We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique stay, reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari only for a night as my stay in Grenada was very short. I chose the hotel for history and location. The hotel is situated on a very narrow street up several large stairs so you have to carry your luggage a bit as the taxi cannot get to the entrance. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the hotel was undergoing some construction on the first floor so it was a bit dusty. The room was a good size and so was the bathroom although the bathroom was very worn. The one issue I had with the hotel is that my room was on the 2nd floor facing the courtyard and when I came home at night, the hallway lights were not working and it was very dark and uncomfortable. The hotel was well situated next to the plaza which housed all of the touristy restaurants and taxis (I found much better restaurants just a few streets away). Also, I
was able to walk to the Alhambra - although be prepared its completely uphill. I didn't mind but the walk wouldn't be for everyone. Overall, this is a no-frills hotel I'm a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juleszzznyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASACAPITEL, Manager at Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your kind review.

Your are right, all Albaicin area is from XIII Century and all quarter is an arabian constrution, streets are narrows for keep cool in Summer, this is part of Granada charming. Thank you for you understanding.

Fortunately we finished reparations that we had during your stay and now all courtyard is shiny.

You will see on your next stay.

Consider this your home.

Ángela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 738 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully restored building. Sets the mood for the visit to the Albaicin and Alhambra. We had a nice room with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was fine. Staff were friendly and helpful.breakfast was very good. Bit of a walk from Plaza Nueva dragging our suitcases. Overall would definitely this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASACAPITEL, Gerente at Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank for your kind review.

Consider this your home.

Ángela Caracuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is in a historical building, which set a lovely scene for our stay.
We had a great room out the back with no surrounding noise, except occasionally could hear our neighbours faintly talking.
The room was clean and decent size, but the shower is very small.
The breakfast was included in our price and was decent variety of food, they also have a free self service afternoon tea everyday.
The location was fabulous, in walking distance to all the local restaurants in the old town and provides a great view of the Alhambra at night.
The staff were very friendly and accommodation to our needs.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank ErinNic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a remodeled old building so that is an interesting experience. Rooms are not luxurious, but serviceable...mostly, you won't spend time inside the hotel, so it really doesn't matter! The location is wonderful. It is walking distance to everything, including difficult climb to the San miguel viewpoint of Alhambra and walk to Alhambra. Also only few minutes from Catedral and lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: Any room would do here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank vamsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights, and below is a summary of my experience:

- Great location, near Plaza Nueva, cabs, and buses to Alhambra. It's also quiet around the hotel because you're set back a little bit from the hotel.

- My single room was a good size and enough space for me, including a double bed, which isn't always found in single hotel rooms overseas.

- Wifi is available but not very reliable or a strong signal. I wasn't using it all of the time, but had trouble calling home or using it for research.

- There was a rather, strong, odor coming from the bathroom and a sanitation box attached to the toilet. I have no idea what this does, but the smell was really strong, and was detectable throughout the room, all the time.

- The noise level in the hotel was also, really loud. Really loud. Not only from surrounding rooms, but from just in the hotel in general. My room was near the breakfast room and noise started from staff at 6:30am at the latest (breakfast starts at 7:30am). This was the biggest problem because on vacation, I didn't want to be woken up that early and by staff who didn't try to be quiet, knowing rooms were right around that area.

- TV was in the room but didn't work. Again, not something I would be using regularly, but at night, was nice to have, or would have been.

- Staff was nice, but had trouble communicating in English. This lead to a few miscommunications.

Overall, this was a clean, cost-efficient place to stay and it had a great location. Those are all pluses, but the odor and consistent noise issue were big drawbacks. To be honest, I don't know if I would stay again or recommend it, but it depends what you are looking for. Those drawbacks are big ones for me but may not be for others.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Bayjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was traveling with a couple of friends, and coordinating trains/buses/hotels around Easter weekend four years ago was a challenge! Searching online, I found that Capitel Nazari had the last room available for three people for the time we had in Granada. But I was so pleasantly surprised at how lovely the building was, and so charmed by the neighborhood, that it might have been my first choice had I been familiar with it. As several reviewers note, there is no access by car; it is, after all, a 16th century building and the alley/steps are suitable for donkeys, but none of the taxi companies offer burro portage. Wheeled luggage is a must. It's convenient, fair-priced, and close to my favorite restaurant below Plaza Nueva. Internet and plumbing worked fine. My only wish for a change would have been to get just coffee in the mornings, without being obligated for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were 2 couples in our 60s travelling around Andalusia. This hotel is very well-placed and attractively furnished. A beautiful building which has retained many original features. But our room (28) on the first night was very small, and the bathroom was even smaller - the shower wasn't great either. We had a double bed and it was very uncomfortable, in that every time my husband moved I got woken up.. So I asked for another room for our second night (30). Which was fine. Breakfast was €10 Euros and we ate out the first day, but in the hotel the second. It was one of those weird/multi-cultural breakfasts.

Room Tip: Don't have Room 28. Small, uncomfortable bed and very small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GailR057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,280 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
994 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,220 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,006 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari

Address: Cuesta Aceituneros 6 | next to Plaza Nueva, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $65 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Casa Capitel is an ancient Renaissance palace built in 1503 and located in the picturesque area of the Albaicin, in front of the Alhambra in Granada and in the city center, close to the cathedral. It is a palace with lintels and Tuscan columns, Corinth capitals, Arabic chromium-plated beams; Renaissance decorated wooden ceiling and two Roman columns.Among all the artistic whole stands out an exquisite Nazari Capitel carved in alabaster, what makes it a piece unique in the world.Wooden beams original from the XVIth century are leaned on the artistic whole. These beams support the first and second floor of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing