We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly worth a visit”

Monasterio de San Jeronimo
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.39*
and up
Scooter Rental in Granada
Ranked #29 of 211 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Certainly worth a visit”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Likes - tranquil cloisters, hearing the nuns singing, courtyard full of orange trees.
Less liked - ornate chapel - of significant historical interest but just downright ugly and would give you a headache if you stayed in it too long. Best bit - the ascension of Christ on the main altar - showing his feet still dangling down from heaven!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DougalR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    96
    36
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful church inside average building”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had purchased the BONO Granada card which gave us free entry into this site, so when we had a little time to kill we headed over. It was a nice building with many small rooms and courtyards with nothing/ not much in side. They do have an amazing church though. It took us by surprise after seeing so many blank rooms. Huge altar of gold and sculptures was the highlight of the visit. All in all it took about ~15 minutes to walk through though the church was the only standout spot. Not sure I would have gone if it had not been free.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DirkCallaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Step out of the bustle of everyday life”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Slightly away from the centre of town, but well worth the short walk. Amazing cloisters with a courtyard full of orange trees. Very peaceful, and deceptively grand.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Difficult to get into but worth it!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We initially approached the monastery from what turned out to be the side entrance (even though it's on a fairly main road) and were met with a very firmly shut door and no signage. We waited around for a bit in case anyone opened it before going up the road and then down a side street where we eventually found the main entrance (which was open!). The monastery is very peaceful - it's hard to believe anyone lives there. Make sure you go into the chapel - it's unbelievable.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A standout in a city of standouts”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

One runs out of superlatives in describing the church structures in Granada. This is one not-to-be-missed sights.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesTraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monasterio de San Jeronimo also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Monasterio de San Jeronimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing