We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenience in the heart of downtown Granada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Costa Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Costa Azul
Ranked #31 of 95 Granada B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenience in the heart of downtown Granada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

My family stayed at the apartment belonging to Costa Azul during our 2-night stay in Granada.

The hotel's location is perfect. Very close to the Cathedral, close to transportation that can take you to Alhambra, and nestled perfectly amidst shops and restaurants. Everything was walkable, even Alhambra, although I'm happy we took the front desk attendant's advice: Take a bus to Alhambra, since it's all uphill. Then on the way back, walk downhill.

If I'm not mistaken, the hostel has rooms in its main building, and also has an apartment located across the street where you can rent out the whole floor.

My family (5 people total) stayed at the 2-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor of the separate building. It was perfect for us. The small kitchen had enough of what we needed: fridge, sink, cupboards supplied with utensils, hot-plate, and washer (for clothes, not dishes). We prepared our own meals most of the time.

Also, the apartment has a roof deck which is spectacular! You have a view of Alhambra on one side, and the Cathedral to another. I slept on the roof deck one night, but it was too cold to do it a second time. The apartment had enough beds for 5 people (1 queen, 3 twins) so it was perfect for us.

The staff was phenomenal and supremely helpful. We were there during the Fiesta de la Cruz, for which the staff had prepared festivities in the hotel. They were extremely busy preparing for it all, but that didn't deter them from helping us out with everything we needed. And as busy as they were, they provided all the service needed with a smile. Kudos to them!

Also, on internet, I was told they had WiFi, but I never checked. There was wired connection in the apartment (only one) so that was enough for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgharavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
45
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Small hostal/hotel in an alley near the Cathedral. Room spacious and well-heated, a real plus point in early March. Plenty of Tapas and Restaurant options near the hotel and close by. Tiny fruit shop opposite the hotel first stop in the morning for breakfast.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin_a_Tiptoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The hotel manager gave us a nice city map, and helped us make reservations to see the Alhambra the next day and print out the reservation form. To get to the hotel from the bus station you take either bus # 3 or 33 to the Puerto Real stop (1.2 euro ticket). It is a short walk along Calle Navas from Plaza del Carmen. It was helpful to have a map to find our way. To add to a previous posting, the hostal provided liquid soap in the shower. There was free wi-fi that we could access in our room. We were in room #204, and there was no way to lock the sliding glass door that went to the inner courtyard area. The hostal did not have breakfast. There were only Spanish language tv channels. There are no smoking signs throughout the hostal, including the lobby, but the staff were smoking behind the counter, and the smell made it up to the 1st floor. The room was 50 euro a night, and we were able to get a load of laundry done by the hostal for 8 euro.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I was suspicious to stay here because it was only a one star hotel and was not that familiar with the area, but this ended up to be the best place we stayed throughout our tour of Andalucia. The street was quiet and charming, full of amazing bars/restaurants, I particularly recommend Dos Diamantes for incredible tapas. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Alhambra is a must, and Granada was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank browan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed in Hostal Costa Azul twice (with a break in the middle for a trip to Las Alpujarras) and enjoyed it both times. The first room we had was a double on the second floor with a decent sized bathroom. The room wasn't huge but it was clean and definitely offered value for money (we paid €50 per night).

We came back to Granada for one night after staying in Pampaneira and were given a different room. Initally, we were put in a twin room (despite having booked a double room) but when we asked to move to a double, we were offered a stay in an apartment across the road as there were no double rooms available. The apartment was okay, although I would have preferred to stay in the room we had during our first visit. There was a double room, sitting area and bathroom. However, the aircon was in the sitting area and so didn't cool down the bedroom as much as I would have liked.

The location is great, very central but on a fairly quiet street. However, 30metres to the end of the road takes you to a strip of fantastic tapas bars (we much preferred the ones at the other end of this street though). Marisa was a great host, answering our queries and offered for us to keep our big bags at the Hostal whilst we travelled to Las Alpujarras. Before we arrived, she emailed us some maps of Granada, directions to the hostal and advised us to buy our Alhambra tickets in advance. My only (minor) complaint is that there was no soap in the bathroom. Having said that, it wouldn't stop us from staying again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jn117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

I spent a few days in Granada and really loved being in Hostal Costa Azul. We felt very welcome especially by all the attention we got from also English speaking Marisa, and greatly liked
the central position of the hostal. The rooms may be a bit old fashioned but offer enough space and the showerroom is modern and really excellent. Really good value for only a bit of money. We will certainly stay there again next time in Granada!

Christiaan van der Eijk
Amsterdam (NL)

  • Liked — The location and the very helpful staff
  • Disliked — ---
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed here for one night to see Alhambra the next day. We were traveling from Madrid and arrived at the hostal around 2pm. Our room was ready in about 10 minutes. There is not an elevator, but we just had backpacks and no other luggage, so that didn't bother us that we had to climb up one flight of stairs. They had just mopped the floor in our room, but we didn't know until we had trekked across the room and left shoeprints.

The room is slightly more spacious than your typical hostal. There is a big couch and 2 single beds that were pushed together. Surprisingly, the bed mattresses were quite comfortable. The closet has sliding doors, a big mirror, 2 drawers, and a space for hanging jackets. The bathroom is clean, but there are NO TOILETRIES! You have to either buy or bring your own soap, shampoo, etc. The shower itself is spacious with good water pressure. Towels are thin, but functional. There also air conditioning available, which is helpful. It can get hot at night, but we did not need to leave the AC on all night. The room was also quiet, which was helpful after a long day of traveling and sightseeing. There is not a refrigerator in the room, if that is important to you.

The hostal staff is friendly. Some staff members speak some English. The hostal reception desk is open 24 hours and the great thing is that they hold your key when you go out. That way you don't have to worry about losing it while you're out and about. Marisa had helped us reserve Alhambra tickets for the following day, and that was extremely helpful. Marisa printed our ticket reservation for us and we were able to avoid the long lines at Alhambra. We were able to get our tickets pretty easily once we were in the correct line. We did not eat breakfast at the hostal and we didn't know if it was even offered. We didn't ask because we were on our way to Alhambra.

The hostal location is also ideal. It's a 30 minute ride from the bus station, which is on the outskirts of the city. Once you're in the city, the hostal is centrally located. It was about a 25 minute walk uphill towards Alhambra, but that is expected. The Albacin district is about 15 minutes away on foot, uphill also. Buses are available to take you to both locations, but we chose to walk. The hostal is located within a 2 minute walking distance of a bunch of tapas places, which is great for snacking late at night. Since we didn't bring our own soap, there is a small supermarket that sells soap down the street, as well as Spain's main department store with a supermarket, El Corte Ingles, which is about a 5 minute walk. A better deal would have been to walk one block north from the bus station to the the Aldi supermarket where things are much cheaper. I would stay at the hostal again, but I would bring my own tolietries. Overall a good budget hostal that is centrally located with friendly staff.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, cleanliness, space
  • Disliked — No soap or other toiletries
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sightseeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Apartamentos Turisticos Costa Azul Granada
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#11 of 95 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Alfin
Pension Alfin
#28 of 95 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#17 of 95 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Nest Style Granada
#3 of 95 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Costa Azul

Property: Hostal Costa Azul
Address: C/ Rosario, 5, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Costa Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing