We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good value. Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puerta de Las Granadas
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed just two nights but had a great time in Granada. The staff at the hotel were very helpful both before we arrived and during our stay and there is generall a good feel to the place.The hotel is very simple, in an old building that has been completely refurbished to a good standard. The room we had was quite small but it was adequate with a comfortable bed and a decent bathroom with a good shower. There is a breakfast room (the help-yourself breakfast is nothing to get excited about, but there is ham, cheese, yoghurt, plenty of fruit, juice, tea/coffee etc). It is a nice touch that the hotel provides free teas/coffee all day. There is also an internet/computer area. Personally I recommend having breakfast at the cafe in the Plaza Nueva just down the road (on the corner of Calle Elvira). Also recommend tapas at Bar los Diamantes round the corner and at Bodega Castaneda in Calle Elvira. The Casa del Arte Flamenco just opposite the hotel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhandEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and recommendations.. We really appreciate your kind words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

We loved our stay at the hotel puerta a de las granada. The staff provided quick accurate answers to all of our many questions. We highly recommend the Alhambra room (401)-lots of space, and a nice view of the Alhambra. We appreciated the hotel booking the time and dates at the Alhambra
that we requested. The only ever so slight problem was that the wifi worked only intermittently in our room. We must have been at the edge of the service because it worked great on the outdoor patio and in the internet room. We would love to return for another stay.
.

Room Tip: 401, the Alhambra Room was great. You have to walk up a flight of stairs after getting off the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your overwhelming opinion and for your recommendation. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment, specially our Alhambra viewpoint Room (number 401). It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city.


We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff. They work everyday for our guests feel well cared and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you..

We are really sorry about the incident with Wi-Fi.. We were trying to figure the problem out, and we think it works correctly now

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Everything about this hotel is great except for the two rooms we had (302/303 at the back of the hotel, right next to the outdoor patio). The people at the desk are fantastic and so helpful and the location is perfect - we could not have asked for more. However, the room were so small as to be uncomfortable for two adults. I will say that in our prior 3 stops on this vacation (Madrid, Barcelona and Sevilla), we rented apartments through AirBnb, so we were spoiled when it came to space. But these rooms were perhaps the smallest I have ever had and even though they were the cheapest in the hotel, they still cost us more than double what we had paid for AirBnb apartments in central areas. I think that from now on, we will start using AirBnb and VRBO exclusively.

Room Tip: pay more for what I assume are larger rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobandrewsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review in TripAdvisor.

Regarding the space in our rooms, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

Likewise, we are very grateful for your opinion about our Staff and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Puerta de las Granadas. We had an Alhambra view room which had a great view and was very spacious. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Alhambra and other Granada attractions as well as restaurants. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful in making the most of our time in Granada. The room was nicely appointed and very clean. Good wifi.

Room Tip: Call add to find where to park -- the streets near the hotel are very narrow and there is no where a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floridakiwi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for your overwhelming opinion and for your kind words. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, our Alhambra view point room, and our city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff. They work everyday for our guests feel well cared and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The only reason I haven't given this lovely place 5 stars is that I want to warn other travelers about one thing: The beds are very, very firm, so if you're old like me or arthritic like my traveling companion, be prepared to sleep on what feels like a slab. That said, we loved this place. Our third-floor room was on the street, and the first night we stayed a party was going on below us. While I didn't sleep well, I very much enjoyed hearing the young granadinos celebrating beneath my window. I felt like I was really in Spain, in the midst of an actual Spanish party, and I figured I could sleep when I got home.
The two people with whom we interacted at the front desk were terrific. I had read on TripAdvisor before we came that the beds were hard, so I had e-mailed months in advance asking if anything could be done. I was told that an extra blanket could be put beneath my friend's sheet so as to soften her bed a bit. After our first night at the hotel, I talked with the woman at the desk, explaining that we hadn't slept much because of the firm mattresses. She offered to put more blankets on both our beds, and the second night we both slept somewhat more comfortably. Both she and the gentleman who worked the desk gave us excellent directions to wherever we wanted to go. The hotel also secured our Alhambra tickets for us, and that turned out just fine too. Because of our physical needs, we probably wouldn't stay at this place again, but for anyone who doesn't mind sleeping on a hard surface, I'd recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: I loved the view from our street-side window. It wasn't quiet at night, but it was fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilynpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion in Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for your opinion about our Staff; which is very important to us, as they constitute one of our best assets.

We feel deeply sorry that the bed was not up to your wishes and liking. Our beds and mattresses are of good quality; however, after the comments and opinions of various customers, we have bought special mattress softening-covers to render them not hard and therefore much more comfortable for sleeping. Indeed, these types of mattress covers are not very common here in Spain, but we managed to achieve them and we regret that we did not have them when you stayed with us.

We believe that with these mattress covers our customers will sleep better with us now and enjoy much more their stay with us in Granada. So, we hope that in your next visit to Granada you stay with us again so that you can check it yourself. Still, we feel happy that amongst your discomfort, you enjoyed hearing the party that was being celebrated there.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very good and friendly service at the reception. Nice location. Remember to Call in advance for directions for parking! We had a nice room at the top floor with a nice view. Had a Lotte of good and valuable suggestions for restaurants and hos to organize our stay in Granada.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your so kind words. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I've been there in October 2013 with my wife and our 3 months old baby. The people at the reception desk were always very helpful whatever we asked.
The location is great but the room we had was really too small. Not only because we had our baby with us but it looks like the typical japanese hotel room if you see what I mean!! ; )

Not the best hotel for sure, but good value for money!

Room Tip: pay the extra to get a bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Recka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments .We appreciate your words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

Regarding the space in our rooms, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

Likewise, we are very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 123 in Granada
1,328 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#3 of 123 in Granada
1,851 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
B&B Hotel Granada
#25 of 123 in Granada
809 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 123 in Granada
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Address: Cuesta Gomerez 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $53 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing