We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the junior suites” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beware the junior suites”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We booked by internet, swayed by prices. We paid 200 euros a night for a junior suite for two nights. When we arrived, our suite was almost windowless - large, yes, but windowless! We complained, and were shown another as claustrophobic. We settled for an ordinary double at 80 euros - a nice room. We were told that because the hotel was full on the second night, we could keep our 80 euro room but must pay 200 for it! Never ever book a suite. Book a basic room, and ask what might be available when you get to the hotel and can see the rooms. Stupid, greedy management spoiled an otherwise good hotel.

Room Tip: Never book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    377
    104
    25
    21
See reviews for
251
1,020
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked a cheap room in this beautiful, ideally located hotel online and upon arrival was immediately upgraded just because they had better rooms available. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful; in fact, they were the most service orientated staff I have ever come across in Spain (and I lived there for 4 years). The room was enormous and gorgeous; we had our own private tiny courtyard even! The free afternoon teas each and every day were a great bonus. I cannot fault this hotel or its location. If arriving by car, however, be prepared for the fact that you will need to pay for car parking some distance from the hotel as large parts of Granada - those surrounding the Alhambra - are closed to traffic. This would be the case for any similarly located hotel though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We recently stayed in the junior suite for 4 nights. As some previous reviewers have mentioned, there is a drain smell sometimes, however the overall experience is excellent. We went on to the sister hotel in Seville (Junior suite again) for 4 nights, lovely room however the Granada staff are so much more friendly and accommodating (we are vegetarian and requested cheese sandwiches for afternoon tea and fried eggs at breakfast, Granada - no problem, Seville no can do attitude). Many thanks to Hose' and all the lovely staff at the Granada Casa 1800

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel in the historic center of Granada with an excellent view of the Alhambra. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in very close proximity to the restaurants in Plaza Nueva and a short walk to the Cathedral and the stores. I definitely recommend anyone stay at this awesome place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I had planned a trip to visit the Alhambra. I was looking for a charming hotel close to the Alhambra. From the pictures the hotel appeared very elegant and indeed it was. I had requested a room with a view of the Alhambra which I should have realized would be on the top floor. However, there is an elevator which goes to the second floor (European second) which only left one flight of stairs to climb and it was worth it, for the view. The staff helped carry our luggage to the room which made the climb very easy for us. The staff is professional, personable and extremely knowledgeable about the city and the Alhambra. They helped us find restaurants, chose a mode of transport to the Alhambra, use the public transportation system, find the tour bus and book a stay in their sister operation in Seville, the Hotel Casa 1800- Seville.
The location of the hotel is excellent for visiting the city as it is in the Albayzin (Moorish District), close to the Alcaiceria (The old Arab market), the Cathedral and the Alhambra.
The only negative is that there is not a good work area for a computer. The desk surface is too small, there is no light for the desk and if you are using the desk, it blocks the view of the television for your companion. I resolved the problem by using the bedside table and sitting on the edge of the bed while I worked.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, select a room other than the room with the view of the Alhambra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara_and_Yves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladybank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great customer service, from the email with photos explaining how to get to the car park to the warm welcome and great cream tea service. Hotel is very well located and is a lovely building. Close to tourist attractions and great tapas bars

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjcfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEIRUT
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in this hotel. The place is always busy (and this was the low season!). It is an old house turned into a hotel and beautifully decorated. We had a room with an Alhambra view, but frankly don't bother as all you see is part of the tower. The hotel is located at the edge of the Albayzin area just off the Plaza Nueva which is full of cafes, restaurants, and people. This makes the location an ideal starting point for all activities in Granada.
The room and toilet are of a decent size and are beautifully decorated. We felt the rooms were too hot and had to sleep with a window open (in February!). Service is very good whether at check in, check out or making up the rooms. The complimentary afternoon coffee and snacks in the very nice hotel lobby/courtyard is a bonus that allows you to relax in the hotel and prepare for your next activity.
Overall, a very nice experience and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit this beautiful city

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank akmar112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Property: Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Address: Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada is a charming hotel located in a fully restored XVII century historical building, the building is known as Casa de los Migueletes and served as the headquarters of the militia at the time. The hotel is decorated with chandeliers, frescos, cupolas and luxurious furnishings, always in keeping with the noble wood of the building whilst highlighting the Classicist and Mudejar elements of the original house. The rooms are elegant and cozy, some enjoy views of the Alhambra, inner courtyards, coffered ceilings and offer all kinds of amenities. The House is organised around a central courtyard where each morning breakfast is served and in the afternoon tea is offered to the hotel guests, who are treated to a family atmosphere and making the stay special and unforgettable. The charming hotel has a privileged location in the centre of Granada between the magical Albaicin and at the foot of the Alhambra. Nearby there are museums, theatres, monuments, shops, restaurants and tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Migueletes Granada
Room Mate Migueletes Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing