We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Universal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Universal
Ranked #60 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights in this hotel with my family (four people in total). The location of this hotel is so central we did not use the car or public transport, other than the tourist bus, the whole time we were there. The people are friendly, the hopping is amazing and you can immerse yourself in the history of the place completely as every corner contains another historic building or structure. The room we were in was roomy nod comfortable. The decor s a little dated but the hotel is being redecorated on a gradual basis. A great place to stay

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dulce54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    160
    115
    22
    14
See reviews for
88
161
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I kept changing my mind about this hotel, so I'll try and review this with the pros and cons.
Good points:
The location is excellent, near to everything.
The man on reception was fantastic and very helpful.
The car park is just opposite the hotel and reasonable for the centre of Granada (15€)
The breakfast is not buffet and is as you'd get in a café. You pay for what you order and we had an enormous freshly squeezed orange juice, toast and coffee for 5€ each. The waiter was very friendly too.
The rooms were clean.

Bad points:
The rooms were very small.
The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything that goes on next door.
We had to sit sideways on our toilet because it was in a very strange position (almost under the washbasin).
The carpet in the hallways needs replacing. It looks very dirty and scruffy and is a shame as the rooms themselves seem to have been refurbished.

So, as you can see, I think there were more positive points about this hotel and to be honest, the location and the price makes this hotel a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions as I find the close proximity to the City centre very good. Last time we travelled by train from Almeria and then caught a taxi to the hotel. There is a very good car park and the staff are quite happy to park your car and retrieve it on departure from the bowels of the underground opposite. The cafe bar on the top floor is ideal for breakfast or a drink between shopping/sightseeing, and the views across to the Sierra Nevada are very good. The rooms are on the small side but it doesn't get much use normally, just for sleeping and showering. The Bib Rambla is just by the Cathedral and great for chilling out with a drink or tapas or wandering round the excellent shops. All in all excellent value for money in my estimation.

Room Tip: The fifth floor is very quiet, and not far from the bar, although the single rooms are very small an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I spent two nights at this hotel in October 2011. I have no special impression of it, but it was clean, the staff very friendly and receptionists speak English, if it's important for you. Maybe I was lucky, but I didn't suffer from any noise. I think< it's a good decision for this price. Of course, the room was rather small ( at least mine, it was a single room), but if you're coming to see the city, but not to sit in the room, it's a good choise. And I like the location. In the city centre and not up the hill. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrinaMamadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel is in a great central location and ideally situated for visiting the central sights and shopping district. Although the hotel lobby has been updated recently and looks great in the photos, the rooms haven't been finished to the same standard which lets the hotel down.

The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable but are a little small and the one we stayed in faced into a gloomy internal courtyard, although they do have everything you need. On the positive side, the staff were very friendly & helpful, and the hotel has underground parking across the street (EUR14 per night) if you arrive by car.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed two nights at this small two stars hotel. I was part of a group of bikers. The hotel is comprised of 6 floors and is located very well in the middle of town. There is parking across the street (E14 per night) and loading and unloading is easy. The rooms are small but nice and clean and so was the bathroom. The rooms are a little dark and the one I was in was facing an inner court. There is free wifi but is terribly slow. The other thing which is unordinary is the 6th floor coffee shop, which seems to be ran apart from the hotel and I found to be sub standard compared with local food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a very centrally located hotel. The front desk staff are very helpful and most sights, excluding the Alhambra, are a short walk away. Breakfast is served on their roof top terrace and is worth the few Euro. We enjoyed our stay here, and if you don't mind hopping a bus to the Alhambra, this would be a great base for your Granada explorations.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryCrisdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Urban
Marquis Urban
#41 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#29 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Urban Dream Granada
#52 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sacromonte
#57 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#48 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#23 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Property: Hotel Universal
Address: Calle Recogidas 16, 18002 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universal 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel (Refurbished in 2008). Located in the centre of Granada. Services offered are cafeteria, car parking and hire, fax/photocopy facilities, laundry, free internet access via Wi-Fi throughout the hotel or in the computer lounge, TV lounge, change of currency, luggage storage and full central heating. The rooms are fully air conditioned with Wi-Fi, telephone (direct line), minibar, Digital Plus and fully equipped bathroom with hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing