We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget but great location”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #97 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was a little bit disappointed when i arrived after reading the reviews on here. Whilst the rooms were clean and the staff were helpful, the acoomodation oversll is definately firmly in the budget category.

First of all there are about 10 steps up from the street and no lift inside the hotel. I think this id important to note if you're planning a trip. The lights in the hallway weren't working which made it a little challenging.

The room was clean, couldn't fault it there although our window opened right in the middle of 6 air con fans and over an alleyway that received a delivery of barrells at a very unearthly hour the next morning.

The location is perfect though, very central and only a few minutes walk to the Cathedral and a great range of cafes, bars and restaurants. The continental buffet breakfast is also definatelty recommended!

The hotel parking is 16 euros for the day but on street parking is free on a Sunday.

Overall, a nice little hotel, great location, great breakfast, just don't expect a view!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hotel Presidente was definitely one of the fancier places we stayed in during our trip to Spain.

The room was spacious and clean, and the hotel provided an excellent continental breakfast.

In terms of location, the hotel is only a short walk away from most of the tourist spots and from the bus stop for the Alhambra. The hotel really is great value for money.

Other facilities include a very good wifi connection, complimentary tea and coffee, as well as free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

i have a bit of difficulty reviewing this hotel because the staff was so incredibly helpful that i want to rank them higher. this hotel has the type of employees that any business should strive to have. they went out of their way to help with anything that they could. the hotel was very inexpensive for granada and the rooms were clean. however, there was an awful smell that kept coming up our bathroom sink that was difficult to handle. the first room that we had smelled very strongly of smoke even though it was nonsmoking but they were quick to accommodate us with another room. the second room was the last queen bed room available and it unfortunately had a sewer smell from the sink. our air conditioner leaked water and did not keep the room incredibly cold. we were directly overlooking the street but the windows did a great job of keeping out noise, even when spain won the euro cup. we stayed here with friends and they did not have any trouble with the smells (though agreed that our room smelled horrible) and enjoyed their stay. i think that we were just unlucky with our room. for the price, if i were able to get the right room, i would definitely stay here again. the staff was so overwhelmingly positive that i might even stay in a smelly room just to be able to support them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chester s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I booked this hotel through a hotel site and saved quite a bit on direct booking, the difference paid for return airport service about £75. I was informed of a 15 Euro charge for a cot but when I left the hotel I was told it was free.
The hotel is small, only one floor, there is no lift and about 15 steps to the lobby from street level and 20 steps to the rooms. It is a bit difficult with 2 kids, pram and bags.
The hotel was spotless, rooms clean and presentation good. The reception staff all spoke fairly good English and were friendly. There are a bunch of leaflets in the lobby, they provide a free map, there is a free to use computer and free wifi in the hotel rooms - handy for Skype.
One of the reasons I booked this hotel was what the breakfast was included in the already reasonable price. Breakfast was limited to bread rolls, 2-3 cereals, juices, jams, honey and hot drink from the machine. We stayed for 9 days so it was a bit samey after a few days but it was a good start. The dining area is very small and limited, there are 9-10 tables for 2, only once did I have to wait in the lobby area for a free table.
The hot drinks machine is free but the drinks are not great, Cappuccino was the only decent drink, the Hot Choc was bland, teabags provided for tea were a little herbal for me but I had my own kettle and bought good old PG Tips from the supermarket.
The room was a little cramped, 3 single beds and 1 cot. It got a bit tight with the pram, 2 suitcases and other bags but we left the pram in the lobby and made a bit of space.
The bathroom was small but clean, there were bottles of shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, toothbrush, soap and shoe polish. The bath had a sliding door for the bath/shower, no lock on the door, bidet and toilet. There is an aircon unit with remote which we had on heat for the whole trip.
The rooms were cleaned everyday, the sheets were not always changed but beds were made, towels were changed daily. My son was sick and vomited on the bed sheets late at night, I popped down to reception, they offered to change the room to a bigger one but we were all set so took new sheets instead which were promptly provided.
Our room was overlooking the main road, there are outside shutters making the room very dark but not great for keeping sound out. It would get a bit noisy at night upto 10-11pm and later on the weekend.
The location is quite good, it is located in the middle of a shopping street, the El Cort de Anglis department store is about 10 minute walk, Super Mercado super market is again 10 minutes with a larger one about 15 mins. Banks and ATMs are everywhere, post office is 3-4 mins walk.
The St Nicolas Mirador viewing point for the Al Hambra is about 20 mins walk UPHILL. I stress that because on our first outing we got lost and were struggling with a pram on cobbled streets and no/very few ramps on the stairs.
The Granada Mosque/Masjid is right beside the Mirador St Nicholas and is open for prayer times, the garden area with a stunning view of the Al Hambra is availabe to non-Muslims outside prayer times in the day plus a tour of the mosque. On Friday 1-2pm there is a selection of savoury and sweet snacks outside the mosque.
I required Halal food, the Moroccan area was about 10 mins walk with doner kebab, tagine - after a few meals we got fed up. As a Muslim it was a little difficult to explain to the local restaurants that we needed vege and non-alocholic. I went to a local bakery and order what I was told was a vege roll only to find some kind of meat in it. My bad for not knowing the Spanish - just found an app for it. There is a McDonalds in Carrefour, about 40 minute walk - unfortunately we could not get a taxi back after waiting ages so had to trek it. I did manage to order Dominos Pizza to our room from their using Google translate which was handy.
We got a taxi for our trip to the Al Hambra and Parc de las Sciencas, everywhere else we walked - and got lost many times. If you are not good with directions and have an iPhone or similar it is worth getting a data package to use Google Maps.
The time we visited was the 9-18th of February, everyday was sunny and dry but COLD! The day we had tickets for the Al Hambra it was -3'c at 8am, because it was so cold we only spent a few hours there as it was still cold at 11am - even the water features were frozen.
There is a park about 20 mins walk away with a nice kids play area. The locals are very friendly and really love kids.
We brought loads of snacks, baby powder milk and baby food, there is a selection in the super markets along with all the other essentials like bottles and nappies - we over did the packing.
The highlight for my son was the Parc de las Sciencas (science park), it was very quiet when we visited which made it more fun for him. There is loads to play with and poke! At the time there was a T-Rex exhibition which was interesting as they had large moving models. Outside there were birds of prey and a demonstration but all in Spanish. There was a large play area with loads of things to experiment with, also the tower is worth a visit as you can see the whole of the city.
Overall the trip was enjoyable but would have been better later in the year maybe April. The hotel was good and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furhan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

It felt a bit like entering a poor hotel, how wrong we were. Reception felt a bit cramped because of low ceilings, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. Could have done with a couple of extra square metres in the room for families though, as it's just an extra bed in a normal room, Excellent continental breakfast for the money, considering the next hotel we visited wanted 150% more! It's also nice, given that European hotels tend not to provide drink facilities in rooms, to be able to have free coffee, tea and chocolate facilities in the reception area, as long as you don't abuse it. A free access computer is also available in the reception area, which allowed us to boast on Facebook about the weather in Spain over the Jubilee weekend! The jewels in the crown of this hotel are the reception staff - helpful, personable and friendly, who were happy to spend time explaining the joys of this city and, even before we visited, booking a visit to the Alhambra based on a translated e-mail. A real credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canary_Exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Excellent central location, very knowledgeable receptionist. Never stayed in a 2 star before but was slot better then expected, shame no hairdryer or iron but wasn't expecting it. Plus breakfast for 3.80 Euros bargain in comparison to other places!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KsrandZain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Spent one night only, hotel is good, but not excellent, for the following reasons:
- could do with a little bit of tender loving care, chipped walls, worn out marble floors, bathroom smelt a sewage, not unbearable but noticeable. Breakfast a bit basic.
The good points, apart from the location:
- Diego at reception was a star, very helpful with everything, smiley and chatty
- Big room, 4 single beds
- Perfectly working air conditioning, as it was still 31º at 9pm
- Free wifi, although only there for one night so did not use it
- Fairly quiet room
Would I go back? Probably yes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDM1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Reino de Granada Hotel
#87 of 123 in Granada
150 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#60 of 123 in Granada
426 reviews
Urban Dream Granada
#55 of 123 in Granada
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#51 of 123 in Granada
359 reviews
Hotel Molinos
#69 of 123 in Granada
283 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel YIT Alcover
Hotel YIT Alcover
#90 of 123 in Granada
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Calle Recogidas 11, 18005 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $43 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Presidente 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing