We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“95% great, but not perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Ladron de Agua
Ranked #5 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“95% great, but not perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I like hotels of this nature -- small, intimate, and crammed into a cool, historical building in a great location. Ladron de Agua delivered what it promised in this respect. The bed was very nice, the shower was great (with nice-quality soaps and shower gels and such), and everything else in the room was at least adequate. Service was exceptional throughout, from the online booking through to departure (including printing out my boarding card for free, and offering me free coffee on the morning of my departure).

If you're getting Alhambra tickets from them, be aware that you still need to take the voucher they will provide you and collect the tickets from the Alhambra ticket office -- not a big deal, but if you are timing your visit to the Alhambra in order to sleep in a little, it pays to be aware that you must be at the ticket office 1 hour prior to the designated time.

Now, the tiny annoyances. First, you will notice that you are provided with a pair of earplugs. These are, it turns out, quite recommendable to use if you have trouble sleeping with noise. It is not a quiet hotel in any sense, really -- you will hear noise from the street until 1-2AM most nights, and the sounds of people going up and down the stairs in the morning. I, myself, am not bothered with this, living on a very noisy street at home anyway, but I can see how it would be disturbing to people used to quiet. Secondly: the key they provide you is attached to a giant metal key fob, and it is a pain in the butt to carry around. I like having a keycard because I can easily slip it into my back pocket and not worry about it when I'm out and about. If you're carrying a purse or a fanny-pack, as so many people seem to do, it may be less of an issue, but I like to travel ultra-light.

The "complimentary wine service" makes very little difference, as other people have mentioned. Just to go to any one of the nearby bars, fork over 2€, and get a better glass of wine (with a tapa) whenever you like. Life's too short to drink crappy wine, and the red they served was easily one of the worst I had all through my trip in Spain.

Note: take the bus to and from the airport. The stop is like 400-500m away, and you will save over 20 euros. Get off at the Gran Via stop, turn left at the major intersection with Reyes Catolicos, and walk. Easy as pie, and a good way to save money.

Room Tip: If you want to cut down on noise, try to get a room that's not by the stairs. If you can afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We love the 95% and will continue to strive for 100% perfection!
Please come back and see us again.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    194
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
82
508
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Great visit to Granada but a disappointing stay at this bed and breakfast. The building and location are really nice but, perhaps we stayed at a busy time so the place did not live up to it's reputation. Standard room was adequate but extremely dark with 1 tiny shuttered window. Toiletries bolted to wall and hard to get hand soap or shampoo out of bottle, towels (even the hand towels) not changed at all. The so-called complimentary early evening drinks consisted of a few cm's of sherry at the bottom of a bottle for 4 guests. On asking if it was possible to have a glass of red wine the answer was categorically NO! from the only member of staff at the desk who was busy on the computer. On a positive side, the hotel was great at getting our Alhambra tickets. Most staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was fine and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, and we take all guest comments seriously. We are happy you found the comfortable bed and our historic setting to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Granada. Our room was wonderful - a bottle of champagne with strawberries and chocolate was waiting for us when we arrived. The hotel is in a great location. We would definitely stay again. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, so I cannot comment on the breakfast (there were plenty of places to grab a bite to eat for breakfast near the hotel).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moraits25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
What a wonderful review! My staff and I are so happy that your stay was entirely enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
295 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel looks lovely on the internet. And it IS lovely in many ways in reality. It falls into the "art hotel" genre - a beautifully renovated, beautiful old property with some chic furniture and art (for sale) on the walls everywhere. The location could not be better for getting just about anywhere you need/want to in this fantastic city. But it rests on the laurels of its location - which means it is over-priced for what you get. Our bill will be (we have 1 more night to go): €609 for 3 nights B & B. Of course we knew that before, but had expected a bit more. We are paying more a night here than we paid at (for example) the Raffles Hotel in Phnomh Penh on a recent holiday in Laos and Cambodia. Picky negatives (which one would not be so picky about, if the price were not what it is): 1. The hotel seems under-staffed. Receptionist also responsible for organising breakfast. The young woman today did ask us if we would like another cup of coffee. Her counterpart yesterday didn't. Another slice of cheese maybe? Oh no. None left on the buffet. And does one really feel like traipsing out of the restaurant up the steps to the reception area to request a slice of cheese? 2. Fancy Molton Brown bathroom products - but bracketed to the walls against theft. Fair enough, but the hand soap drips all over the shop and you have to be very dexterous and determined to extract shampoo from its secured container. What's the worst that could happen, if - as in other stylish hotels - you actually had cute little containers of classy products? and - hey - what does it matter if guests pocket the odd one or two? Nice memories of a nice place. 3. One nice touch is they serve free 'fino' and red wine (and a handful of olives and crisps) as a pre-dinner treat. But last night THE staff member on duty was gossiping on the phone to a boyfriend or parent or someone, so maybe hadn't noticed that there was about 1 cm of red wine left in the bottle - presumably from the day before. Yugh!

These are perhaps queeny, spoilt-behaviour, niggling comments. But why not, when you're paying this sort of price.

Teacher's comment: could do better.

Mind you, it does have a lovely location and our room was adorable.

Room Tip: Try and bargain for a better price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We always strive to improve our services and will certainly consider some of your suggestions for improvements. Just one thing; the reason we have Molton Brown wall mounted shampoo, body wash and hand wash dispensers, is simply to save the environment from hundreds of small plastic containers which have to be disposed of every day. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My daughter and I spent two luscious days in Granada and we aRe already planning a return trip as we simply didn't have enough time. This hotel is simply delightful. Lovely decor, great staff , and simple little things in your room that make a difference like tissues, magnifying mirror in the bathroom and bottled water. During my 2 week holiday in Europe all of these were missing in all hotels. The location is fantastic. Very easy if you Are fit to walk up to the Alhumbra or simply catch a cheap bus for 1.20€ up there from the square 50 meters away. Yes the noise can be a little noisy at night but I have found all European cities like this. The earplugs supplied means no problems with sleeping in the luscious beds with lovely linen. Looking forward to returning as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front overlooking the Alhumbra on level 1. There are three floors of rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brightonprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We are delighted that you found our hotel so comfortable and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations! Please come stay with us next time in Granada....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great little hotel situated in an old Merchants house in one of the loveliest parts of Granada. Room was decorated in a simple Moorish style and was both spacious and clean. The building itself is beatiful and made a welcome change from the corporate style of many hotels. Nice touches included free bottled water and Molton Brown toiletries as well as a complementary glass of sherry each evening. The staff were all very pleasant and Marisa was particularly helpful - happy to recommend and book local restaurants and assist with our travel plans which included a day trip to the beach. Location was great with easy access to the town centre as well as the Albaicin and the Alhambra. Rooms at the front overlook the Alhambra itself. Breakfast was simple but there was plenty of choice and good value at 12 Euros each. We stayed during the Easter week celebrations. This did mean some late nights as the processions often went on until well into the early hours but the atmosphere and spectacle certainly added to the holiday. The nearby La Fontana bar/cafe was a lovely spot for a bit of people watching. Granada was a delight - full of history and all set against the backdrop of the snow covered Sierra Nevada. Am already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are more expensive but have great views towards the Alhambra. The suite on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review. Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

How much for the experience of a group of school girls walking down the street singing a heartfelt round of "Viva Espania", or youths serenading on their guitars down the street? We sat on our first floor window, behind wrought iron balustrade and watched the daily procession. Across the road was a classic view of Spanish apartments lined on a hillside and a stream coursing alongside the cobbled, restricted traffic road. Above this, only a glimpse of the Alhambra, not even that once the trees take on their leaves.

Perfectly positioned to reach all of the old town sites.

The room itself was huge, very traditional and extremely well renovated.Beautiful bed and linen. The room was nice and warm, seemed it came from underfloor heating. Bath was expansive, although the water never reached piping hot and the shower flooded the bathroom. The interior courtyard was beautiful, traditional and artistic, however not the most inviting to linger. Then our room was so nice we never really tried it. Sleep was OK, noise did continue late but very quiet in the morning. Timber shutters gave good blocking of the light.

Service was good. Breakfast was good, although the cereals were all too sweet. Nice natural , oat based muesli would be good. Strict order of no eating in the room was a pain as we wanted a rest from the salty restuarant food some nights.

Warning, your GPS may make an absolute mess of getting you here due to the restricted access road, so check very carefuly first, as it is actually really easy, direct from Plaza Nueva. Perhaps the owners could put some precise instructions on the web?

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a front street room. The higher, the better the view as there are trees in the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write an extensive review. Entrance to the Old Town can be challenging to navigate by car, we tried to make it easier by providing local maps and directions on our website. Would love to welcome you back to Granada and our hotel on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Property: El Ladron de Agua
Address: Carrera Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramon Jimenez's journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern... All these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing