We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Isabel la Real
Ranked #1 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
190 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A real gem ”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

A very pleasant small hotel in the older part of Granada. Well located for touring the city. Very helpful reception and if u are driving do make sure you get instructions as the streets are very narrow and many one way. 
We had room 11 which was worth the extra for the outside views, particularly the palace. Most other rooms look into the inner courtyard. Double bed with good quality linen and spotlessly clean. Powerful shower with quality toiletries. 
Buffet breakfast served till 10.30 with no pressures. Well laid out with good range of fresh fruit other breakfast goodies. 
All in all excellent and would not have found it without Trip Advisor. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    194
    37
    5
    1
See reviews for
128
592
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
h
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We chose this hotel from Tripadvisor, as it was rated nr 1. We were a bit disappointed, but maybe our expectations were too high. We were obviously not put in one of the colourful rooms in the pictures, for a moment I thought I booked the wrong hotel.
The location was not super, it was far away from the nicer parts of the Albaycin, one had to walk a lot (climb!), in the burning heat. On our first day the staff suggested a lunch site for us about 100 yards from the hotel. This was horrible, we sat outside on a square with no wind at all, 42 degrees in the shadow, where we were served terrible greasy food. We were almost cooked when we got back to the hotel, and had to lie on our beds in the (mercifully airconditioned!) room for hours to recover.
For the subsequent evenings thankfully the hotel suggested very nice restaurants with spectacular view of the Alhambra.
The breakfast was ok. There is no view at all from the hotel. maybe there is from one of the rooms we were not in, but we have not seen anything. One could here the neighbours in next door rooms very good, too good unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davida12H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel lived up to our expectations. It was idillic, beautiful and quintessentially mediteranean. Full of character and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The hotel is set in a lovely area with many cobbled and narrow streets with some lovely views across to the Alhambra Palace. A few tapas bars and restaurants are within close walking distance. It is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of the city; a map is a must and is provided at the hotel on arrival. I would recommend disabled people to get a taxi down to the centre as the walk down/up can be quite hard on your feet and legs particularly as a number of streets have a quite a few steps. The rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. The breakfast is continental style. I would recommend this hotel to couples, families with teenage children and single travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is charming and staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The room furnishings were very comfortable and chosen with care with good beds and air-conditioning. The location is an adventure in itself - taxi drivers fold side mirrors in so as to be able to drive down narrow streets, while pedestrians look for recessed doorways to enable cars to pass! Enjoyed walking around the area in the evening and felt perfectly safe doing so. The hotel made bookings for us at a nearby Flamenco show which was sensational and highly recommended.

We selected the hotel based on TA reviews (#1 in Granada) yet somehow it fell short of expectations, which may have been too high. Breakfast in the basement dining room is adequate rather than special. Compared with other accommodation on our 2 week tour of Spain we thought it was a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed here with my fiancé 2 wks ago and we loved it, the service was excellent, the room was beautiful and the hotel was charming. The doors and windows were very cool. It was a great boutique style hotel in an excellent position, just down the street from a bar that overlooks the Alhambra and only a short walk down the hill into the Albayzin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awful_in_aqua86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this small hotel located in a restored 16th century house.

Our one and only snag: don't pass the parking garage! The hotel is located on a tiny one-way street, and you'll pass the garage before the hotel. Leave your car in the driveway of the garage while you run into the hotel to check-in. Learn from our experience. After a long driving adventure through the neighborhood (our GPS was a rock star), we arrived at the hotel only to prolong the adventure by navigating our way back to the parking garage not 200m behind us. Thanks to calm-under-pressure driving and the crude sign language of a Spanish handyman, we made it to our parking spot (and didn't move the car again until we were ready to depart).

But really, this is a lovely hotel in the heart of the Albayzin. Rooms are simple and surprisingly spacious. Individually controlled A/C was a definite plus (it's hot in Granada!). Our breakfast was leisurely, and the other hotel guests were friendly. The staff is excellent. We were able to book day-of dinner and hammam reservations with no problems, and we were provided with excellent maps and advice (e.g., the minibus route to the Alhambra...the only place we did not walk to).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Loved this hotel- attentive but not 'in your face'- responded to absilutely every query and email prior to our trip, gave excellent directions etc. lovely location in old town, graet local restaurants etc- we'd two downstairs interconnecting rooms which looked into the courtyard- slept like tops. Great breakfast in cute dining room- we wer leaving early the next morning for a flight and as we crept out the guy handed us sandwiched, fruit and drinks for a car picnic breakfast.
all the reviews are right- cant fault this cute wee place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Isabel la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Isabel la Real

Property: Santa Isabel la Real
Address: Calle Santa Isabel La Real 17 y 19, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Isabel la Real 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a restored house from the XVI century. It is situated on the main street of the historical neighbourhood of the Albaizyn ( Granada), five minutes walking distance from the city centre. It is surrounded by gardens and different monuments such us the Monastery of Santa Isabel la Real, the palace of Dar-Al Horra and the San Miguel Bajo church. The hotel is also very near the beautiful views from San Nicolas, San Cristobal and la Lona. There is an enclosed parking lot and a bus stop near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Santa Isabel la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel La Real Hotel Granada
Santa Isabel La Real Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing