We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Zaguan del Darro
Ranked #83 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Charming small hotel with perfect location. Helpfull staff answered extremely rapidly on my emails with questions. Ordered tickets to guided tour to Alhambra. Rooms where ok with heating. They recommend a garage 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. Driving to the hotel is not possible unless with taxi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nor_Wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 271 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a comfortable room on the 2nd floor with a view up to the Alhambra. Bed was comfortable and bathroom a little squeezy but very useable. The foyer is very attractive and staff were welcoming and helpful. The adjoining cafe/bar, the minotaur is recommended for breakfasts. Excellent location and close to sites of interest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Location is not important in Granada. There are 6-7 hotels on the same block. The whole city is so small you can cross it from left to right in 20 min and from up to down in 10 min.
Our room was very small, which was not so bad. However the air conditioner that didn't work was an issue. We opened the very small window that we had there, it didn't provide any air, but gave a way to many mosquitoes. The hot water stopped running at the moment I put soup all over myself. Not a nice feeling.
The city is fantastic, that is true. But I regret spending the night in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to stay there, make sure that you contacted this hotel directly and they gave you writte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateRez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for a night. Perfectly located in the Albayzin, we got a room that faced the Alhambra. A beautiful 300 year old building. Friendly service, rooms were kept clean. Above all, the price was very affordable with breath taking view of the Jewish quarter(opposite) and the Alhambra, especially at night. Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayuni_Aziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location. Our room fronted the Darro River and had a clear view to the Alhambra. We were close to downtown, restaurants, the Alhambra and many sights. I very much enjoyed the location, charm of the hotel and its helpful staff. My only complaint would be that the sink in our bathroom did not appear to have a trap and so the smell of sewer gas permeated the room unless the sink was in use. Because the building is so old, the spaces are quite small. It was not a problem for us, However, some may wish to consider other larger facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is situated opposite the Alhambra, right next to the river. The location could not be more ideal if you want to visit the Alhambra, and get a sense of the old town of Granada. We only stayed for 2 nights, and wish we could have made it longer as its a fantastic city. The hotel is fantastic value for such a central location, only 50euros a night, when a hotel just a few doors down was 120euros per night! The reception area is tastefully decorated, and the reception staff were very helpful providing us with maps and tips for parking (be very careful, old town Granada is littered with one way systems, speed cameras etc) luckily we found parking at the end of the road, which was free, otherwise there were a few public car parks. I would give this hotel 5 stars, but the room was a tiny bit dated, but otherwise, i could not fault it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Granada for the first time, and should we return, we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of Alhambra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jippa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This 15th century building is beautiful and well kept. It has been sympathetically renovated and turned into a hotel from its roots as a convent. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only thing that lets it down is the difficulty in finding it. This is because it is in the middle of the historic part of the city which does not allow access by cars. Unless you know this in advance you can spend hours - like we did - looking for the hotel.

Room Tip: There don't seem to be any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Posada Del Toro
Hotel Posada Del Toro
#41 of 123 in Granada
428 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Hotel Molinos
#66 of 123 in Granada
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Casa de Federico
Casa de Federico
#69 of 123 in Granada
256 reviews
Albaicín
Plaza Nueva Hotel
Plaza Nueva Hotel
#77 of 123 in Granada
347 reviews
San Pedro
Shine Albayzin
Shine Albayzin
#35 of 123 in Granada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zaguan del Darro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaguan del Darro

Address: Carrera Darro 23, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $51 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zaguan del Darro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zaguan del Darro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaguan Del Darro Granada
Zaguan Del Darro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing