We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Staff, Good Location, Good Breakfast, Loud Traffic Noise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio de Los Navas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palacio de Los Navas
Ranked #53 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff, Good Location, Good Breakfast, Loud Traffic Noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We came here during a tour of southern Spain, arriving from Seville via train. Granada is a beautiful old city, and this hotel is in the heart of it. Arriving at night, we didn't get a chance to pick up our Caja Granada pass in advance of our appointment for the Alhambra tour first thing the following morning (getting tickets can be an ordeal!). The woman at the front desk was very helpful and told us exactly when and where we could pick them up (we had time to spare). Our room was fairly large with a big windows that overlooked Calle San Matias--which ended up being not so good. The cobblestone streets of Granada are very narrow and the smallest noise reverberates up and into any nearby window. Each footstep and conversation on the street is amplified and easily heard. A small car rolling down the cobblestones sounds like a mack truck. Larger vehicles sound like freight trains! The city needs to prohibit vehicular traffic on these streets as cars and trucks drove by all hours of the night. We didn't sleep much at all. At least we got a good breakfast--lots of jamon, and tortilla espanola! If you stay here get an interior facing room or one as far away from Calle Matias as you can.

Room Tip: Stay away from Calle San Matias.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank er22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    149
    33
    15
    6
See reviews for
29
197
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

An unassuming hotel which you could easily walk past without noticing, but once inside opens into a lovely courtyard with fountain and is an oasis of tranquility. The rooms are quite small but tastefully fitted out with everything you need. We had a first floor room at the back and had no issues with noise. Helpful deck staff and free internet. The breakfast was fine but held in a small basement breakfast room. The hotel has no restaurant but is just a few steps away from a street full of Tapas bars and restaurants. We took a bus to the Alhambra from a stop about 5 minutes walk away and a taxi back (they are cheap). Don't attempt to drive in Granada but leave the car in a parking garage. We used the one in Calle Angel Ganivet which is just round the corner from the hotel and quite easy to find (with GPS). Parking is expensive, about 34 euro for 2 days.

Room Tip: Back upper floor rooms seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulsXperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
249 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel Palacio de los Navas is a good hotel in the centre of Granada.
If you arrive by car, you'll probably have to paas several no-go areas for cars. The centre of Granada is only acceable for buses , taxis and scooters. No cars allowed. I must have passed three points with cameras.
If you mention this at the reception , he will pass your car reg onto the police, and probably avoid some fines.(I hope)
It might be a good idea for the hotel, to mention a route to the hotel, which doesn't give problems, 45 mins through alley ways is a bit much.

The rooms were good, clean, but quite noisy, the breakfast was not very good. You expect fresh orange juice in Spain, not something plastic.

The location is very good, except for outside noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acdourlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were a little worried about how noisy this hotel would be given its location on a busy alleyway in the heart of Granada. But our fears disappeared as soon as we walked through the door. The inner courtyard with its fountain is like an oasis in the city. Our room on the top floor was full of character- brick walls and wood floors. Some may not like the tiny windows but in 35C heat they are welcome. At night we turned on the AC , closed the shutters and never heard a thing, even though outside were tapas bars and street cafes. The breakfast is adequate but served in a characterless basement. Too bad they can't use the courtyard like I believe they once did. The only downside is the occasional drain smell which they do their best to hide with an overdose of perfume spray. The free wifi works only in the courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to avoid noise. There are some ground floor rooms which look straight o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaResortlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I just been in this nice boutique hotel located in downtown of granada, rooms are really nice, it was an old building but perfectly restored, tapas few steps of the hotel and no noises in rooms

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff-tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Palacio de Los Navas last weekend and it was lovely. The room and bathroom was spotless as was the rest of the hotel, the staff lovely and the breakfast very good. Whilst there was noise from outside we were there at the weekend during lovely weather and the hotel is well located near local tapas bars and restaurents.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ziacesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

This small, charming hotel is situated on the corner of two narrow streets: one busy with traffic, the other lined with endless cafe and restaurant tables. The location is ideal for walking to the Abayzin, taking a bus to the Alhambra or discovering the centre of Granada. Our room was on the second floor (third if you count the ground level separately) and despite all the action around, we were not at all disturbed by the noise.

Our corner room was of a decent size with ample window light. The decor is made to look 'country-vintage' but in reality has not aged very well. The walls could use a fresh coat of paint and the carpet around the bed is not very pleasant on bare feet. The tile grout around the bath could use a good cleaning. The room had a strong lavender scent when we checked-in. The next day, once the smell had worn off, there was an unpleasant odour in the room, possibly related to the plumbing. Luckily we were checking out.

The breakfast buffet, included in the price of the room, offered a generous selection of items.

The hotel staff was friendly and knowledgable, offering great dinner and tapas bar suggestions. Wifi is only available in the lobby. There are no computers for guest use.

We booked the hotel because they offered a great rate and we were only staying for one night. I can't say how it compares to other places in Granada, but for the price (€70), it was nice. However, if you want a room that looks something like the photos on the hotel's website, with wooden beam ceilings, ask for one on the top floor.

Room Tip: The rooms pictured on the hotel site are on the top floor, these are likely the most charming.
See more room tips
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hesperia Granada
Hesperia Granada
#24 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de Los Navas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Los Navas

Property: Hotel Palacio de Los Navas
Address: Calle Navas 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palacio de Los Navas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new small hotel in the city centrethe was originally a Palace in the 16th century. It has been skilfully restored; retaining most of its original architectural features, and is now a delightful nineteen room inn. The rooms are beautifully decorated, all ensuited, with air conditioning, minibar, satellite television, safe, internet access and hairdryer and anti-fog mirrors in bathrooms. They surround a central, typically Granadian columned patio/courtyard. There are standard or superior double rooms, a junior suite and a lovely superior deluxe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Los Navas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De Los Navas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing