We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, not so great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Antares

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Antares
Ranked #24 of 95 Granada B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, not so great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in late mid-July 2013. The hostel itself is very neat- it seems to be in an old school or at least an old office. The man who checks you in is very friendly and kind. The location is great. It is in the middle of everything.

I had a single room. I could not get the television to work with either remote or buttons on the television. The bed was uncomfortable and the sheets looked old and worn. The bathrooms were clean, but needed new shower curtains- there was a lot of mold on them. You also must pay for AC. To say the least, I was not impressed with the quality of the rooms/bathrooms. I will say the hostal was not intolerable but I would probably not stay here again, as I am sure there are much better options in Granada.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehersber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
39
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hostal Antares is located in the centre of Granda within EZ walking distance of all the attractions.
Around the Hostel are many restuarants, cafes, tapas bars, shops. The owner loves his music and was very helpful showing us on the map where the attractions are in Granada. Shared bathroom situations works very well and had 2 large bathroom and 3 toilets between 5 rooms.
Free WiFi in the room works very well.

Room Tip: Shared bathrooms are on the 1st floor and in room bathrooms are on the 2nd floor. Rooms with bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOIO61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I went there by evening after spending half day in Cordoba. When I stepped in the owner gave me 3 keys for front door, second floor and room key. There was also a Microwave for each floor for every one to use. You had WIFI signal but I didn't buy a SIM card so I cannot use it. Actually I tried to find a cheaper price in central location but I found only a room with shared bathroom which I didn't like. So I booked it. All in all I found that the room was good for my friend and I. What I disliked was I had to carry my heavy luggage to second floor with so many steps. Other things were fine for me. You can go to Alhambra easily just walk out to the street and across to the other side of the street and you will find minibus to Alhambra. I paid 78Euros for 2 nights on 8-9 March 2013.

Room Tip: I don't know because I got third room on the third floor which was good for us. You get enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wari s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My daughter made a booking for me as I travelled to Granada as it seemed to have good reviews. When I arrived I was delighted. Javier made me most welcome gave me a double room next to the bathroom (at single price)and explained where to get tickets for the Alhambra and other sights. The Hostal is centrally located in a street opposite the cathedral Bus no 3 or 33 from bus station and surrounded by reasonable priced tapas bars and restaurants. It is clean and wellkept with free wi fi and micro wave there is no curfew and you are given three keys for security Front door,reception and room Storage is available after noon check out at a reasonable price. I travel a lot and always stay in hostals would they were all as good as this!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
270 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hostel for 1 night stay in Granada. We picked it mainly due to good score on tripadvisor as well as booking.com together with its excellent location.

Location itself is good and convenient, less than 5min to Cathedral, tourist info center, bus station to airport/Albaycin/train/long distance bus station.

The owner showed strong hospitality ESP to us Chinese and very nice and talkative also gave us tips.

However I still think this hostel is overrated and overpriced: (actually it's the worst accommodation for my whole Spain trip)
- no 24hr reception
- staff except for the owner speak very limited english
- room is very small
- hot water in bathroom is even not sufficient for quick shower for 1 person, my friend is obliged to take shower in shared bathroom outside our room
- noisy at night given the bar on ground floor and the thin wall not soundproof( we Dan gear clearly the conversation on corridor)
- no lift and u have to take luggage yourself for 2stories
- wifi is very weak and slow.

Won't recommend this place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubeda, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I stepped in this hostel by chance on our very first day in Granada, while we were looking for a place to stay a couple of days. Luckily for us, it complied with all our requisites: it was cheap, central and clean. The owner of the place was very nice and welcoming, and was always willing to help. He also gave us useful directions around the city as well as information about the many touristic attractions Granada has to offer. We had such a nice time in the hostel that I decided to leave a comment for it on the web. So here you go: if you're looking for a cheap & convenient place right in the center of Granada, look no further than this!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtooof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Thank you so much Javier, you were so helpful and friendly. Personal service went a long way. The room was spotless and very affordable. The location could not have been better. We will be sure to stay here next time we are in Granada. Alice, Jenna, Rachael (and our silent friend)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#15 of 95 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hostal Zacatin
Hostal Zacatin
#23 of 95 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Albaicín
Hostal Londres
Hostal Londres
#20 of 95 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#12 of 95 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Apartamentos Venecia
#13 of 95 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 95 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Antares

Property: Hostal Antares
Address: Cetti Meriem 10, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Antares 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal in the best situation, Elvira Street, very near to Alhambra, Albaizin, Plaza Nueva and the Cathedral in the historic center of the town, very lightly rooms with complete bathroom, heater, air conditioner optional, TV, internet Wi-fi and microwave-free area. The Property is situated in the very heart of Historic Town, in front of the district of Tearooms (La Caldereria) and area of Tapas, near to the Alhambra. We've arranged parking 15 euros for day. Advise about arrival time. Reception O8:30 / 22:30 hours. ( No curfew ) Check-in 13:00 // 22:30h. Check-out 12:00 Credit Card Facilities. If you are coming by car, you have to take entry Mendez Nunez to Gran Via- Cathedral. From the Airport you can take the bus just for 3 and getting off close to the Cathedral, From Bus Station: take bus number 3-33 to centro-Cathedral Train Station: take the bus number 4/6/9/11 to Cathedral stop. We are reachable with urban buses, taxis, train stations, right beside the cathedral. The outstanding amount is payable to the property directly upon your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing