We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical hotel with all the mod cons”
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Ladron de Agua
Ranked #6 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Beautiful spacious room with fabulous beamed ceiling. Great bathroom with Molton Brown shampoo and shower foam. Rooms on front have views of Alhambra but could be very noisy and cost more. Our room had no view but was quiet. Wonderful breakfast in old wine cellar. Great complimentary sherry in evening. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Forgo the view of Alhambra and get a room at side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_and_Jane_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we really appreciate that! You are absolutely right about our rooms at the back - they are indeed quiet. However, I suggest you try one of our front facing rooms, with views to the Generalife/Alhambra and the Rio Darro, next time, and I am sure you will find them very comfortable too. Thanks again for your constructive comments and we hope to see you again soon in beautiful Granada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 865 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Already the taxi driver´s comment made me excited: "you are staying at one of the best hotels in town", well, if a local says so, it sounds promising. He had not promised too much. The hotel - with its historic fassade carefully restored - is a architectural perl in the heart of the most charming district of Granada. The staff is very friendly and helpful (they even got me into a private Flamenco show which was exclusively for members of the club, an amazing experience). Rooms have all you can expect at this price level, plus the special charm of the historic building. Truly boutique! (I also liked the Molton Brown products in the bathroom.) Great breakfast with fresh orange juice and coffee from the expresso machine.

All the magic of the city is on your doorstep: views of the Alhambra, "Plaza nueva", the vibrant bars and restaurants, the Arab tea shops, the street vendors, everything is just a short walk away from the hotel. I absolutely loved the location!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visionloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are delighted that you found your stay so pleasurable and that the finer touches that we pride ourselves upon, where noticed and enjoyed. We are particularly excited that our reputation for quality and service is recognised by valued guests like yourselves as well as within our local community. Hope to see you in Granada again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had read great reviews of the hotel and we weren't disappointed. The photos don't do it justice. The location is great for all the major sites and it is on the beautiful Carro del Darro a small cobbled street that runs alongside the River Dorro with bars and restaurants along it and stunning views of Alhambra on the opposite side of the river. It's a great place to people watch and is close to the other major sites and we walked everywhere. The hotel was superb and the staff were always so friendly and helpful. We had read that the noise from the street could be a problem but we didn't find that to be the case and we were there when the Easter parades were on. The rooms at the front have triple glazing I think. The Molton Brown toiletries were a welcome touch as was the choice of firm or soft pillows. It's very stylish and clean - we have nothing but great things to say and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Deseo was a room on the 2nd floor at the back, so views weren't great but as we were out all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank behappy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over Easter! We also believe that our hotel has a superb location, in the heart of the Old City, - below The Alhambra and close to everything...Your comments about the friendly service and the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, are most gratifying to us and will be passed on to our staff.
We are look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Granada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had a pleasure of staying at the hotel during my business trip to Granada and absolutely love it!

This boutique hotel is full of character with a rustic Spanish deco, modern touches like Molton Brown products, flat screen TV and an art gallery inside! The hotel beautifully embraces the concept of literature and art with monthly art exhibitions in the courtyard, library with wonderful books and Granada guides (make sure to try a glass of sherry and tapas that are left there for hotel guests!). Each room is not a number but takes its name from one of Spanish poems – these days you don’t get this very often.

And the location? Imagine a narrow street next to the romantic river, a stone away from Alhambra and 2 minutes from the best tapas bars in town. Make sure to look up and notice the art on the front wall of he hotel - stunning!

Of course, great staff makes a great hotel. They genuinely care about your stay and will provide you with plenty of suggestions in terms of great restaurants, tapas bars, flamenco shows etc.– always with a big smile on their face!

Thank you very much for making my visit to Granada very special!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamila85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I am very pleased that you found our hotel such a great experience. That´s why we are here, to serve you and make your stay comfortable.
Your comments about our staff, is much appreciated. I believe they do a terrific job and I will pass on your comments.
Again, thank you for staying with us, and welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had the El Sueño de Isabel room on the third floor. Very quiet nice room with a partial view of the Alhambra. Nice bathroom and 5 windows in the room/bathroom. The location of the hotel could not be better to see the sites of this wonderful city. The decor and style of the rooms are wooden beams and rustic. Really liked it.The staff were very helpful and friendly. They offer free local sweet wine and olives and potato chips at 7-9pm in the library. They offer a breakfast for $12 Euro a person- did not have it so can't comment. Will for sure stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Had room El Sueño de Isabel room. Liked it. Quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us...The room you stayed in is my favourite room; it is airy with lots of light and a views of the Alhambra. Our complimentary drinks and snack service is a favourite amongst our guests, and I am glad you enjoyed itl. It is also comforting to know that you were satisfied with the service and our staff, they are very dedicated and all of them have an intimate knowledge of Granada, its culture, the places to see, the best restaurants and tapas bars, and how to get around the city. Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I knew the location was perfect before arriving but I was surprised at how nice the room was. I had a very large bedroom and bathroom with high beam ceilings. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was the perfect retreat after a long day of sightseeing. Thanks for an ideal hotel experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Nothing make us more happy than satisfied guests! Thank you for sharing your experience. My staff will certainly appreciate your kind comments (and so do I!). Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, and magical Granada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have visited many cities and areas of Spain, it is a vibrant country for sure.
When visiting a city however, it is often difficult to find a hotel that is in a good location for sight seeing while at the same time is peaceful enough to get the rest you so need to enjoy a new day out! Hotel Ladron de Agua is just such a place.
Moreover, the staff are bi-ligual and extremely willing to assist you in any way they can.
They are indeed a representation of a gracious host. You will sleep in dreamy comfort and whether you chose to wander the streets of the Albacin, trek up to the Alhambra or just indulge in some of Granada's fine cuisine for the evening... it's all just a saunter outside your front door!
I suppose the local "scene" could become a bit much in nearby Plaza Nueva in the heat of summer! But then you would not be in Granada then, would you?
Oh no, join the rest of the Spanish people and get ye to the playa!
All joking aside, this is a gem of a hotel in every way.

Room Tip: I did not eat at the hotel, save one day of 6 for breakfast. That is just my way. I generally pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnnePerreault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,812 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,312 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
814 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Address: Carrera Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $87 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramon Jimenez's journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern... All these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing