We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to reach by car and then continue walking into town”
Review of Hotel Universal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Universal
Ranked #64 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Easy to reach by car and then continue walking into town”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Straight from the Autovia to the hotel, with unloading space infront. Then the parking is not 3 streets away, as sometimes is the case, but actually across from the hotel. Though it is rather a challenge to park a bigger car in such an urban parking garage, with narrow spaces and curves.

Room was clean and modern. But indeed noisy. And showing some wear and tear, but nothing major.

Loved the cafetaria on the roof, with assortment and prices comparable to any normal café / bar. Rather than expensive breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margoworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    162
    120
    23
    14
See reviews for
90
167
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good value hotel, central location not luxury but clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and was very informative. Had the two bedroom was great for family of four. Includes wifi but each device needs its own password

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is central location with available parking and helpful staff. The worst thing is paper thin walls, so you basically hear all the conversation, snoring and toilet use from another room. At least it doesn't cost much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel Universal is conveniently located for Granada town centre with all shops, restaurants, bars and other amenities nearby. It's only a 20-min brisk walk to the Alhambra! Staff was very friendly and happy to help whenever we asked them for directions etc. We also liked the mini-bar, wi-fi facilities and the price of our stay in this hotel!

Our room was situated in the central part of the building with windows coming out to the courtyard, which unfortunately limited the amount of sun and fresh air coming in to our room, so we felt like in a cave (some people might like it considering the temperatures in June in Granada, but we would prefer a nicer view from our window). The walls of the room were quite dirty, with many marks and scratches.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

If all you want when travelling is a clean bedroom and bathroom near the centre of Granada, you may want to consider this. But do not expect anything else.
What is laughingly described as "continental breakfast" consists of: a cup of tea/coffee, half a glass of orange juice, one piece of toast with pre-spread jam, and a cold croissant, for 7.50 euros, served in the "cafeteria", a cold, cheerless room on the 6th floor.
There is a lounge on the ground floor, but if you want a coffee, then it's the 6th floor again - if you can find any staff. No tea/coffee facilities in the room, no shampoo/bath gel.
And it is not a cheap hotel either. We felt it offered very poor value for money.
The upside? As I said, it's clean, and very central. The reception staff are excellent and are as helpful as they can be, but don't speak any other languages. You can also hire a garage space, but you really don't need a car in Granada as the buses are so good:

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOOTling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Granada hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights in this hotel with my family (four people in total). The location of this hotel is so central we did not use the car or public transport, other than the tourist bus, the whole time we were there. The people are friendly, the hopping is amazing and you can immerse yourself in the history of the place completely as every corner contains another historic building or structure. The room we were in was roomy nod comfortable. The decor s a little dated but the hotel is being redecorated on a gradual basis. A great place to stay

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dulce54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I kept changing my mind about this hotel, so I'll try and review this with the pros and cons.
Good points:
The location is excellent, near to everything.
The man on reception was fantastic and very helpful.
The car park is just opposite the hotel and reasonable for the centre of Granada (15€)
The breakfast is not buffet and is as you'd get in a café. You pay for what you order and we had an enormous freshly squeezed orange juice, toast and coffee for 5€ each. The waiter was very friendly too.
The rooms were clean.

Bad points:
The rooms were very small.
The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything that goes on next door.
We had to sit sideways on our toilet because it was in a very strange position (almost under the washbasin).
The carpet in the hallways needs replacing. It looks very dirty and scruffy and is a shame as the rooms themselves seem to have been refurbished.

So, as you can see, I think there were more positive points about this hotel and to be honest, the location and the price makes this hotel a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Urban
Marquis Urban
#42 of 122 in Granada
473 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#32 of 122 in Granada
497 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#23 of 122 in Granada
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#50 of 122 in Granada
321 reviews
Urban Dream Granada
#49 of 122 in Granada
372 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#41 of 122 in Granada
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Property: Hotel Universal
Address: Calle Recogidas 16, 18002 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universal 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel (Refurbished in 2008). Located in the centre of Granada. Services offered are cafeteria, car parking and hire, fax/photocopy facilities, laundry, free internet access via Wi-Fi throughout the hotel or in the computer lounge, TV lounge, change of currency, luggage storage and full central heating. The rooms are fully air conditioned with Wi-Fi, telephone (direct line), minibar, Digital Plus and fully equipped bathroom with hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing