We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect budget B&B/pension” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Mesones

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal Mesones to your Saves list
Hostal Mesones
Mesones, 44, 18001 Granada, Spain (Centro - Sagrario)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 95 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect budget B&B/pension”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The B&B/pension is located a few hundred metres from the cathedral and the lively Bib Ramblas square. For the location and the overall quality it was very good value.

I had a single room with shared bathroom. Both were a good size and clean.

The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful. English, French and German spoken (as well as Spanish, of course).

The room, shared bathroom and breakfast room were all spotlessly clean. Aircon and TV. Breakfast was fine - juice, coffee/tea, a couple of slices of bread (your choice of jam or the Spanish tomato/olive oil mix) and some sweet cakes/biscuits.

The hotel is on the corner of a block - opposite one side of the hotel there is a large bar. There was quite a bit of street noise, which might disturb you if you wanted to sleep before midnight (but why would you want to do that in a Spanish city?!) A room overlooking Calle Mesones would be quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ana belen t, Propietario at Hostal Mesones, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Adam! I would like to thank you for your review!

We are glad to know that you had a good experience at us; I would like to inform you that we are putting double windows in the rooms; we are trying to pay attention to all the comments our guests have to improve as much as we can our service!

Thanks a lot again! have a nice day! Belén Teba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
34
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I spent two days in Hostal Mesones because of a conference at the University of Granada. The single room was clean and it had a washbasin and air conditioner. I took a room with shared bathroom and it was clean all the time I used it. The owners have recently changed and the new ones are very gentle and provide you with useful information. They speak fluent Spanish, English and French (maybe other languages as well). They have introduced a breakfast of orange juice, coffee and toasts with jam, all included in the price.

During the night the streets are loud but it is solved closing the windows.

If I come back to Granada I will go to Hostal Mesones again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoaquinN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ana belen t, Propietario at Hostal Mesones, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Joaquin! I would like to thank you for the nice review!

I am glad to know that you had a nice experience at us! I would like to inform you that we are putting double windows in the rooms.

We wil inform you all about all the new things we are doing to improve our service!

Thanks a lot again! Have a nice day! Belén Teba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a whirlwind tour of Spain. Ideal location 2 blocks from cathedral near tapas bars and shops, but without street noise at night. Paid 40 euro for a nice clean double room with bathroom. Shower was normal sized single (as opposed to some insanely cramped showers we have seen) and had PLENTY of hot water and water pressure. Room was small but comfy. Wifi was free. had heat and a/c although we couldn't quite figure out the controls. Plenty of covers on the bed. I would absolutely come back here.

Room Tip: We had room 202, which was actually on what Americans would consider the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ana belen t, Propietario at Hostal Mesones, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Trishpa, first of all we would like to thank you for the review!

We are so glad to know that you had a nice experience at us, that all the effort we are making to give you a good service is working!

We hope we see you again.

Thanks a lot again! have a nice day! Belén Teba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I spent a couple of nights here to look for accommodation during my stay abroad. The family who owns the hostel was very polite and friendly and even helped my to organize an apartment during my first days in Granada.

By the way, my room was nice and clean as well. Really nothing to complain about!

Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

fantastic location but i think we were swindled into paying an extra 5 euros for a private bathroom...when it seemed like all rooms had private bathrooms anyway
wifi was advertised but it wasnt working for the 3 days we were there
walls are also pretty thin and there is no breakfast included

the only good things were the location and price

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_beanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

The hostal is situated in the heart of the town centre close to the cathedral on a shopping street.

The entrance and reception are quite inviting.

I fixed the reservation in the hostel on the morning of arrival. I paid 21 Euro and got the last available room for a friday night stay. Rooms might be booked out easily on weekends.

The room I had was small with bed, wardrobe, sink, TV and air conditioner(!). Bathroom was shared. All in good, clean state. Window was to the inner patio of the house, but who cares.

The landlady and her husband (speaks German) are nice and friendly.

A good recommendation I got from a city guide of Granada. Central place for little money, just right for a place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stanko74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2006

This hostal is fantastic value. It's 20 Euro per night, regardless of how many people share a room. The place is very clean and for your 20 E you can get an individual room. The location is also fantastic, it's in the stylish centre of the town. German and SPanish spoken.

Helpful?
1 Thank nmccf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#12 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 95 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#12 of 95 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Apartamentos Venecia
#13 of 95 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mesones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mesones

Property: Hostal Mesones
Address: Mesones, 44, 18001 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Mesones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing