We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but 'standard' room can be VERY small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Ranked #4 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel has a wonderful feel, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the property is clean and well cared for. It's also very well located for walking around. But be aware that a "standard" room can be very small, even by European standards; ours (No. 16) had not too much more space than for the double bed and our two suitcases, and a tight little bathroom. The room's only window overlooked an interior atrium, which made it somewhat dark as well. There are, of course, rooms with more space and light and views, so some extra effort to know what you're reserving is in order here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brainsprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a week in Seville. It is very convenient for a short stay if you're going to visit the Alhambra - one of the closest to the access road.

The staff were very welcoming, the place was spotless and the decor had a stylish and unfussy elegance to it.

The most remarkable thing happened however on checkout. I casually asked for a recommendation between returning to Seville by train or bus. The lady at the front desk rang the station for us to confirm times. And when there was a problem with booking tickets online, she told us to go enjoy the last few hours in Granada and to leave everything to her. Indeed, we returned to find two tickets which (booked on her personal credit card).

Truly exceptional service with a smile. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Beautiful Hotel, well renovated and good facilities. Very helpful and friendly reception staff. The manager personally spent 15 minutes speaking with me about her hotel, she was deservedly very proud of it. The hotel is well located from here it's a short walk to all the main attractions including The Alhambra.

Not many negatives about this hotel but there were a couple of things to note; there was some building noise next door, although didn't disturb us too much. Being an old building the walls and ceiling are pretty thin, so you can sometimes here other guests knocking around but wasn't a major problem. Oh, and no parking next to the hotel, park central and either walk or get a taxi to the hotel!

A wonderful base to see Grenada. Quality hotel, one of the best I've stayed in.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were great.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed four nights at CASA 1800 Granada in late May, 2011 having discovered it online and booked without knowing how it would turn out. It was an excellent decision. We walked into the hotel through the automatic glass door and felt the cool air, the quiet ambiance, the comforting jazz music, and clerks who spoken better English than we had anticipated. I had chills in the middle of the night and the hotel staff told me what to buy (Frenadol). I got it at a pharmacy right outside of the hotel and recovered in one day.

The hotel served mixed fruits, cookies, chilled bottled water and soda drinks in the late afternoons for free. Among the fruits served were medlars, a tropical fruit that tastes like apricot except the meat is more firm. I grew up eating medlars in Hong Kong. I probably ate up 10% of all the medlars they served. No one seemed to be "competing" with me for reasons I still can't comprehend.

The hotel has English-language newspapers. They even have the English-language China Daily, a Mainland China newspaper! We checked our e-mails using their one computer in the lobby for free.

The moorish architectural style in the hotel adds to the charm of the place. Frances, the lady at the hotel who told me that she picked the jazz music, walked us to a local wine store and recommended Restaurante Oliver Granada, where we had one of our better dinners on the trip.

I sat and read Tolstoy on the upper floor outside of our room. In between reading, I stared leisurely at the top of the city and the roofs of houses. I was indeed in Andalusia. It was not a dream! From the window of our room, I took a picture of a corner of The Alhambra.

I've traveled all over the world and I don't know of any hotel that can compare to Casa 1800 for its charm, peace, and price. We should have booked ourselves into the Casa 1800 in Seville, their other hotel outside of Granada. We really should have done that, even though we must move our room twice because there was no room for four nights in a row. That was the only reason why we did not book the room. That was a mistake.

There are only two non-essential things to keep in mind. First, the safe inside the room is quirky and moody. But the hotel will send people up to fix it, no matter how often you call for help. Secondly, the twin beds are a little small and Spanish pillows are too long, too soft, and too cuddly. But you may like them this way.

Thumbs up to its owner, designer, and staff. I had many moments of peace and happiness at this hotel (despite the one night of chills). Casa 1800 Granada is a gem of Andalusia.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameschan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

After traveling by train from Seville to Granada, we hailed a taxi and provided the address to Hotel Casa 1800 -- our accomodation for the next two nights. Our taxi driver was unsure of the location, despite the written directions I provided to him from an online source.

He drove us, after frequent direction, to Plaza Nueva, and after leaving us in a taxi for 5 minutes - while he spoke with other taxi drivers, he pointed in an obscure direction, indicating that he could not drive us to our hotel -- but we would have to walk ... "that way." He prompty removed our bags from his car and drove away ... leaving us confused and misguided on our way. Travel = adventure, right?!?

So, after aimlessly walking around -- up several streets in the wrong direction, asking locals, trying to enquire at the visitor's office (which was closed due to it being siesta time) ... it seemed as though no one knew of the hotel and/or street which it was located. However, after a 30 minute adventure ... and another vague instruction pointing us to go "that way" -- I finally saw the small sign on the corner of the building pointing us up to Hotel Casa 1800.

Once we arrived, the hotel was lovely, the staff was helpful and our room on the top floor had a gorgeous view of the Alhambra. Our room was nicely furnished, despite it's small-to-medium size ... but had a very comfortable bed, an in room safe, plush robes and did I mention the view of the Alhambra -- it was lovely. Our room rate also included
free minibar, as well as fresh fruit, pastries, cookies and tea/coffee in the lounge area, which was refreshing.

Overall, our experience at the Hotel Casa 1800 was very nice ... just tainted by the lack of precise directions/guidance to get us there + the fact that the taxi driver misguided us and we went on a "wild goose chase" to finally find the hotel tucked away on a side street, guided only by a vey small sign 15 feet up in the air on the corner of the building.

But, where would we be without our travel stories ... they make traveling much more exciting and filled with fun and adventure!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEMD_1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with some friends that we were traveling with for 3 nights. We had the privilege of staying in the Grand Deluxe Suite. The room was fantastic. The bed was super comfortable (good sheets and pillows!) and the room was furnished beautifully. We also appreciated the very nice bathrobes and thick bath towels.

Our room was large and very clean. Our friends stayed in two other rooms at the hotel and they were also happy with the cleanliness, but the regular rooms are quite small.

The check in/check out process was a bit slow, but overall, the customer service was pretty good.

Be warned, this hotel is a little difficult to find and you have to drag all of your luggage up cobblestone streets .. there is no access by car. This is nice as it is quiet at night (no street noise), but it is difficult if you are traveling with multiple pieces of luggage like we were. However, the location is great.. very centrally located, with views of the Alhambra from upper floors and easy to walk to many great restaurants, bars, etc.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a balcony!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorriKern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Loved, loved, loved this place! Not the easiest to find as it is in a tiny street behind Plaza Nueva, but so worth it once you do. Upon booking, the hotel emails you detailed directions which helped a lot. This feels like a luxury hotel. The decor is serene and in style with the environment. We only stayed one night as we took the train to Granada from Seville to visit the Alhambra the next morning. Check-in was easy and we were shown to our standard, double room off the lovely patio/lobby. The room was small with a double bed, a view on the patio and a decent-sized bathroom. Everything was immaculately clean and very quiet. Around 11 pm we decided we wanted a wake-up call but found that our in-room phone did not work. The clerk at the front desk could not fix it right then but offered to give us a wake-up knock at the door which they did right on time.

The breakfast is an extra 11 euros, but worth it as it is copious including eggs, ham, cheese, fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice. We checked out in the morning before our tour and the hotel obligingly stored our bags until we could pick them up after the tour.

We wished we could have stayed a few more nights. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Granada.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,256 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#5 of 122 in Granada
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
784 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
829 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Address: Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $124 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada is a charming hotel located in a fully restored XVII century historical building, the building is known as Casa de los Migueletes and served as the headquarters of the militia at the time. The hotel is decorated with chandeliers, frescos, cupolas and luxurious furnishings, always in keeping with the noble wood of the building whilst highlighting the Classicist and Mudejar elements of the original house. The rooms are elegant and cozy, some enjoy views of the Alhambra, inner courtyards, coffered ceilings and offer all kinds of amenities. The House is organised around a central courtyard where each morning breakfast is served and in the afternoon tea is offered to the hotel guests, who are treated to a family atmosphere and making the stay special and unforgettable. The charming hotel has a privileged location in the centre of Granada between the magical Albaicin and at the foot of the Alhambra. Nearby there are museums, theatres, monuments, shops, restaurants and tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Migueletes Granada
Room Mate Migueletes Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing