We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in Granada”
Review of Occidental Granada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Granada
Ranked #63 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in Granada”
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed for three nights here in a triple room which we were told was the best in the hotel - in size yes, it was the roomiest I have seen in Europe. The location is OK - about 20 min from Plaza Isabel Catolico where you pick up the bus to the Alhambra. The walk was not bad, but we got lost a couple of times. The staff was very helpful, especially when helping us out when we got stuck in the elevator! All in all, a nice stay in Granada.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank di68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    190
    158
    33
    14
See reviews for
129
214
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We booked the hotel on agoda.com. We took the bus from the airport and had about a 5 minute walk from the bus stop to the hotel. We found it convenient for what we wanted to visit in Granada.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thumper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Very central, well located hotel. Area is safe with no shortage of good restaurants or bars.Rooms were well equipped, very spacious clean and comfortable, although no view from our room to mention.
The staff, and in particular the receptionist were extremely helpful. My son had a minor "mishap/incident" (he swallowed a tooth from a comb!), and we were a little anxious. Staff offered to drive us to hospital, and were most considerate.
All in all I was impressed by their kindness & professionalism.
If your'e visiting Granada you could do a lot worse than book this hotel.

  • Liked — Staff especially those on reception.
  • Disliked — Lack of viewfrom room.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Itchy_Irish_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Very close to centrum. Nice and clean hotel. Meals are above average.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stiffsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on this site and checking out other deals in Granada, thinking we were booking ourselves into something worthwhile.

When we arrived things were quite different. We had checked in in the evening, and when we had the receptionist informed us that he did not have the double room we had booked available, and instead had placed us in a twin room (two single beds). Since this was a romantic getaway, this was not really ideal. In a three star I would have accepted it, but finding more and more the star system to be over-rated, I felt this was somewhat unacceptable from a four star. We requested that there could be any other room available.
He gave us another room on the first floor - confirming if we were happy with the first floor. We asked why would that be a problem, and he quickly brushed it aside stating 'Oh, just some people dont like the first floor' - we later figure it was more a security issue, as Granada is a bit of a rough city at times.
We also specified that this new room could NOT be smoking, as I myself am allergic to tobacco smoke when exposed for a long time, no matter how long ago someone smoked. The receptionist confirmed that was no problem. We got to the room, and a reeked of cigarette. Also on the bedspread we found a cigarette burn mark - this was infact a smoking room. We returned for that night had to take the original twin room. The receptionist said if we wished we could change rooms the next day, and we said we would be doing so.
The next day with another receptionist we were able to change rooms to a double in the afternoon. Interestingly enough when we entered there was a strong smell of deodorant and perfume.

The rooms overall were old and dated, and out of all three none didn't have any pleasant/nuetral smells. As explained above the first room reeked heavily of cigarettes, whilst the second smelled extremely musty and mouldy. Our third room was perfumed over, but the next morning we had that old mouldy/musty smell back again.
The decor is dated, worn and old, and so are the bed covers. They had seen better days. The bedroom and bathroom were of a large size, as were the beds, but things were always lacking.
A big negative was the lack of shower curtain in the bathroom, with instead a water-barrier that covered along only half of the bathtub - there was no way not to drench the whole bathroom whilst having a shower.

The hotel location is OK, although it is a bit far out from town center (Plaza Nueva), being about 15 minutes walk from any of the sites. For a large city this would have been acceptable, but Granada is a univeristy city, and there were many other hotels closer into town. Furthermore we counted three strip clubs in the street next door, so if that worries you I wouldn't stay here.

The onsite parking was good, although a bit cramped. If you have a rented car, take good note of your cars condition and those cars parked around you before you leave it, as there is not much space to move around. at EUR12 a day, it is also a bit steep, once again even for Granada.

We were not overly pleased with the hotel. It would have been acceptable if we were staying in a 2 star, but this was a 4 star hotel and with the rating comes a price and expectation - this was not fulfilled.
We would definately NOT stay there again, and advise others to avoid it until they clean themselves up. I don't understand why this hotel has received the number of good reviews that it has.

  • Liked — Nothing, except the cafe next door
  • Disliked — The rooms, staff, location, basically everything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank johno.franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Granada hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

This hotel was really quite blah - you really do get what you pay for. The hotel didn't seem to be really close to much, but you need a cab to get to/from the airport & train station anyway, so no big deal there. I think it was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel to a bus stop going to the Alhambra. We got the classic two twin beds pushed together for a queen bed - not the most comfortable, but not terrible. In our first 10 minutes in the room, I think we killed at least 5 bugs and spiders and such. The smell of cigarette smoke was everywhere (even after I stuffed a towel underneath our front door), and there were a bunch of kids partying outside our window (on another part of the floor), so that wasn't so great. We didn't really care, since we were only there for 2 nights and the hotel was so cheap (compared to other ones we'd stayed in), but we were glad to leave. The staff was extremely unfriendly, but the breakfast included with our stay was good. In fact, the oranges we had at breakfast were easily the best part of our stay there.

  • Liked — Oranges at breakfast
  • Disliked — Bugs, unfriendly staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theTraveLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

A good value, well located hotel with a garage underneath in a commercial area of Granada only about 10 mins walk from the cathedral & city centre. At the same time quite easy to reach from the city's outer "ring road".
A little bit basic & functional for my taste, & my room looked our over an inner courtyard with the blank wall of a tall tower opposite. There had been little attempt at any enhancement like garden, plants or art outside which would have been expected in a more luxurious hotel. Furthermore staff were a little thin on the ground. And finally although there was a new flat screen TV in my room there was no channel guide & nobody had tuned it to an English speaking News channel; in fairness the receptionist did willingly come up to do it for me on request.
If this sounds critical, let me say that the staff were pleasant, it was clean & modern and excellent value for money. It does an honest job of what it sets out to do.

  • Liked — location, good value for money
  • Disliked — functional, lacking in charm
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Allegro Granada
#50 of 122 in Granada
414 reviews
Figares
Barcelo Granada Congress
Barcelo Granada Congress
#33 of 122 in Granada
792 reviews
Corona de Granada Hotel
#55 of 122 in Granada
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Abades Recogidas
Hotel Abades Recogidas
#57 of 122 in Granada
361 reviews
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#44 of 122 in Granada
712 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Granada

Property: Occidental Granada
Address: Calle Alhamar, 46, 18004 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Occidental Granada 4* (part of Barcelo Hotel Group) is located in one of the best areas of the city, at easy reach from Recogidas Street which links the hotel with Granada city center. In addition, it is a few metres away from the brand-new underground in the city. Its perfect location makes this property the best choice for those who aim at discovering the city by foot. It is 10-minute walking from the old town or the Cathedral, which implies walking across one of the main streets which hold great number of shops and bars. Its location also implies avoiding one of the most common problems of the city which is the traffic jams. The hotel is located within the well-known Zone 1 of the city which is theh preferred one for those who visit Granada for business reasons. A few metres away from Occidental Granada one can easily get to the Congress and Exhibitions Center and Science Center, which is a cultural reference in Andalucia. Also, the high way road which connects Granada with Sierra Nevada and, Tropical Coast (both half an hour driving) and the International Airport (just 20-minute driving) is a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhamar Hotel Granada
Alhamar Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing