We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "Deluxe Room" small as a matchbox, and a very unpleasant receptionist”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de Federico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Federico
Ranked #70 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Geneva
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A "Deluxe Room" small as a matchbox, and a very unpleasant receptionist”
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We selected this hotel because it had a great review in a Travel Book we trust.

The rooms are ridiculously small especially for the price. We had two rooms, one double and one deluxe, and the Deluxe was even smaller than the double.

There is not even a cabinet, just some hangers in the room. there was just enough space for a bed and once the bag was on the floor there was nomore space to walk to the bathroom !

The breakfast area is in such a depressing and small room with no light that we prefered to go to a coffe shop for breakfast

Moreover, the hotel booked for us Flamenco tickets and gave us a meeting point. The people from Flamenco never showed up and when we said we didn't want to pay, the hotel people said it was our fault because we were not at the meeting point (we were there 15 mn before and waited 40 mn) and harldy ever spoke to us.

The street is extremely noisy and especially at night with groups of people walking and shouting
The announced wifi spot was not working

For the same price in town there were plenty other hotels available and we are really sorry we chose this one. As they have done some decoration in the room they think they are a classy hotel and really it is not the case by very far. Our worst choice by very far in a trip of 5 different towns and hotels.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    80
    34
    22
    9
See reviews for
27
140
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterrebeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed here just before Easter, on Palm Sunday weekend. This is a very charming boutique hotel, all the rooms are different, ours was rural themed with marble bathroom ;) which had a floor to ceiling window ;)
Altogether the room was nice, but a bit cramped - be prepared to spend most of your time exploring the city. Our room was just enough to crash down after seeing the alhambra, getting ready for dinner and leaving.
the people running the hotel are very nice, bit challanged with English, but they try. the view from the top floor (access to everyone) is fabulous, especially at night.
There's no restaurant in the hotel, so you are forced to go out for every meal, but it's ok, there's great variety of bars, cafes and restaurants nearby.
I'd definitely go back, but I also want to try the Alhambra palace hotel - stunning views from the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulukai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This is an excellent hotel very close to good shopping, food and the Al Hambra is a short walk from here. We took a car to the hotel and realised the car park close to the hotel is a little underground hole so be careful parking there!

Small shower which was difficult to manouver in and made the whole bathroom wet but clean rooms, good AC in summer, staff are very friendly and informative about the local area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtandbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

First we opted for an interior room, for tranquility, unfortunately that room smelled like sewer. So we switched to an exterior room, no plumbing problems but what a noise! the whole night we were up listening to garbage collectors, very friendly staff though but we like our rooms a bit more quiet!

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — NOISE!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank love2travelHOLLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

A perfect location for visiting the AlHambra Palace, being at the back of the cathedral it was walking distance from everywhere.
The rooms were small, but clean and provided everything necessary for a city centre break, including air conditioning, which was a bonus in the middle of Summer.
It's not luxury, but it was clean, convenient and definitely would go back and recommend it to anyone who didn't want complete luxury.

  • Liked — Location was perfect for what we wanted
  • Disliked — For the price paid we got everything we wanted.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed in Casa de Federico by recommendation from a friend and i was delighted to find a place to stay with such charm and character as the Alhambra itself. Casa de Federico is an amazingly beautiful family run hostal , but don' t be put of by the word hostel it is more like staying in a unique contemporary Andalusien accomodation.
The staff are adorable willing to help with your every need , quite different to our other experiences around Europe and beeing so far from home it was nice to find a place that special.
A highlight was watching the sunset over the cathedral with drinks and tapas on the roof top terrace.
Centraly located it was easy to visit all the sites we had planned and the bonus was the shopping district is right by the front door.
i normaly don' t take the time to write hotel reviews, but this hotel was so outstanting i have to mention it .

  • Liked — the helpful staff particularly the man they call jose
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We were looking for a special hostal central to tourists spots in Granada.
The rooms and bathrooms were very nice decorated and clean.
More than anything, the staff was very helpful and I absolutely loved staying there.
Free high speed internet also a plus.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — ...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MiamiMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Urban
Marquis Urban
#41 of 125 in Granada
448 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Los Tilos
Los Tilos
#44 of 125 in Granada
292 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Reina Cristina Hotel
Reina Cristina Hotel
#76 of 125 in Granada
332 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#19 of 125 in Granada
893 reviews
Hotel Sacromonte
#56 of 125 in Granada
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Federico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Federico

Property: Casa de Federico
Address: Calle Horno Marina 13, 18001 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa de Federico 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little hotel with Arabic design details located next to the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel, the ideal place for discovery the historical legacy of Granada and enjoying the animated ambiance of the city. The roof terrace is the perfect place to relax, have a drink and lay out Personalized service with plenty of advice on sightseeing, entertainment venues and bars / restaurants in Granada. Always available to solve any problems, questions that arise during your stay. Our House Federico next to the Royal Chapel and the Cathedral, is located in the heart of Granada. Its surroundings offer both the opportunity to visit the main monuments, churches and monasteries as fun and areas for tapas or enjoy a drink on a terrace. A 10 minute walk from the Barrio Albaicin or the old Jewish part, El Campo de Príncipe (Prince Field). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa de Federico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Federico Granada
Casa De Federico Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing