We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal AB

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal AB
Ranked #72 of 96 Granada B&B and Inns
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

AB pension in Granada is a good option for budget travellers. We stayed in a double room for 2 nights. We had booked it on internet at discount price. The hotel is away from the station; we chose to walk to the station (a good 20-25 minutes!) and thankfully had printed the route before our departure. The streets were deserted for quite some time till mid-morning and the small roads leading to near the hotel were not clean. However, the hotel itself was very clean. And that is what matters the most. Our room was clean. Bed was comfortable and we all had a nice nap after our long, tiring train journey. Although the room was tiny and the furniture was minimal, for the price, it is good. They provide blankets and sheets at no extra cost. The bathrooms and toilets had to be shared, but there were at least 2 of them on the first floor (where we stayed), so we had no trouble using them. It was a busy place, but we had little disturbance. The receptionists were very warm and welcoming and allowed us to use their facilities though we arrived hours before time. They also spoke very good English and gave us helpful info about the tickets and directions.

We roamed the city centre on the first day and also made it to the Alhambra. It is a brisk walk to the city centre/cathedral from this hotel. But, an interesting one. A word of caution: buses operate at a lower frequency on Sundays. We had to take a bus from the main road behind this hotel to the bus station which is far off. It being a Sunday, there were fewer buses and so, we ended up missing our intended connection to the mountains. As I already said, the place around the hotel is deserted most of the time and it is difficult to get all this info, unless you ask the receptionist.

Downsides: there are plenty of fast-foods and hotels and small supermarkets nearby, but none of them was open when we were there; may be it was because they close early in the weekend or what else, I don't know. We had to walk a long way to El Corte Ingles in a mall on the first evening. On the second evening, we managed to find an Italian eatery closer (about 1 km away)!

I would recommend this hotel for its price and its clean rooms and facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms are not very spacious; the bed and furniture eats up most of the space. Still good value for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
5
28
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed with two friends. The room had 3 beds, so it was perfect for us. I would not recommend this, however, for a single traveler as there were no lockers and no common area. But it was perfect for us because we were all together in our own room with our own sink. The bathroom was right across the hall. It was all very clean and the staff was friendly. The location was pretty good as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASA291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hostal AB, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
dear customer,
thank you very much for your review.
We are really glad to know that you had a good time in our hostel and we hope you enjoyed our beautiful city as well.
thank you for you words.
we hope to see you again soon
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Good sized clean rooms and bathrooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very convenient location, quiet rooms with balconies :) Good prices. Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hostal AB, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear customer
than you for your words.
we are really happy to leran that you liked our hostel and appreciated our efforts in order to hellp our guests.
we look forward to welcoming you in the future
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very convenient, very clean, friendly staff. I was in a double room with private bath, and the accommodation was comfortable. The bathroom had a large shower, the bed was comfortable, so recommend it.

Room Tip: double room with private bath was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CataniaViaggiatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Knowing that the city would be crowded during Semana Santa we opted to stay in this hostal that is a 10-15 walk from the heart of Granada. Ideally situated for exploring the city on foot and the staff couldn't be kinder, plenty of helpful information was given about what was happening around the city and how to access the different events. They were even kind enough to store our luggage for us after we had checked out as our flight wasn't till the evening. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for friends or family travelling together. There is no lift though, but this didn't trouble us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weefee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Hostal AB, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear customer,
we are really delighted to learn that you had a good time in our hostel. our staff does its best every day in order to help our guests and to give them all the information they need. we hope you enjoyed Semana Santa and all the events that were organized during that week.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I extended my stay here for almost a month earlier on in the year. The staff are just lovely and it is very safe and secure. There is a lovely older gentleman who is always sitting at reception who is so sweet and defeinitely a native andalucian from his accent. Internet great! The best service and most kind, was a scandanavian receptionist with a wealth of information and blonde hair (I can't remember her name, sorry!) who will go out of her way to help you and is a native English speaker. It is not far to walk to the main sights, however it is in the newer part of Granada not the old city. I stayed in a single room in the hostel, which was OK, but then when I extended my stay they were nice enough to move me into an apartment with secure rooms just around the corner. Streets are noisy in Granada, Granada is loud, not the hostels fault. I think this is more than a 1 star place to stay.

Room Tip: Lots of cheap places to eat nearby, breakfast at Dunkin Donuts for 1.50 euros, coffee and baguettes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beyondtheglobe1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Little pension in Granada, with some little stairs that didn't scare any of the six of us who were there at the time. It's basic but with friendly staff and not really central but granada is small so everything is close to everything to be honest.

I'd reccommend this hostal if you are spending 1 to 3 nights in the city and looking for a place to sleep and have a shower when finishing you sightseeing !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRA_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Al-Andalus Hostel
Al-Andalus Hostel
#64 of 137 in Granada
117 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hostal Antares
Hostal Antares
#33 of 96 in Granada
90 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Polaroid Siesta Hostel
Polaroid Siesta Hostel
#36 of 137 in Granada
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#18 of 96 in Granada
51 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Martinez
Pension Martinez
#51 of 96 in Granada
55 reviews
Hotel Marinetto
#57 of 96 in Granada
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal AB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal AB

Property: Hostal AB
Address: Calle Infanta Beatriz 3, 18004 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal AB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal AB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing