We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fashionable boutique hotel in the heart of Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed for one night as part of our honeymoon, after staying three nights at their sister hotel in Seville. Like it's sister hotel this hotel has a spectacular courtyard and a charming old world feel, yet does not lack for modern amenities. Room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. It was small, though normal for Europe. Staff were nice and incredibly helpful and even offered us a complementary bottle of champagne and fruit platter. Would recommend for all travelers, particularly honeymooners.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RomieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived today to this hotel with high expectations -- our friends found it and we went along with their recommendation. I'd stayed before at the Alhambra Palace, which has an enviable location next to the Alhambra with a gorgeous view, The Casa 1800 is quite odd. We were shown to our tiny room with a slanted ceiling, which immediately made me a bit claustrophobic. It was very warm and stuffy and We asked if Another room was available, but they said they were fully booked. Our friends' son was put in an absolutely ridiculous room that had windows on the interior of the closed in inner court yard where breakfast is served. Talk about claustrophobic -- NO outside windows at all, and it seems many of the rooms do not have outside windows at all -- ouch! So we felt lucky our tiny (3 x 4 foot) window at least looked out in roof tops. We will see how the rest of our stay goes but I would not at this time recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Travelhabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just loved this hotel when we eventually found it, not easy as the taxi drivers can only go to the end of the Plaza and then point where to go, if your lucky enough to get a taxi driver that speaks english he might point you in the right direction!! our didn't speak english!! anyway eventually we found this lovely hotel down and around an alleyway a hidden gem, we were celebrating my husband's birthday and were given the room at the top of the hotel which I can only explain as small but perfect. The view was fantastic of the Alhambra from our three windows. Breakfast was adequate and the lovely touch of afternoon refreshments was welcoming. Staff were very helpful and all the main sites were within walking distance. Thank you Casa 1800 for making my husband's birthday perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollipoplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed at the Casa 1800 for three nights and had a wonderful time. It was a short walk with our luggage up cobblestone streets after being dropped off at the main square, but this added to the charm. The front desk staff on check in and check out were very friendly. We had afternoon tea in the courtyard, and breakfast was included. Water bottles were complimentary. Well located, interesting building, and I would definitely recommend the hotel, and stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel has many plusses. It is in a very central location, right next to the Plaza Neuva. The amenities provided in the rooms, towels, sheets, even house slippers, are very nice. The buffet breakfasts were fairly good (although not at all up to the level of a parador).

The hotel also has some cons. It is in a "back alley" of sorts (although in a "good" neighborhood). There are no views that I could make out. By map it seems close to the Alhambra, but by topography it is at the bottom of the mountain from the Alhambra entrance. One has quite a hike up to it or one has to take a cab (many of which are available at the nearby plaza). The main atrium of the hotel is unheated, so in the morning one has to walk through it to the downstairs breakfast room (not a big deal, but still). Most importantly, the room we had, which was for the disabled, suited us fine, because my wife is fully ambulatory and there were grab bars in the shower, but had she been wheelchair bound you can forget it. Not only wasn't the entrance to the room large enough for a wheelchair, but even for us fully mobile humans our room was VERY small. As for the parking difficulty, it is a challenge for sure when one is entering the city and looking for the public parking garage where this hotel has a "deal" of 14 Euros per day. Once leaving, however, and familiar with the terrain (we were in Granada for 3 days), it was much less troublesome to find the garage.

As for the expense of the place, I found it to be on the high-moderate side. Worth it? In some ways yes because of its very central location, its stylishness and amenities, and in some ways no because of the tightness of one's quarters. Would I stay there again? Perhaps, if I didn't find something better now that I know the city.

Room Tip: Hard to say if one should pay even more for a deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel is very well located in the Albaycin area (you do have to carry the luggage to the hotel as cars cannot get there....but it's worth it!). The building is a typical moorish building and very well appointed. Breakfast and afternoon tea are nice treats. Service was very good as was the room we had (#15-junior suite). It's walking distance to many restaurants and shops, and to the Cathedral. Short taxi ride to the Alhambra.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed for four nights at the Hotel Casa 1800 in April and had a really lovely experience. This started with the greeting with received from Joaquin on reception when we arrived after a long journey at 11.30pm and he immediately made us feel welcome and recommended a restaurant for a glass of wine and tapas, which proved to be perfect. The hotel is ideally situated for sight seeing - we walked everywhere. Although the breakfast has been described as disappointing in other reviews, there is freshly squeezed orange juice and good coffee and pastries, which is certainly all we needed, and moreover you can relax in the conservatory/courtyard area with a cup of tea in the afternoon - without being charged! Our bedroom (a Junior Suite) was roomy and exactly right for a short stay. All in all, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
809 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,296 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Address: Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $72 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada is a charming hotel located in a fully restored XVII century historical building, the building is known as Casa de los Migueletes and served as the headquarters of the militia at the time. The hotel is decorated with chandeliers, frescos, cupolas and luxurious furnishings, always in keeping with the noble wood of the building whilst highlighting the Classicist and Mudejar elements of the original house. The rooms are elegant and cozy, some enjoy views of the Alhambra, inner courtyards, coffered ceilings and offer all kinds of amenities. The House is organised around a central courtyard where each morning breakfast is served and in the afternoon tea is offered to the hotel guests, who are treated to a family atmosphere and making the stay special and unforgettable. The charming hotel has a privileged location in the centre of Granada between the magical Albaicin and at the foot of the Alhambra. Nearby there are museums, theatres, monuments, shops, restaurants and tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Migueletes Granada
Room Mate Migueletes Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing