We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking forward to come back again! Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Ladron de Agua
Ranked #4 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Cagliari
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Looking forward to come back again! Lovely!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Staff polite, smiling, helpful, able to speak spanish and english, genorous with informations to tourists.
Centrally positioned, just near plaza nueva (you must leave your car a bit far), but quiet and relaxing since you put your foot inside of the hotel.
The room was beautifully furnished and smart (mine was called "Sueno de Isabel" = "Isabel's dream"), king size bed, spacious, bathroom with double washbasin, shower combined with whirpool bath, bathrobe.
Free glass of wine in the library for guests in the evening.
Breakfast expensive but very good.
Absolutely to reccomend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francyviaggiatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments. We are delighted that you found our staff smiling , polite and helpful. They are wonderful people who love to serve and to make sure our guests are both comfortable and able to make the most out of their stay in Granada. With so much to do and to see, very often in a few days, it is essential to have someone who knows the city, its sites and the best places to eat or drink...

You stayed in my favourite room "El Sueno de Isabel", and I am glad you enjoyed the room, bathroom and all the amenities.
Both our staff and I are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to El Ladron de Agua and Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    196
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
86
511
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Beautiful balance between historic Spanish architecture and modern conveniences and touches, I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 night stay at El Ladron de Agua. Great location, understated elegance, exceptionally friendly helpful staff and tastefully appointed rooms all made this a very special boutique hotel experience. Just steps from the Alhambra, and easy walking distance to many stores and restaurants. Breakfast offered all fresh selections, my room was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable, and loved the Moulton Brown soaps in the bathroom. Enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine seated by the infinity fountain in the atrium - a perfect evening break. Will stay here again on my next trip to Granada.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vibrantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are delighted that you found our hotel so pleasurable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The reviews on Tripadvisor are very important to us, and we really appreciate your kind comments. The fact that you found the hotel´s architecture attractive, a mix between 17th century and modern, is very gratifying, as we made an effort to find the right balance between then and now.... I sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in April 2013. During our eight day trip to Spain we stayed in five hotels, and El Ladron de Agua was my favorite. The location of the hotel is good with convenient access to many of the attractions in Grenada, including the Alhambra. The design and furnishings of the hotel are a good blend of contemporary and historic, and the staff are friendly. The owner was very friendly and helpful and spent much time with us to answer our many questions about our next destination (Seville).

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel. A street view room might be nicer, but it might also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoHiddenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your positive review about our hotel. I remember you and you and your lovely wife, very well, and it was such a pleasure having you stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed Restaurante Puerta del Carmen, which is one of my favourites, and I will pass your kind comments on to the owners.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel and Granada, on your next visit, and then why not try one of the beautifully appointed rooms at the front of the hotel, facing the Generalife/Alhambra and the river. I am sure you will find them just as comfortable and quiet as the one you stayed in...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Beautiful spacious room with fabulous beamed ceiling. Great bathroom with Molton Brown shampoo and shower foam. Rooms on front have views of Alhambra but could be very noisy and cost more. Our room had no view but was quiet. Wonderful breakfast in old wine cellar. Great complimentary sherry in evening. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Forgo the view of Alhambra and get a room at side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_and_Jane_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we really appreciate that! You are absolutely right about our rooms at the back - they are indeed quiet. However, I suggest you try one of our front facing rooms, with views to the Generalife/Alhambra and the Rio Darro, next time, and I am sure you will find them very comfortable too. Thanks again for your constructive comments and we hope to see you again soon in beautiful Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Already the taxi driver´s comment made me excited: "you are staying at one of the best hotels in town", well, if a local says so, it sounds promising. He had not promised too much. The hotel - with its historic fassade carefully restored - is a architectural perl in the heart of the most charming district of Granada. The staff is very friendly and helpful (they even got me into a private Flamenco show which was exclusively for members of the club, an amazing experience). Rooms have all you can expect at this price level, plus the special charm of the historic building. Truly boutique! (I also liked the Molton Brown products in the bathroom.) Great breakfast with fresh orange juice and coffee from the expresso machine.

All the magic of the city is on your doorstep: views of the Alhambra, "Plaza nueva", the vibrant bars and restaurants, the Arab tea shops, the street vendors, everything is just a short walk away from the hotel. I absolutely loved the location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visionloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are delighted that you found your stay so pleasurable and that the finer touches that we pride ourselves upon, where noticed and enjoyed. We are particularly excited that our reputation for quality and service is recognised by valued guests like yourselves as well as within our local community. Hope to see you in Granada again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had read great reviews of the hotel and we weren't disappointed. The photos don't do it justice. The location is great for all the major sites and it is on the beautiful Carro del Darro a small cobbled street that runs alongside the River Dorro with bars and restaurants along it and stunning views of Alhambra on the opposite side of the river. It's a great place to people watch and is close to the other major sites and we walked everywhere. The hotel was superb and the staff were always so friendly and helpful. We had read that the noise from the street could be a problem but we didn't find that to be the case and we were there when the Easter parades were on. The rooms at the front have triple glazing I think. The Molton Brown toiletries were a welcome touch as was the choice of firm or soft pillows. It's very stylish and clean - we have nothing but great things to say and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Deseo was a room on the 2nd floor at the back, so views weren't great but as we were out all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank behappy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over Easter! We also believe that our hotel has a superb location, in the heart of the Old City, - below The Alhambra and close to everything...Your comments about the friendly service and the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, are most gratifying to us and will be passed on to our staff.
We are look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Granada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had a pleasure of staying at the hotel during my business trip to Granada and absolutely love it!

This boutique hotel is full of character with a rustic Spanish deco, modern touches like Molton Brown products, flat screen TV and an art gallery inside! The hotel beautifully embraces the concept of literature and art with monthly art exhibitions in the courtyard, library with wonderful books and Granada guides (make sure to try a glass of sherry and tapas that are left there for hotel guests!). Each room is not a number but takes its name from one of Spanish poems – these days you don’t get this very often.

And the location? Imagine a narrow street next to the romantic river, a stone away from Alhambra and 2 minutes from the best tapas bars in town. Make sure to look up and notice the art on the front wall of he hotel - stunning!

Of course, great staff makes a great hotel. They genuinely care about your stay and will provide you with plenty of suggestions in terms of great restaurants, tapas bars, flamenco shows etc.– always with a big smile on their face!

Thank you very much for making my visit to Granada very special!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamila85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am very pleased that you found our hotel such a great experience. That´s why we are here, to serve you and make your stay comfortable.
Your comments about our staff, is much appreciated. I believe they do a terrific job and I will pass on your comments.
Again, thank you for staying with us, and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
1,590 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
1,142 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 125 in Granada
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Property: El Ladron de Agua
Address: Carrera Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramon Jimenez's journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern... All these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing