We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Hostal Antares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Antares
Ranked #38 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
291 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hostel for 1 night stay in Granada. We picked it mainly due to good score on tripadvisor as well as booking.com together with its excellent location.

Location itself is good and convenient, less than 5min to Cathedral, tourist info center, bus station to airport/Albaycin/train/long distance bus station.

The owner showed strong hospitality ESP to us Chinese and very nice and talkative also gave us tips.

However I still think this hostel is overrated and overpriced: (actually it's the worst accommodation for my whole Spain trip)
- no 24hr reception
- staff except for the owner speak very limited english
- room is very small
- hot water in bathroom is even not sufficient for quick shower for 1 person, my friend is obliged to take shower in shared bathroom outside our room
- noisy at night given the bar on ground floor and the thin wall not soundproof( we Dan gear clearly the conversation on corridor)
- no lift and u have to take luggage yourself for 2stories
- wifi is very weak and slow.

Won't recommend this place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    19
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
50
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubeda, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I stepped in this hostel by chance on our very first day in Granada, while we were looking for a place to stay a couple of days. Luckily for us, it complied with all our requisites: it was cheap, central and clean. The owner of the place was very nice and welcoming, and was always willing to help. He also gave us useful directions around the city as well as information about the many touristic attractions Granada has to offer. We had such a nice time in the hostel that I decided to leave a comment for it on the web. So here you go: if you're looking for a cheap & convenient place right in the center of Granada, look no further than this!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtooof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Thank you so much Javier, you were so helpful and friendly. Personal service went a long way. The room was spotless and very affordable. The location could not have been better. We will be sure to stay here next time we are in Granada. Alice, Jenna, Rachael (and our silent friend)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

It was cheap to stay that is why we chose this place.
The location is great. It is right in the middle of the city.
Parking is not available. It was so hard for us to find a parking spot.
Although the owner of the pension was a nice person, I did not like the place at all.
The room was weırd. Bed was not comfortable. Bathroom was not new.
You have to pay xtra 5 euros to use air condition. That is most weirdest thing I have ever experienced.
Just stay if you mind money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank uuyansoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stayed here for nearly a week in a single room with shared bathroom for €20 per night (€25 on weekends and maybe the high season??). The owner is really friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. The shared bathrooms were always kept very clean, and I never needed to wait to use the bathroom. Is just a 2 minute walk to the Plaza Nueva so very convenient. They have doubles as well so should cater to all budget travellers. Will definitely stay here again when I´m next in Granada.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggggggg_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

After seeing positive reviews here and in Let's Go Spain and Portugal 2007, I booked a room at the Hostal Antares for two nights in Granada. I was hoping to find a cheap, basic, private hostal room for our stay....
When we arrived, I noticed that the comforter was COVERED with HAIR! I pulled it back hoping that the other layers would be cleaner, but each layer (3 blankets and 2 sheets) were filled with hair (from all parts of the body). I talked to the owner and asked him for new sheets. He went and got a new set, but they were completely full of hairs as well. He started cursing and explained that they had a new cleaning lady who had only been working there for two days and that he was going fire her immediately. He left for a while and came back fuming...He said that he looked through ALL the sheets and blankets and they were ALL FULL OF HAIR! He gave us new sheets out of a plastic bag, but didn't have clean blankets (SO WE HAD TO USE THE HAIRY ONES). He also explained that he had just called the cleaning lady to fire her (which made me feel really uncomfortable! If it were me, I would have talked with her and given her another chance...And although I respect his decision to run his business as he chooses, I don't want to feel responsible for someone losing their job while I'm trying to enjoy my vacation). After giving us the new sheets, he did not even offer to help us make the bed! He just left!

(Also, there were only two other guests in the hostal. I find it hard to believe that the cleaning woman who had been there for two days had washed all of the sheets in a near-empty hostal! In other words, I think the dirtiness goes back farther than her employment.)

Aside from not feeling relaxed in our dirty room with dirty blankets that we tried not to touch, there are a few other terrible things about this hostal:
1. The heater is automatic (controlled by the owner), which means that it is turned on at 10pm (not sooner) and was turned off around 5 am. Personally, I like to turn on the heat when I'm cold, when I'm going to take a shower, etc., which did not fall within his hours of usage.
2. The SHOWERS were ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING. There were two on the floor where we stayed (1st). In one, the piece holding up the shower head was broken, so it pointed directly at the wall and could not be moved. In the other, there were INSECT EGGS!
3. We happened to be alone on our floor, but when he came in and out, it echoed a lot. I can only imagine the noise level if there were more guests!

Really, really, really, DON'T STAY AT THIS HOSTAL! IT'S AWFUL!

  • Disliked — EVERYTHING! THE HAIRS IN THE SHEETS AND BLANKETS! THE DISGUSTING SHOWERS!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We stayed in the Hostal Antares because it was in a nice location and it was a lot cheaper than other hotels in the same location, and it had a private bathroom for 40€ a night.
Indeed, it has an excellent location close to the Moroccan street (full of little shops and nice coffee shops), close to the main plaza, and close to nice neighborhoods that have good views of the Alhambra.
Our room, in a 9th floor with no elevator, was small. The TV didn't work and the bed sheets were not clean. But they changed them.
Overall, for the price and location, I think I would stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esportarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hostal AB
#70 of 92 in Granada
79 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Al-Andalus Hostel
Al-Andalus Hostel
#55 of 136 in Granada
122 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#13 of 92 in Granada
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hostal Zacatin
Hostal Zacatin
#25 of 92 in Granada
107 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#17 of 92 in Granada
54 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Barbieri Granada Hostel
Barbieri Granada Hostel
#85 of 136 in Granada
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Antares

Property: Hostal Antares
Address: Calle Cetti Meriem 10, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Antares 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal in the best situation, Elvira Street, very near to Alhambra, Albaizin, Plaza Nueva and the Cathedral in the historic center of the town, very lightly rooms with complete bathroom, heater, air conditioner optional, TV, internet Wi-fi and microwave-free area. The Property is situated in the very heart of Historic Town, in front of the district of Tearooms (La Caldereria) and area of Tapas, near to the Alhambra. We've arranged parking 15 euros for day. Advise about arrival time. Reception O8:30 / 22:30 hours. ( No curfew ) Check-in 13:00 // 22:30h. Check-out 12:00 Credit Card Facilities. If you are coming by car, you have to take entry Mendez Nunez to Gran Via- Cathedral. From the Airport you can take the bus just for 3 and getting off close to the Cathedral, From Bus Station: take bus number 3-33 to centro-Cathedral Train Station: take the bus number 4/6/9/11 to Cathedral stop. We are reachable with urban buses, taxis, train stations, right beside the cathedral. The outstanding amount is payable to the property directly upon your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing