We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!”
Review of NH Granada Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Granada Centro
Ranked #24 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Well first of all, I must say "see Granada and die"! What a beautiful city and Hesperia is worth staying at.
The hotel lies in the middle of the old city close to everything worth seeing in Granada. One of the first things we experienced after making the booking was an email with directions of how to find the hotel, and that’s needed in the tiny streets in the old city. On arriving by car its a good idea to stop outside the gates to the garage under the hotel and get yourself a parking place from the reception before checking in.
My first impression of the reception was "wow" It was typical Moorish in design including the water fountain, an open atrium with rooms all around the floors and a view up to the colourful glass roof. The staff are friendly and helpful check in goes quickly and smoothly.
We chose a Junior suite which we thought was good value for money on the booking site. Our room was excellent! Our only negative comments are firstly it was a bit difficult to find. Secondly if you are handicapped or have heavy luggage you will have a problem without help, the reason being Junior suites are at the top of a small winding staircase which was difficult enough to get up even with small overnight bags. Thirdly, noise, our room was the front of the hotel and subsequently gets a lot of noise from local restaurants and very late at night people moving rubbish bins (or something similar). However the room was wonderful. Typical old Spanish style, a sitting room with coffee table, sofa, TV, French windows and antique sideboard. Bedroom with king size bed (very hard) TV, 2 armchairs and 50" TV. French windows on two walls so plenty of light, sun and air. The bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom, complete with massage bath, his and hers wash basins, and bidet.
Breakfast room was light and airy and a good selection for breakfast. Terrible coffee machine which takes far too long for a cup of coffee (albeit fresh) but causes long queues. The noise levels are a bit high as well due to the marble floors and walls.
All in all, this is a hotel that can really be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hombreingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

What this hotel lacks in old world charm it makes up for in service. The people at reception will get you into the Alhambra on a guided tour even if the tickets are sold out ... that was immensely appreciated for me as we only had one day on which we could see the Alhambra.

Rooms are nice and tidy, the breakfast is good and the location is very central.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riiiicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Perfect location, lovely (though slightly small) and spotless room, very helpful people at the reception. It was a bit noisy because of the tiled floors. We read the other reviews and skipped the breakfast, but there are excellent and less expensive breakfasts within an easy walk on Calle Reyes Catolicos (believe it or not, go to Shwarma King for a great breakfast). The hotel was VERY difficult to find, however. Plaza Gamboa does not show up on a GPS. Be sure to contact the hotel and ask for their map of how to drive to the hotel (where there is parking for 20 euros / night).

Room Tip: I would think that the rooms on the courtyard are noisier, so ask for one that isn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisie930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

1.- Due to easter parades and traffic cuts each day parking was closed for hours so we could not use our car or would have to park somewhere else. Hotel staff didn't listen to our claims that this should have been notified on the web or when booking car space.
2.- We were given a smoking room (allowed by the european law?) something not notified in the booking process.
3.- Really warm room, but air condition didn't work (not because of a problem, just as a matter of fact in that season). The recommendation was that we open the window which by chance overlooked to the main hall, while the hotel staff would lower the temperature of the entire hall ;-) As a result, the room remained very hot but the noise soared very much.
3.- Very good location and decoration.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont book an interior room overlooking the hall: it will be noisy and warm and you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean but simple hotel in heart of city. Decor is traditional Andalucian. Room size is so-so. My biggest complaint is the noise control--the outside windows are single-pane and don't shield the guests from street noise. The walls are also thin, so it's easy to hear people walking in the tiled hallways. Not a place for light sleepers. Breakfast isn't bad, but wifi only works in the lobby and even there, reception isn't great. And they charge for use of the lobby desktop computer, which is a bit sketchy. Biggest plus for this hotel is the location, which is smack in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Velvetgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good location in the city center. Average rooms, nothing special. We were traveling with our 7-year-old daughter, so we needed a triple room. The problem was that all the triple rooms overlook the inside "court" so you if you look out of the window you see a wall about 1.5 meters away. If you suffer from claustrophobia this could be a problem.
The guy at the reception was extremely unfriendly. Every time we wanted to ask something he looked as if we were disturbing him. He barely spoke any languages (apart from Spanish). the other ladies at the reception were both nice. This guy is in the wrong place, he's ruining the reviews of the hotel.
The rooms are not well isolated and you can hear everything that goes on in the next room or in the hallway. Get your ear plugs if you have a light sleep.
Otherwise the hotel was ok, nothing special but right in the center,close to everything and reasonably priced. Has its own underground parking, which is not bad. A bit difficult to reach by car, so get information before you travel.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel. It's too expensive. There are plenty of places nearby where you can have a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Ask for a quiet room (if there is any in this hotel), with windows that open o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed two nights there.The hotel is located in the center. All important tourist sites are loacted in 5 min walk. I especially liked the hotel because it is very atmospheric. The rooms are nice and the beds are beautiful. The breakfast was very good. The hotel was reasonably priced too, Everything fuctioned properly in the room and the bathroom. We have also found exellent restaurant in 100 m from the hotel: "Puerta del Carmen".

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pointer_meta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 122 in Granada
2,355 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#11 of 122 in Granada
819 reviews
Vincci Albayzin
#25 of 122 in Granada
1,104 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Granada Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Granada Centro

Address: Plaza Gamboa, S/N, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Granada)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
#11 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#30 Family Hotel in Granada
#35 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $69 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Granada Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Granada Centro, formerly known as Hesperia Granada, hotel is an elegant old building with an unbeatable location, right in the historic heart of Granada. It’s a short walk to the city’s most popular tourist spots, and it’s also very close to the city hall and the business district. Plus, you can walk to the Alhambra Palace in around 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Granada Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Granada Hotel Granada
Hesperia Hotel Granada
Granada Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing