We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Zaguan del Darro
Ranked #82 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for almost two weeks, and sampled different rooms because of the high demand.
The staff here were always always friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, right under the alhambra and you can walk everywhere. Cozy and clean and comfortable.
If you feel like going grand deluxe, room 301 is beautiful and has a little balcony looking straight up at the Alhambra.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank kledjcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 269 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

As soon as I found Hotel Zaguan del Darro on the internet, I knew it was where I wanted to stay in Granada. Driving into the centre of Granada was difficult with roadworks and main streets closed to general traffic. There is a new camara system that takes a photo of the car if you enter any of the roads where you are not meant to go. It is virtually impossible to get to the public parking stations without passing a camera. To avoid being fined, you need to ask the hotel to advise the local police that you are staying at the hotel. Also, if you get the hotel to stamp your parking ticket, you will get a small discount on the daily parking rate. Pack lightly as it is quite a walk from the parking to the hotel. A bag on wheels may help but it can be a bit bumpy down the cobble stone streets. We were initially a little shocked to find we had the room over the bar but we did not hear any noise from below at all. Usually, I would not choose to pay the extra for a room with a view but when we booked there was no choice and it was nice to be able to look up and down the picturesque street and river as well as up the the Alhambra.

Room Tip: Each room has its own character. Both rooms on the first floor overlooked the street and were fine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EncounterIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Charming hotel in excellent location. Our room had a limited view of Alhambra, save the money in lieu of the view. Room was small, linens clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Our teenage children were initially given a room with one double bed that we were easily able to switch for a very cool room with two single beds. Be prepared to take a taxi as Grenada is not a city designed well for cars and this hotel is not accessible by private vehicle.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Perfect location just on the edge of the Albaycin, the historic and charming old arab quarter of Granada and at the foot steps of the Alhambra hill. It is located in an hisitoric building with a charming courtyard that serves as lounge area. The staff is very friendly and helpull and make you feel "at home" right away. My single room was a bit small with rustic wood furniture and a tiny bathroom; but I took a peek at the other rooms and were very spacious with antique furniture that add to the charm of the place. There are several old arab courtyard houses called "carmen" that have been transformed into hotels and this, for a three stars rank, is on the budget side: good price!. The bar downstairs offers great breakfasts at cheap prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_Amado61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, Granadas most beautiful street, old and picturesque. I always compromise room size and comfort for this. We got a 'weird' shape double room with one bed on the bottom floor and one just up a stair. We did not mind though although I guess it's not for honeymooners. Then you need to ask for another room. I forgot my shoes in the wardrobe and never got any correspondence back on whether they were found upon emailing. Overall positive stay though!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annakatarinalsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were given a large quiet room. It was good value. The staff were gracious and helpful. The attached bar next door was good for breakfast and we enjoyed unwinding there with the genial host. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avocetexsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is located in front of the Alhambra hill and very close to Plaza Nueva.
It's an historic building and the room layout was rather... particular.
A great bargain for a single room (actually there was a second bed in the room loft)
I stayed just one night and was rather satisfied with my choice, especially considering the very good price I paid for it (but no breakfast included).
There's also a very good wine bar close by, ideal for having a last good "copa de vino tinto" before going to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucarobymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Plaza Nueva Hotel
Plaza Nueva Hotel
#75 of 122 in Granada
344 reviews
San Pedro
Shine Albayzin
Shine Albayzin
#30 of 122 in Granada
396 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hostal Moni Albayzin
Hostal Moni Albayzin
#81 of 122 in Granada
60 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Casa Palacio Pilar del Toro Hotel
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zaguan del Darro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaguan del Darro

Address: Carrera Darro 23, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $47 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zaguan del Darro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zaguan del Darro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaguan Del Darro Granada
Zaguan Del Darro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing