We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreamlike experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospes Palacio de los Patos

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hospes Palacio de los Patos
Ranked #6 of 125 Hotels in Granada
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dreamlike experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We just came back from a stay in Granada and had a wonderful time at the Palacio de los Patos.
The location is downtown Granada but a 10 minute walk from the historic section and its windiing alleys.
Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a ridiculously sumptuous room - the presidential suite. Breakfast on the balcony topped off the experience. Lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    288
    109
    37
    17
See reviews for
225
776
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel comprises of two sections, the main former palace building & a modern addition.
The modern part is where we stayed. Cool room average size. Glass partition between bathroom & bedroom, strange but cool. Breakfast was served downstairs in this contemperory building so that was a disappointment as it was very ordinary surroundings.
No complaints about any of the stay other than the part you stay in may not be the period building with funky fittings. Location is good. Didn't notice any parking, bar or night life at the hotel. My stay was in 2006

Room Tip: request a room in the main palace building if you want something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnPLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

A truly horrific experience at what could be a decent hotel.

Granada is a city of contrasts - the stunning old with horrific 60's developments - unfortunately Hospes Palacio de los Patos is in the middle of the horror. Which for the next few years will be even worse as half the city is being dug up to build a new tram system.

Plus points -

The staff are amazing. They do all they can to make it a good stay.

The breakfast is decent but 20 Euro's.

Minus point -

The location - cramped, noisey beyond beliefe (I've lived in central London, downtown NYC and LA - and nothing I've ever heard is like this and generally horrible. Don't even drive - we say a bus crash into a car, were hit by another car and almost crashed into by a van leaving the hotel car park

The rooms - decent design 7 years ago, but now shabby and not well maintained. No sound insulation.

The 'spa' a miniscule pool and poorly maintained facilities.

The city - too many tourists, horrible infrastructure and generally unpleasant.

Overall - avoid. A real weakness in the Hospes chain (their hotel in Cordoba is stunning...)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Tomos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

After staying at the Palacio Villapanes in Seville (were the service was superb) we were very disappointed with this hotel. Mainly because the service was so poor - very unfriendly and a real sense that they werent at all concerned with what you thought. It started when the buzzer to the entrance failed when we arrived and we were left standing outside unable to get in. I phoned them in the end and we then went in (with two other couples that were also by this time waiting) to be met with not so much of an apology. The rest of the time the service was much the same - unsmiling and grudging. Checkout was the most graceless we have ever encountered. Assistance with the bags had to be sought. Recommendations on restaurants misleading.

The hotel itself is oddly designed - there is a small garden that is surrounded on all sides by taller buildings and the garden doesnt really get the sun at all and so there is nowehere to sunbathe. The spa is small and a disappointment. The pictured pool on the website is underground and is really no more than a jacuzi attached to the spa. The spa has no changing rooms.

Other than the garden there isn't any seating areas that you would like to use (there is a room by reception which was always empty and seemed like a railway waiting room).

We had a junior suite but it was at the top floor of the old building and was very dark.

Definitely not a five star.

What is most odd is that afterwards we went on to the Hospes Palacio de Bailio in Cordoba where the service was first rate and in complete contrast. So Hospes can obviously get it (very) right.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jon13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Well worth the price! Granada is a very busy town and staying at this hotel was an oasis away from the noise. Very quiet and quaint hotel behind gates to give you extreme privacy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claraidavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at Los Patos for 4 nights around the end of June. We both loved it and cannot recommend it highly enough! We stayed in the modern wing and enjoyed the high ceilings and ultra contemporary furnishings. The restaurant in the hotel has an amazing chef, and we were so pleased with our dinner the first night, we went back for dinner the next night. Very effective air conditioning in the room, which was essential during the summer heat wave!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodybuildingEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Superb , peaceful experience after some of the disorganised and chaotic hotels we have experienced Spain. Extraordinary attention to detail by the excellent and courteous staff, good location and good food. Lovely tree lined courtyard with lounges to relax in the shade. We stayed in a large room in the old building, bedding was excellent. Hospice arranged for our transit from and to the nearby airport, and for tickets to enter the majestic Alhambra and General Life Other highlights included the cathedral and the ultimate of baroque chapels, Iglesia de San Juan de Dios ( the chapel provided a guide with intimate knowledge of its history and features) and Albayzin. Good food and casual entertainment in the city square. At least three days are necessary to explore the exceptional city and its attractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldCoastOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Palacio de los Patos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palacio de los Patos

Property: Hospes Palacio de los Patos
Address: Calle Solarillo de Gracia 1, 18002 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Granada
#1 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#12 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palacio de los Patos 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hospes Palacio de los Patos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Palacio De Los Patos Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing