We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol
Ranked #63 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed at the Carmen for a couple of nights last May as part of a trip around Spain. This hotel was definitely the best of our trip; the reviews on TA certainly are accurate. The only difficulty we had was getting to the house - our cab driver had no idea where it was, and had to talk to several people to find the hotel. It is located on a small lane, with not ideal access, so it's probably better if you don't have large bags. From the moment we arrived, Manuel treated us amazingly, suggesting places to go and restaurants to try. We had booked La Torre, which is located on the top of the building with an amazing balcony with views over the city. The room was quiet, relatively large, and very comfortable. The hotel was located fairly close to the Alhambra, although it is an uphill walk to get there. But as young couple, that was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 295 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. The carmen is beautiful and we had no trouble finding it. Manual parked our car and we didn't think of it again until we left. We had breakfast one day but it was quite expensive so we opted to walk to the pastry shop just at the bottom of the hill on the right for breakfast the second day. It was raining and Manual offered to let us eat in the carmen and even made us some complimentary coffee. PS - the pastry shop is out of this world!

Manual is very friendly (and helpful) so be sure to give yourself some extra time when you leave if you plan to ask for a recommendation! We found the carmen very orderly but some more attention could have been given to sweeping the floors in the room and cleaning the shower. We also found it a little odd that every time we left the room someone would enter and tidy up - put our shoes, brushes, coats, etc away. You also can't eat or drink in your room which I have never encountered before. If you like to eat a snack and have some wine before you go out - you have to go to the common area.

All in all a great place to stay and very convenient to everything in Granada. We didn't mind the stairs at all. They are steep but there isn't that many of them! And, the best part is that every time you order a drink in Granada you get a tapas. Now that's classy!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifervirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This little hotel has terrific views, is meticulous, and is quite close to Alhambra. Manual, the owner and hands-on manager, is very helpful and very talkative. But he really knows Granada and will create itineraries that are lovely -- from long walks, to dinner suggestions, to arranging anything you want. If you have any trouble walking, this is the wrong hotel for you, but if you like to walk and explore -- a great place -- not cheap, but really lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buster8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Manuel, the host, insisted on returning my rental car to central Granada on the Monday morning that it was due so I would not miss my entry time to the Alhambra. He refused to take payment for this courtesty.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank informedtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

The hotel is a house on a hill that is very difficult to get to, but worth it because of the freindly and courteous staff, the clean rooms, and the location near the Alhambra. The breakfast was cold foods, ham, cheese, pastries) with toast and coffee or tea (the coffee was excellent!). Sofia was particularly helpful in obtaining our tickets to the Alhambra on-line and gave great recommendations for eating establishments. Manuel was equally helpful and kind. The premises are beatiful, with a lovely veranda overlooking the city.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABQStover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

First the good.

The staff is wonderful. Sophia and Manuel, thank you for all of your help, your courtesy and most of all your patience. Well done.

The rooms are nicely apportioned and large enough for two. My wife and I stayed in the Torre room with its amazing views looking over Granada and a nice sized terrace with which to enjoy the vista. Some of the common bugaboos associated with hotel stays, such a noise, or the lack of water pressure, were never a problem. Given the lack of any troubles, we were able to enjoy the comfort of the room and the terrace during the daily siesta time and the nightly slumber. The only discomfort was the lack of a king bed. Rather the room is outfitted with two full beds pushed together and separately made up. Others may find this annoying, though I found if enough red wine is consumed during the evening repast, fussing over the sheets is the least of my night time worries.

The location, while central to most of Granada's sites by geography is not as good as one may think looking at a map. Getting to the Alhambra is easy, but moving to and from central Granada is a bit of a hike. My wife, the eternal optimist, said that at least we'd have very firm derrières after the trip, given the number of steps one must climb to return to the hotel. The difficultly of climbing the steps also increases in direct proportionality to the number of bottles one consumes at the local tapas restaurant. Something to keep in mind if one is considering dining on the mediocre fare which has made Granada infamous.

But the steps are only a minor irritant, one may even see them as charming, that is if one’s mother is a mountain goat.

My biggest complainant about the location comes for those who cursed with car rentals. Finding the road Alcubilla del Caracol is located on is difficult and without much room for error. And once the slim street is found, actually negotiating the heavily parked, narrowly defined street is the very definition of harrowing. During our drive down Aire Alta, we came upon the protruding mirror of a parked car on one side, and an inflexible stone wall on the other, leaving just enough room for a smaller car than the one that had been assigned to me. The solution to our quandary involved my mother climbing onto the hood of the offending parked car, to push in the spring-loaded mirror, while my wife and I measured the available inches of space on both sides. True we made it, but putting one’s mother onto the hood of a Passat is beyond the realm of decency in hotel check-in under any circumstances.

Given the difficulty we had in reaching the hotel, we were without our car for the remainder or our stay, thus limiting our availability for day trips and driving jaunts through the countryside. This was a major disappointment. Had I known how difficult the hotel was to reach by car, and then how difficult a car is to extract from its final resting spot, it is unlikely I would've stayed here.

My tip. Stay at Alcubilla del Caracol if arrival in Granada is by train or air, with no designs on using a car.

Otherwise, if a car is the method of transport, there are probably better options to consider.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ehazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon. The hotel deserves it's number 1 rating. Beautifully presented, relaxed atmosphere, contemporary well decorated rooms with great tasteful pieces of art. Whilst it's certainly an uphill walk to get there, it's well worth it for the amazing views of the City.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMaxT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
829 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
785 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Palacio de Los Navas
Hotel Palacio de Los Navas
#55 of 122 in Granada
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,734 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,259 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol

Address: Calle Aire Alta 12, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $169 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen De La Alcubilla Del Caracol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing