conditioning for summer.

There is a very pleasant small lounge on the ground floor. It's beside the central courtyard which was covered during our stay due to changeable weather but the covers can be rolled back when the weather improves. The overall impression is one of calmness, peace and quiet.

The hotel is located near the top of Albaicin, the old Moorish ghetto that clings to the hill opposite the Alhambra and affords fine views of it, the city and landscape beyond. The streets are a joy to walk around but they are narrow and steep in places. The city below is reached by a 10 minute walk downhill or by bus which stops right next to the hotel every 15 minutes. Comfortable shoes are recommended and ladies should leave the heels behind.

The young lady on reception during our stay was outstanding. Clearly well informed and aware of the queries guests might have she provided accurate, concise and relevant information in a most friendly and polite manner.

A perfect place to stay in Granada.

Room Tip: You will pay extra but the deluxe room with a view of the Alhambra across the roof tops of Albaicin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Eight of us descended on the Santa Isabel hotel for a 4 day stay, taking up 4 double/twin rooms. Good, well appointed rooms: some have outside windows, while others have window onto the internal courtyard. The courtyard is quaint, but might pose a problem for lack of privacy, depending on your disposition. These minus points are offset by the many good points. We were happy there and would return, albeit being careful to choose a room with an outside window.
Good breakfast, including home-made marmalade and cake. No need to go hungry. The hotel does not have a restaurant or bar. There are a few good restaurants within 5 minutes walk, or it's a 10-minute walk downhill into town where there are many places to eat.
The staff on reception were very helpful.
We especially enjoyed the guest lounge, where the 8 of us gathered to partake of fig liquor, compliments of the hotel. What a pleasant way to start the evening, and end it too!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

You get a good impression about this guest house even before you arrive when they email you a detailed map of how to find your way there.There is an underground car park next door if you need to park.Great location,to the left out the front door it is a 5 min walk to San Nicholas where you get a great view of the Alhambra.Easy walk down to the old town to visit the Catherdral and other touristy sights.
Our room on the first floor was wonderful,comfy bed,TV,sofa,mini-bar,safe with a good size bath to relax in after a day sightseeing.As we stayed in February the heating coming up from under the floor was welcome and gave the room a perfect temperature for the time of year.
Breakfast consisted of a choice of egg,cereal,breads,friut,yoghurt,cake,salad all buffet style with various choices of drinks.
The staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icisengland187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
977 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
767 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Isabel la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Isabel la Real

Property: Santa Isabel la Real
Address: Calle Santa Isabel La Real 17 y 19, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Isabel la Real 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a restored house from the XVI century. It is situated on the main street of the historical neighbourhood of the Albaizyn ( Granada), five minutes walking distance from the city centre. It is surrounded by gardens and different monuments such us the Monastery of Santa Isabel la Real, the palace of Dar-Al Horra and the San Miguel Bajo church. The hotel is also very near the beautiful views from San Nicolas, San Cristobal and la Lona. There is an enclosed parking lot and a bus stop near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Isabel la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel La Real Hotel Granada
Santa Isabel La Real Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing