We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostal in central location”
Review of Hostal Costa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Costa Azul
Ranked #24 of 94 Granada B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed in Hostal Costa Azul twice (with a break in the middle for a trip to Las Alpujarras) and enjoyed it both times. The first room we had was a double on the second floor with a decent sized bathroom. The room wasn't huge but it was clean and definitely offered value for money (we paid €50 per night).

We came back to Granada for one night after staying in Pampaneira and were given a different room. Initally, we were put in a twin room (despite having booked a double room) but when we asked to move to a double, we were offered a stay in an apartment across the road as there were no double rooms available. The apartment was okay, although I would have preferred to stay in the room we had during our first visit. There was a double room, sitting area and bathroom. However, the aircon was in the sitting area and so didn't cool down the bedroom as much as I would have liked.

The location is great, very central but on a fairly quiet street. However, 30metres to the end of the road takes you to a strip of fantastic tapas bars (we much preferred the ones at the other end of this street though). Marisa was a great host, answering our queries and offered for us to keep our big bags at the Hostal whilst we travelled to Las Alpujarras. Before we arrived, she emailed us some maps of Granada, directions to the hostal and advised us to buy our Alhambra tickets in advance. My only (minor) complaint is that there was no soap in the bathroom. Having said that, it wouldn't stop us from staying again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jn117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2008

I spent a few days in Granada and really loved being in Hostal Costa Azul. We felt very welcome especially by all the attention we got from also English speaking Marisa, and greatly liked
the central position of the hostal. The rooms may be a bit old fashioned but offer enough space and the showerroom is modern and really excellent. Really good value for only a bit of money. We will certainly stay there again next time in Granada!

Christiaan van der Eijk
Amsterdam (NL)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Christiaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed here for one night to see Alhambra the next day. We were traveling from Madrid and arrived at the hostal around 2pm. Our room was ready in about 10 minutes. There is not an elevator, but we just had backpacks and no other luggage, so that didn't bother us that we had to climb up one flight of stairs. They had just mopped the floor in our room, but we didn't know until we had trekked across the room and left shoeprints.

The room is slightly more spacious than your typical hostal. There is a big couch and 2 single beds that were pushed together. Surprisingly, the bed mattresses were quite comfortable. The closet has sliding doors, a big mirror, 2 drawers, and a space for hanging jackets. The bathroom is clean, but there are NO TOILETRIES! You have to either buy or bring your own soap, shampoo, etc. The shower itself is spacious with good water pressure. Towels are thin, but functional. There also air conditioning available, which is helpful. It can get hot at night, but we did not need to leave the AC on all night. The room was also quiet, which was helpful after a long day of traveling and sightseeing. There is not a refrigerator in the room, if that is important to you.

The hostal staff is friendly. Some staff members speak some English. The hostal reception desk is open 24 hours and the great thing is that they hold your key when you go out. That way you don't have to worry about losing it while you're out and about. Marisa had helped us reserve Alhambra tickets for the following day, and that was extremely helpful. Marisa printed our ticket reservation for us and we were able to avoid the long lines at Alhambra. We were able to get our tickets pretty easily once we were in the correct line. We did not eat breakfast at the hostal and we didn't know if it was even offered. We didn't ask because we were on our way to Alhambra.

The hostal location is also ideal. It's a 30 minute ride from the bus station, which is on the outskirts of the city. Once you're in the city, the hostal is centrally located. It was about a 25 minute walk uphill towards Alhambra, but that is expected. The Albacin district is about 15 minutes away on foot, uphill also. Buses are available to take you to both locations, but we chose to walk. The hostal is located within a 2 minute walking distance of a bunch of tapas places, which is great for snacking late at night. Since we didn't bring our own soap, there is a small supermarket that sells soap down the street, as well as Spain's main department store with a supermarket, El Corte Ingles, which is about a 5 minute walk. A better deal would have been to walk one block north from the bus station to the the Aldi supermarket where things are much cheaper. I would stay at the hostal again, but I would bring my own tolietries. Overall a good budget hostal that is centrally located with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sightseeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

The location was amazing: convenient to everything, including tourist info office, buses, restaurants, plazas, and shops! My single room was very good for the money (clean, spacious, no nonsense) and the people at the front desk were very nice. The lobby is a little more cluttered than the photo shown on their website. No elevator....but it didn't bother me since I only had one bag. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

This is one of the best locations in Granada. It is nice and quiet and then you walk out and it's full of some of the best resturants and tapas bars around town. Not to mention walking distance to everything.
The Hostal was exactly what we needed, no frills but good for the price.
The front desk was very helpful, especially booking tickets to the famous Palace.
I will be staying there again when I go.....

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cutlet116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We had very mixed feelings about this hotel (really a hostal). There were some things we really liked and some we didn’t.

The Bad

They didn't have a room with a double bed as we had reserved, so we ended up with two single beds. Our room was on the third floor and there was no elevator. The walls are very thin and you could hear a lot of noise.

The Good

This is a family owned hotel and Marissa the owner was a delight. The confusion about the beds seemed to be an honest mistake and she was very sorry. She even offered to have us stay in an apartment she has access to. This was also the only hotel that included breakfast at anywhere near this rate. The location was very good and the rooms were clean. There is also internet access available in the hotel lobby.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would probably go back because of Marissa. She also told us that a major renovation is planned for the next year or so.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Found this hostal by chance when we got to Granada, and were happy to get a room. Centrally located, it is great for those travelling with a budget, which we decided to do for some nights.

Our double room (No. 204) was simple and clean, nothing fancy but great for 50 Euros/night. Reception staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mel_Zelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#14 of 94 in Granada
92 reviews
Paseo de los Tristes
#16 of 94 in Granada
48 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 94 in Granada
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pension Castil
#13 of 94 in Granada
74 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
AMC Granada
AMC Granada
#5 of 94 in Granada
242 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#19 of 94 in Granada
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Costa Azul

Address: Calle Virgen del Rosario 5, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $43 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Costa Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Costa Azul is a 19th century building, totally refurbished in 2009, respecting the taste of the old and modern at the same time, functional and in the heart of the most desired city of the world GRANADA .... It has 4 floors, without elevator, because its wonderful railing, is a work of art from the ground floor to the fourth, made in one piece. Adapted for people without mobility, all rooms are equipped with bathroom, air conditioning, heating, TV, Wi-Fi, desk, hair dryer, safe and some of them terrace, although all are exterior with window or balcony. We enjoy a nice inner courtyard, where to rest when you come to visit the city. We can manage the reservation of Alhambra or any other monument, restaurant, museum, flamenco, hamman or whatever you need. We have parking spaces at 18 € per night and car. We are very close to the hostel, a tavern, run by the youngest of the hotel saga, specializing in Spanish wines and good home-cooked meals. WE WAIT FOR YOU !!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hostal Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing