We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Budget”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #104 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Budget”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was so happy that we were only staying in this hotel for one night; and thankfully the last night of our week long trip. We booked this hotel due to its excellent location and it's inexpensive room rate so I guess you get what you pay for. We stayed in room 132 which was through a maze of narrow corridors with thin, dirty looking carpet. The bed was hard as a rock and looked as though the comforter hadn't been washed in ages. We felt like we had laid on rocks that infested us with bugs. The walls were VERY thin in which we were able to hear the rolling of luggage through the hallways or every word people said in the room surrounding ours. The bathroom was a nice size, but the drain didn't work in the tub so our showers ended up being baths. The hotel website also mentions there is a hair dryer in the bathroom, but ours did not include one.

It was great that the breakfast was included in the room rate, but again you get what you pay for. There was a selection of breads, a cold, mushy potato bake, and very few options of fruit. Just a very minimal selection so people with strict dietary requirements, be aware.

The pros: the receptionist was incredibly friendly! She gave us some great tips for site seeing and touring the city. One we truly appreciated was not walking around the Albayzín neighborhood at dark. The streets are narrow and dark with no road signs. Hippies are just sitting around smoking in the corners and our Top 10 book said it's an area prone to pick pocketing. She also informed us of a great lookout spot to get great views of the Alhambra! So her information was very valuable.

The hotel was actually not too difficult to find. It's on a main road called Recogidas and it has a huge sign so you can't miss it. If you have a car, you'll have to park in front of the hotel, request the parking spot from the receptionist and she'll open the parking garage door for you which is right next to the hotel. Parking is 16.50 euros/day, which is not bad compared to other hotels in Spain. It's great knowing the car is safe and secure in an underground parking garage as well.

The location was perfect. It was walking distance to the Alhambra (around 20-30 minutes), the Albayzín neighborhood, and the modern shopping streets. The location really can't be beat.

Other than feeling like we were in a hostel or a university dorm room the hotel was great for a one night stay. If you don't mind being kept up at night, not having the greatest furnishings or breakfast than this hotel would be great for you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTesch1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    74
    53
    17
    21
See reviews for
39
102
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My family and I (2 adults and 2 children aged 12 and 8) stayed for 1 night in late September. Arriving very late from Madrid by train and leaving mid afternoon the next day.
Upon arrival reception was fast and very friendly (a few laughs and smiles always helps). We were on the first floor in a quad room. 4 individual beds that basically filled the room with a little space for walking and placing bags.
We received what we paid for - a good clean room in a hotel within walking distance of the centre of the beautiful city. We chose to stay here and not neat the Alhambra and the closer you get the more expensive it becomes both from a hotel and food perspective. The restaurants close to the hotel were very good and plenty of shopping on the semi-main thoroughfare.
Bathrooms were small but served their purpose.
Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and filled up myself and the kids. Good variety, not over the top, but sufficient.
The new receptionist was just as friendly, spoke excellent English and happily stored our bags until 4pm when we arrived back to head to the station for our train to Sevilla. The reception area is a good place to sit and relax and the free wifi throughout the hotel was a bonus for the kids and myself, update our tables and phones.
Thank you for a good stay!

PS We booked direct with the hotel website and received breakfast included. People who booked on other websites may have to pay extra for breakfast. (I believe the hotel saves the commission paid to travel agents and websites when you book with them direct which gives them the ability to include the breakfast for you)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlphaVictor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed there for a short trip in Granada for one night. The hotel is located very centrally, right next to the cafe's and restaurants, shops and major attractions. The rooms are not very spacious but good for short breaks. The breakfast was not very varied but I guess it's normal for a budget hotel.
We appreciated very much the reception, the blonde girl. We arrived in Granada and wanted to visit next day Alhambra and were staying only one night. We didn't know we needed to make reservations for Alhambra and the girl in the Reception was very very helpful and last minute she found us the last 2 tickets on a guided tour which was amazing, worth every penny! It was absolutely brilliant, otherwise we probably would have missed out on the Alhambra.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralu2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was a little bit disappointed when i arrived after reading the reviews on here. Whilst the rooms were clean and the staff were helpful, the acoomodation oversll is definately firmly in the budget category.

First of all there are about 10 steps up from the street and no lift inside the hotel. I think this id important to note if you're planning a trip. The lights in the hallway weren't working which made it a little challenging.

The room was clean, couldn't fault it there although our window opened right in the middle of 6 air con fans and over an alleyway that received a delivery of barrells at a very unearthly hour the next morning.

The location is perfect though, very central and only a few minutes walk to the Cathedral and a great range of cafes, bars and restaurants. The continental buffet breakfast is also definatelty recommended!

The hotel parking is 16 euros for the day but on street parking is free on a Sunday.

Overall, a nice little hotel, great location, great breakfast, just don't expect a view!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hotel Presidente was definitely one of the fancier places we stayed in during our trip to Spain.

The room was spacious and clean, and the hotel provided an excellent continental breakfast.

In terms of location, the hotel is only a short walk away from most of the tourist spots and from the bus stop for the Alhambra. The hotel really is great value for money.

Other facilities include a very good wifi connection, complimentary tea and coffee, as well as free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

i have a bit of difficulty reviewing this hotel because the staff was so incredibly helpful that i want to rank them higher. this hotel has the type of employees that any business should strive to have. they went out of their way to help with anything that they could. the hotel was very inexpensive for granada and the rooms were clean. however, there was an awful smell that kept coming up our bathroom sink that was difficult to handle. the first room that we had smelled very strongly of smoke even though it was nonsmoking but they were quick to accommodate us with another room. the second room was the last queen bed room available and it unfortunately had a sewer smell from the sink. our air conditioner leaked water and did not keep the room incredibly cold. we were directly overlooking the street but the windows did a great job of keeping out noise, even when spain won the euro cup. we stayed here with friends and they did not have any trouble with the smells (though agreed that our room smelled horrible) and enjoyed their stay. i think that we were just unlucky with our room. for the price, if i were able to get the right room, i would definitely stay here again. the staff was so overwhelmingly positive that i might even stay in a smelly room just to be able to support them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chester s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I booked this hotel through a hotel site and saved quite a bit on direct booking, the difference paid for return airport service about £75. I was informed of a 15 Euro charge for a cot but when I left the hotel I was told it was free.
The hotel is small, only one floor, there is no lift and about 15 steps to the lobby from street level and 20 steps to the rooms. It is a bit difficult with 2 kids, pram and bags.
The hotel was spotless, rooms clean and presentation good. The reception staff all spoke fairly good English and were friendly. There are a bunch of leaflets in the lobby, they provide a free map, there is a free to use computer and free wifi in the hotel rooms - handy for Skype.
One of the reasons I booked this hotel was what the breakfast was included in the already reasonable price. Breakfast was limited to bread rolls, 2-3 cereals, juices, jams, honey and hot drink from the machine. We stayed for 9 days so it was a bit samey after a few days but it was a good start. The dining area is very small and limited, there are 9-10 tables for 2, only once did I have to wait in the lobby area for a free table.
The hot drinks machine is free but the drinks are not great, Cappuccino was the only decent drink, the Hot Choc was bland, teabags provided for tea were a little herbal for me but I had my own kettle and bought good old PG Tips from the supermarket.
The room was a little cramped, 3 single beds and 1 cot. It got a bit tight with the pram, 2 suitcases and other bags but we left the pram in the lobby and made a bit of space.
The bathroom was small but clean, there were bottles of shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, toothbrush, soap and shoe polish. The bath had a sliding door for the bath/shower, no lock on the door, bidet and toilet. There is an aircon unit with remote which we had on heat for the whole trip.
The rooms were cleaned everyday, the sheets were not always changed but beds were made, towels were changed daily. My son was sick and vomited on the bed sheets late at night, I popped down to reception, they offered to change the room to a bigger one but we were all set so took new sheets instead which were promptly provided.
Our room was overlooking the main road, there are outside shutters making the room very dark but not great for keeping sound out. It would get a bit noisy at night upto 10-11pm and later on the weekend.
The location is quite good, it is located in the middle of a shopping street, the El Cort de Anglis department store is about 10 minute walk, Super Mercado super market is again 10 minutes with a larger one about 15 mins. Banks and ATMs are everywhere, post office is 3-4 mins walk.
The St Nicolas Mirador viewing point for the Al Hambra is about 20 mins walk UPHILL. I stress that because on our first outing we got lost and were struggling with a pram on cobbled streets and no/very few ramps on the stairs.
The Granada Mosque/Masjid is right beside the Mirador St Nicholas and is open for prayer times, the garden area with a stunning view of the Al Hambra is availabe to non-Muslims outside prayer times in the day plus a tour of the mosque. On Friday 1-2pm there is a selection of savoury and sweet snacks outside the mosque.
I required Halal food, the Moroccan area was about 10 mins walk with doner kebab, tagine - after a few meals we got fed up. As a Muslim it was a little difficult to explain to the local restaurants that we needed vege and non-alocholic. I went to a local bakery and order what I was told was a vege roll only to find some kind of meat in it. My bad for not knowing the Spanish - just found an app for it. There is a McDonalds in Carrefour, about 40 minute walk - unfortunately we could not get a taxi back after waiting ages so had to trek it. I did manage to order Dominos Pizza to our room from their using Google translate which was handy.
We got a taxi for our trip to the Al Hambra and Parc de las Sciencas, everywhere else we walked - and got lost many times. If you are not good with directions and have an iPhone or similar it is worth getting a data package to use Google Maps.
The time we visited was the 9-18th of February, everyday was sunny and dry but COLD! The day we had tickets for the Al Hambra it was -3'c at 8am, because it was so cold we only spent a few hours there as it was still cold at 11am - even the water features were frozen.
There is a park about 20 mins walk away with a nice kids play area. The locals are very friendly and really love kids.
We brought loads of snacks, baby powder milk and baby food, there is a selection in the super markets along with all the other essentials like bottles and nappies - we over did the packing.
The highlight for my son was the Parc de las Sciencas (science park), it was very quiet when we visited which made it more fun for him. There is loads to play with and poke! At the time there was a T-Rex exhibition which was interesting as they had large moving models. Outside there were birds of prey and a demonstration but all in Spanish. There was a large play area with loads of things to experiment with, also the tower is worth a visit as you can see the whole of the city.
Overall the trip was enjoyable but would have been better later in the year maybe April. The hotel was good and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Juan Miguel
Hotel Juan Miguel
#98 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Reino de Granada Hotel
#87 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel GIT Alcover
Hotel GIT Alcover
#85 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dauro Granada
#27 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Hotel Reina Mora
#84 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#28 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Calle Recogidas 11, 18005 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Presidente 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing