We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Occidental Granada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Granada
Ranked #63 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed a long weekend at this central 4* hotel. Excellent helpful staff, very comfortable bed in a spacious bedroom. The breakfast was varied with a selection of hot and cold pastries, meats and cheeses. I would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    190
    158
    33
    14
See reviews for
129
214
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful 4 nights at this very European hotel. Staff could not have been nicer, very accommodating of my lack of Spanish speaking ability. Enjoyed my stay very much.
Special additions for breakfast as a part if Congresso Nutricion were very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour. Hotel was okay, if a bit out of the way from central Granada. Actually when we arrived I was thinking Granada was a bit of a lousy place, mainly due to the location of the hotel and the route taken to get there, but I went for a walk into town and it's actually a lovely little city!
The hotel was fine. Nothing went wrong, but it wasn't a special place or somewhere I would rush to go back to. Dinner in the restaurant was very average, with no great flavours.
Service was friendly enough, and when I asked for maps and directions they were happy to provide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We drove to this hotel from the Costa del Sol and it was tricky to get to due to detours and revised roads not shown on our GPS. The hotel room was spacious,comfortable and clean but dated and in need of modernization. We had to take a taxi to get to the Alhambra as driving there in our huge hired car would have been a challenge with the narrow roads n Granada. Was ok for a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSM78666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is a leisurely 15 minute walk from the city centre with many restaurants, cafes and convenience stores nearby. The room was of a simple modern style and was clean. The bed was firm but comfortable. The bathroom was quite adequate for our needs. Buffet breakfast provided both hot and cold foods with an adequate range for selection. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was chosen for us and is on the periphery of the main hotel grouping in the city. While the location met our needs for a short stay in Granada I believe choosing a hotel closer to La Alhambra would have been a preferred option

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high up as possible to get city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed 1 night as part of a group tour. Although the weather was unseasonally warm, management had not turned on the air conditioning. This meant the bar and buffet restaurant were unpleasantly hot and the rooms stuffy. Buffet dinner and breakfast were average. Had to pay to use the safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A large hotel with many group bookings. It has all the conveniences, although it's not high on charm. Nevertheless the efficiency and helpfulness of the staff compensated in every way. Upon check-in the desk manager told us that we would have to be at the Alhambra by 7:30 if we wanted to see it, since we didn't have prior bookings, but he was able to offer us space and tickets on a tour bus if we booked right away. The price was quite reasonable, and we did. This was a tremendous help, because we later met other tourists who were unable to see the Alhambra since they didn't have prior bookings, and they hadn't been given the option of a tour by their hotel.

If you want to be near the attractions of Granada you might want to stay closer to the Plaza Nueva, but this is certainly not a bad location. Breakfast buffet for 6 € was a bargain!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realmsofgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Allegro Granada
#50 of 122 in Granada
414 reviews
Figares
Barcelo Granada Congress
Barcelo Granada Congress
#33 of 122 in Granada
793 reviews
Corona de Granada Hotel
#55 of 122 in Granada
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Abades Recogidas
Hotel Abades Recogidas
#57 of 122 in Granada
361 reviews
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#44 of 122 in Granada
712 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Granada

Property: Occidental Granada
Address: Calle Alhamar, 46, 18004 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Occidental Granada 4* (part of Barcelo Hotel Group) is located in one of the best areas of the city, at easy reach from Recogidas Street which links the hotel with Granada city center. In addition, it is a few metres away from the brand-new underground in the city. Its perfect location makes this property the best choice for those who aim at discovering the city by foot. It is 10-minute walking from the old town or the Cathedral, which implies walking across one of the main streets which hold great number of shops and bars. Its location also implies avoiding one of the most common problems of the city which is the traffic jams. The hotel is located within the well-known Zone 1 of the city which is theh preferred one for those who visit Granada for business reasons. A few metres away from Occidental Granada one can easily get to the Congress and Exhibitions Center and Science Center, which is a cultural reference in Andalucia. Also, the high way road which connects Granada with Sierra Nevada and, Tropical Coast (both half an hour driving) and the International Airport (just 20-minute driving) is a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhamar Hotel Granada
Alhamar Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing